Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenVPN Access Server

OpenVPN Inc. | 2.8.5

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

42 AWS reviews

External reviews

137 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    PRABAKARAN A 1.

Excellent open source vpn server

  • September 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have set up my VPN by running an open VPN server in docker containers on my Azure virtual machine.

I have achieved the following things,
1. Reduced latency and increased browsing speed
2. User - I have added 5+ users, connected through mobiles
3. Adblocker, I have configured pi-hole in my open vpn server. Able to get rid of adverts
4. Security, my azure virtual machine is well secured. My VPN is secure
5. Reliability, very reliable. VPN never disconnects automatically.
6. Bandwidth, based on an Azure virtual machine, not our wifi. getting 50 to 80 MBs through open VPN
What do you dislike?
Content caching is not in place. Otherwise, it would be more speed browsing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have set up my vpn and connected through mobile devices, able to be safe and secure in public wifi.

I have configured pi-hole adblockers, surfing freely without too many advertisements

1 person found this helpful

    KanuPriya K.

OpenVPN for VPN access

  • August 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about OpenVPN is I can easily import VPN files given by the client and connect to VPN, and it saves the profile; hence next time connection to VPN is just one click. I like the UI of the Open VPN.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like about the Open VPN is it timeout automatically in a couple of minutes, and that leads to inactivity of my established connection in the Putty.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using the OpenVPN for VPN establishment to the private network, and I feel it is easy to use OpenVPN compare to other VPN clients.

1 person found this helpful

    Hospital & Health Care

OpenVPN; A Startup's Experience

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN was a free solution (with the right company configuration) that worked for our small, rapidly growing company of ~50 employees. Mostly hosted on AWS, we were able to dedicate an EC2 Server to managing the VPN needs of the company, primarily to provide access to other AWS resources in a secure manner. This solution scaled very well as we grew.
What do you dislike?
We did run into some latency issues, for example, when we had entire company calls and everyone had their video and audio on. Sometimes the speaker on a video call would break up and then reconnect. This proved to be a minor but noticeable drawback.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have developed a strong, standardized way of accessing protected resources. The VPN allows us to keep our private servers securely tucked away from public access, allowing us to keep our customers and our own sanity satisfied. IT has been part of our journey to High Trust accreditation.

1 person found this helpful

    Computer Software

Non-invasive VPN Software

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that OpenVPN is quite easy to setup. I use OpenVPN at my company in order to access internal files and portals that are only open to those on the VPN. "Logging in" to the VPN is as simple as typing in a username and password that I create, then gaining access. One thing I also appreciate is that every once and so often, OpenVPN will remind me to change my password. In addition, some VPNs significantly slow down internet browsing speed, which I have not noticed at all with this software.
What do you dislike?
While I understand this is the nature of the beast, I don't like that I have to login with my username and password EVERY time I login to my computer. I would hope that there are certain ways to detect that it is in fact me accessing the software. I've also had the VPN abruptly disconnect at times, requiring me to re-login in order to access needed files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Information security, really. I'm not on the IT team but I've never had issues with security, hacks, phising, et-cetera.

2 people found this helpful

    Naveen

What about the security

  • July 30, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

what about the security who takes care of it
Imagine is instance is compromised
The OS on which VPN is running is the image CIS bench marked


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Open VPN review

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful was the way it remembers credentials
What do you dislike?
At times the internet connection in the laptop stops working
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of OPEN VPN we are connecting to database and access data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One should consider OPENVPN if the want to access data in private network.

1 person found this helpful

    Diego G.

This Package provides Secure and Accuracy VPN solution and easy system to start.

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Through many different servers offered by the OpenVPN team, you can access secure internet browsing at any time from anywhere.
Shifting from one server to another using OpenVPN is very easy and effective, as well as the Authentication capability.
What do you dislike?
OpenVPN has a very straightforward installation procedure and easy to start using after the implementation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Accessing the required internet anytime from various locations.

Document and data management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Wonderful solution for secure internet browsing activities, enabling access to the internet from any required location.


    L

Absolutely perfect

  • April 06, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to configure and deploy. Somehow I manage to keep discovering new features despite having used this maybe 5 years now. Documentation and support used to be hit and miss but over the last year or so it's improved massively - wiki/kb expanded and even super quick response for tickets on an account that was free license.


    Tony E.

The Most SECURE and RELIABLE Internet Experience with Open VPN

  • February 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Security, stability, and ease of use is how I describe OpenVPN, and for these modern and changing times, this is the number one priority for everyone in this world. OpenVPN will provide you with that and more. I've never felt so safe before; Working at home or even in a public space is a priority for many people around the world due to this exhausting pandemic. You will be safe at all times with your OpenVPN turned on. I recently moved from a different VPN software at my company. The way this software works is amazing and I can really see why we chose OpenVPN to make sure our computers and business are safe at all times. It just takes care of that, and more.
What do you dislike?
I would say there are no negatives that I can mention. It provides what is described: a virtual private network system that implements techniques to create secure point-to-point or site-to-site connections in routed or bridged configurations and remote access facilities. So simple, yet complete.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I handle calls, texts and emails every day. Making sure my clients and the company are safe is a number one priority. Ensuring that my company and personal information is fairly well protected is non-negotiable. OpenVPN is the best shield to use at all times to make sure everyone is safe and happy so that we can provide exceptional service to our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have any questions regarding OpenVPN, just send an email to them, they will respond back with all the information you need regarding the program.

1 person found this helpful

    James P.

Powerful VPN for Remote Browsing.

  • December 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenVPN its a main and most powerful Visual Private Network provider and the VPN features accessibility its nice.
The easy of implementation and the overall services quality from OpenVPN its incredible. With the VPN its very easy to access various servers on different countries Worldwide.
What do you dislike?
On my side i got none to dislike and the tool performance and the features are very easy to set and manipulate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Helpful for private browsing.

Remotely browsing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
OpenVPN is my favourite VPN and very powerful software with many servers on different locations and easy to install.

1 person found this helpful