Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

44 AWS reviews

External reviews

13 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marcus A.

Great standardized software

  • January 12, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Does the job with no issues. Easy setup, easy to use, easy to manage. Any monkey could utilize this software once setup.
What do you dislike?
Not much to say to be honest, documentation is good and software works fine.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using proprietary softwares for VPN is always annoying as everyone tries to innovate in the scene, but realistically keeping things simple is the way to go.

4 people found this helpful

    Jose G.

very easy to use

  • December 02, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Using it is extremely easy. Adding users, and make modifications
What do you dislike?
I wouldn't change anything in particular. For me works very well at the moment
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
the connection to our private server so we can keep part of the infrastructure of our company secure

4 people found this helpful

    Tom v.

Amazing upgrade after using Access servers

  • November 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I don't ever have to patch or upgrade any hardware!
What do you dislike?
The access server gives me more router and DNS capabilities, which makes sense because I own the server it is running on.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I don't have to stress out about keeping my hardware up to date, which is fantastic.

5 people found this helpful

    E-Learning

Client works well.

  • November 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Client can forward to browser for SSO login, very convenient.
What do you dislike?
When offline, client will try to connect and open login every few minutes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Putting services in a private VPN.


    Marketing and Advertising

Such a great Open Source VPN

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
To start, OpenVPN is an Open-Sourced VPN Solution. It's stable, secure, and reliable. I've used an AWS EC2 OpenVPN Image and it works wonders out of the box. Unless you're a medium-large enterprise, if you need a secure connection to connect to your AWS environment, OpenVPN is a great and cost-effective option.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike given that it has a free-to-use license, but more premium VPN solutions will offer more options (e.g. security tunnels) and better customer support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Connecting securely to the AWS environment, especially when using public networks.

4 people found this helpful

    Lorenzo D.

It simply works

  • November 21, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really love the easyest of install in all colegues clients, you should only send a url and it works

I Aldo love the SSO integration with AZURE
What do you dislike?
It does not provide a static IP, you must use a machine in your cloud to obtain one
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Now we can access azure DB safely

5 people found this helpful

    Tapas D.

Open VPN is a good product.

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's restricting the websites from public access.
What do you dislike?
The domain filter options are not available there
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Out development sites were public after the VPN implementation we are able to restrict the sites from public access.

7 people found this helpful

    Hospital & Health Care

Customizible, cost-friendly VPN

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* can pick and choose exactly what our org needs
* security of deploying connectors within our cloud environment
* oauth makes onboarding/removing users simple
What do you dislike?
* can be tricky to deploy and troubleshoot issues when self-hosted
* some features that we would like to use are not well documented - i.e split tunnelling
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
* Compliance with work-from-home is the single most important benefit of using OpenVPN
* we see far fewer connectivity issues compared to previous VPN providers


    Marcos M.

Secure, fast and reliable service.

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The service is fast, easy to configure, and secure. The ability of connecting several distinct networks in one big VPN is great.
What do you dislike?
Not having a graphical client for Linux.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OpenVPN Cloud allows my employees to connect to all our branch office's networks with one VPN service, instead of having to connect/disconnect from several VPN networks throughout the day.


    Computer Software

Easy setup with a load of great features.

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN Cloud is super easy to set up and walks you through every step of the process. They have great security features and are very configurable.
What do you dislike?
No big downsides, but if you aren't the most tech-savvy person, it may be difficult to understand some of the steps.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a reliable, corporate VPN solution and OpenVPN was both a great price and includes all of the latest security features.