Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

39 AWS reviews

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Religious Institutions

Helped save my job!

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Because of using the openVpn, I am able to remotely access our company server from anywhere in the world. Since I have a primarily administrative job, but also do a bit of traveling, this has allowed me to stay connected. I also recently had to move out of state for family, but was able to keep my job since I had the access to files..
What do you dislike?
I sometimes miss updates and have to connect with a tech team to help fix that.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This has allowed multiple staff to work from home (during acclimate weather) or on the road when needed. So nothing gets missed or delayed due to other circumstances. In my line of work, that's pretty important for our clients.


    Orlando B.

OpenVPN keeps me protected when I surf the internet

  • October 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN for me, is one of the most secure VPN protocols I have used. It keeps me in a private internet connection and without fear of hackers. It is excellent because the platform has a list of what users can do to secure the connection after having configured OpenVPN on the devices. I can run OpenVPN on all my devices either on my laptop or my cell phone and those of my family either Android or iOS.
What do you dislike?
Some disadvantages that OpenVPN has is that the configuration must be done manually and for many it can be quite difficult. Also, as encryption is very secure, sometimes I experience drops in connection speeds and that is certainly unpleasant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have obtained many benefits, whenever I use OpenVPN I feel safe, I use it for anything I do online since it works great and is transparent (because it is open source). No hacker or any other person can detect or monitor our IP when we use the internet, OpenVPN always keeps our data and operations online very securely.

I use OpenVPN when I play online, when I'm going to download torrents and also to watch movies and series on Netflix from the United States without any inconvenience and from any of my electronic devices. No doubt that gives me peace of mind and I always sail without fear.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend OpenVPN because it is economical, security encryption is really excellent and you can use the software on all your electronic devices. When you learn to use you get abundant benefits.


    Lisandro V.

OpenVPN Reliable Solid and Safe.

  • September 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is a completely reliable software, I can make VPN connections in a simple and easy way. In addition, it is very profitable, it is very economical compared to other vpn solutions. I have used OpenVPN in our company and the result is always positive, the quality of security is very high and provides stability in all its connections. I can use OpenVPN even on my mobile device, that way I have access to the corporate network from any of my electronic devices.
What do you dislike?
I don't like its interface very much, since it is very simple. I wish it was a little more intuitive. The update process is very poor, it is difficult to determine the name of the version to use with wget when updates are available. Everything else is excellent and works very well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN offers us access to most electronic devices, from laptops to phones, that's why we have access to our network no matter what electronic device we are using. We use OpenVPN to block unauthorized access to the company's database. Also, we can now access blocked websites in our country. In addition, it keeps our data and operations online completely safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The cost of OpenVPN is quite cheap, I recommend it to any company that has security problems. It also has a free license that allows you to connect to 2 devices at the same time.


    Rich

Works now

  • August 21, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works now with version 2.7.4. Easy setup from instructions. Price could be better not sure if I will keep after free tier is over.

1 person found this helpful

    Emily Valentina S.

A tool that can be setted up easily.

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to set up when you get used to it. The option to save credentials is great, because I don't have to write them every time that I want to connect the VPN.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it gets disconnected by itself and it's a bit annoying, because it seems that the server is down and it takes some time to connect it again when you restart it. Also, when you are logged with the same user in 2 devices at same time, the connection speed is slower in one of the two devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's possible to set one IP provided by the company, so the clients can filter that IP from the rest of traffic on their pages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When you're configuring the VPN, you should save logs in a different folder that it's not in the program archive and then change the route from OpenVPN options.


    Sarah H.

OpenVPN - Robust VPN protocol with many possibilities

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN is primarily a free solution for creating an open source virtual private network. This allows you to create encrypted "point-to-point" or "server-client"; channels between devices. With it, you can establish a connection for non-NATO devices or a firewall that does not require changing settings. Securing data streams is guaranteed by the OpenSSL library, which enables all available encryption algorithms. Another significant advantage of OpenVPN is that it is compatible with most of the operating systems and devices used.
What do you dislike?
Creating your own server can be problematic for users who have no experience with server management.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenVPN allows me to connect to my private server, so I can securely access the network anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using OpenVPN to all users looking for a secure VPN protocol.


    Andrey Z.

An interesting solution with a large user base

  • June 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that the system is open. There are also clients for different operating systems. This is a professional solution and you can choose the server where it will be convenient for you (from Microsoft, Amazon or, for example, Google). Support works well. They told me how to more deeply customize connections to different servers, which allowed me to get the best VPN among competitors.
What do you dislike?
Initial difficult setup. I had to communicate with support several times and then read many articles on the subject forums to get the best result.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our connection is always secure. We are also anonymous on the Internet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Spend time on the forums or contact support for more flexible configuration.


    Retail

A simple and secure VPN product

  • May 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN has been simple to deploy and use in our environment. We use it as a second option for remote connection in case our other system is unavailable for any reason.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike, perhaps reporting could be a bit more robust, but for our small deployment, it isn't an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* Secondary connection in case other technologies fail
* Cross-Platform support of remote connectivity - Apple does not work with Microsoft Direct Access
* Allowing Macintosh users to work remotely
* Allowing remote IT Management


    Ray N.

OpenSource solution - minimal costs

  • April 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source - low minimal cost to deploying system. Support standard industry security features and works with wide range of clients.
What do you dislike?
User management and generating user certificates requires more time. A little more complex for my non- Linux - Helpdesk Admins to manage system and troubleshoot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this to secure user VPN connections to HQ and other locations enabling users to work remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for company's with Linux admins or company's with limited budget.


    John Kristian A.

All in all a really good VPN service.

  • March 09, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple management. VYOS implementation is GREAT. Running it as VM works perfectly.
Been using it for both private pvn, enterprise vpn and connecting to vpn trough other countries for several years and I love how easy it is. Mobile support is also really great.
There are also a huge benefit that it's open source and community good support is also nice to have.
What do you dislike?
Windows client is sketchy. Doesn't reconnect as it should. Drops out from time to time. It those things can be fixed, the product would be absolutely perfect. But it's not a big issue.
Reconnecting after sleep mode would be nice. Reconnecting after drop out would be REALLY nice.
There are still some effort that can be made on the different clients.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Per now using it instead of MS Direct access. Easy for outside clients to connect if you want that, since you have a downloadable client.
It allows me to fix problems for my users and controll my infrastructure when I'm out traveling, and that is the thing I appreciate most.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are not much else I would reccomend. I've tried several others, like checkpoint mobile and Cisco and it's not better than openvpn. OpenVPN is faster, easier and has more features.