Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Multisite Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3-0 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

23 AWS reviews

    ComputerGuy

Basic Wordpress Functions Broken

  • August 24, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I should have stopped using this image when, right out of the box, I couldn't even create users in Wordpress. I persisted though and was unable to upload a theme and also could not activate the WP Mail SMTP plugin.

I restarted with the non Multisite Bitnami AMI and this all worked just fine.


    william zeitler

Dismal failure

  • May 26, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have set up maybe 100 Apache websites by hand, untold lines of PHP, etc.

I followed the directions and all I get is 404, regardless of my troubleshooting efforts.


    Bill Kuehnle

Is this AMI really the problem?

  • October 22, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Note: This review exceeds the suggested 300 word limit by ~130 words. If that bothers you, skip the explanation, the first paragraph and conclusion found at the end summarize the problem.

I don't accept the reviews claiming this does not work. I think blaming the AMI misses the point. Blame, if any, should be directed at code developed by 3rd parties not Bitnami or WordPress.

Explanation:
I tried this AMI in a staging environment and quickly reverted back to my saved version of a previous Bitnami AMI running PHP 5.6, I don't believe the AMI is at fault. I gave it 3 stars because I wish Bitnami offered another WP multi-site AMI with PHP 5.6. On the other hand, enabling people to continue avoiding PHP 7, especially with a WP site, isn't necessarily good practice.

A better solution would be to downgrade to PHP 5.6 yourself after installing the AMI. I suspect for many people that might prove too difficult and defeat the purpose of using a readymade AMI solution.

If anyone has experience where a site works with PHP 7 in another environment but doesn't work with this AMI, I would very much like to hear about it.

I would skip Bitnami altogether and install a stack on a generic EC2 Linux instance then install WP multi-site. However, I tend to like Bitnami's application solutions. The structure they implement, although often annoying, provides better security than I want to spend time implementing if starting from scratch.

This AMI would probably be getting 4 and 5 star reviews if users ran WordPress by itself. But who does that?

There are virtually always 3rd party themes and plugins involved. When I reverted to an older version, mentioned above, I was working with a site I inherited that depended on numerous (an understatement) plugins of questionable quality. There wasn't time or money available to debug so much code to resolve PHP 7 issues. The site contains code that is so poorly written that it won't run on PHP 5.6 either when debug is turned on; so many notices and warnings are generated that the page output cannot be rendered in a browser. Granted, debug should NOT be on in a production environment but, the ability to enable it in a dev environment would be nice.

Summary:
PHP 7 has been a long time in the making. WordPress core developers have been preparing for it and WP runs fine, and much faster, by itself with this AMI but frequently themes and/or plugins do not because they were developed using PHP 5.6, or older, and are often poorly written to begin with. Theme/plugin developers state what version of WP they have tested against but usually don't mention, or even consider, whether PHP 7 is supported.


    jbesw

No longer works

  • September 26, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This used be a near-perfect AMI but has completely stopped working on AWS. Hopefully Bitnami can fix this but it's been broken for some time.


    Andrew

Don't waste your time

  • August 24, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As reported by reviewers for over 2 months, this AMI is worthless. Follow their instructions and you'll end up not being able to login to your WP instance.


    Kiko

False product

  • July 05, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

NOT WORKING!!!

Worst experience ever. No multisite. No networking configuration. Unsecured MySql installation. In any case this is an install-and-go image. Bitnami is the worst software images provider ever seen.

It has been impossible to set up this image.


    Dmitry from Kuoll

Non-functional, could not login, cookies domain missconfiguration

  • June 24, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After installation it sets the default site to http://***.compute-1.amazonaws.com/
and cookies are not enabled to accessible, so, wordpress disallows login.

Error message:
> ERROR: Cookies are blocked or not supported by your browser. You must enable cookies to use WordPress.

Default configuration redirects from http://www.kuoll.com/ to http://***.compute-1.amazonaws.com/

Edited wp-config, still no solution.

Non-multisite instance by Bitnami works ok.


    DC Asta

Excelent

  • October 01, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great service, great value, thanks to AWS, WordPress, and Bitnami. Very user friendly installation.

Just to remind everyone that Route53 will cause 0,51 for mapping a sub-domain (creating zone) on your test "free tier" Wordprise multisite.


    Carlos Manga

Wordpress Bitnami

  • August 22, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is a very good product is already configured and optimized by Bitnami team. Installation is quick and effective. With a few clicks to get a wordpress first-line server!


    WP-User

Great and Quick

  • August 19, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice and easy setup, great documentation and overall a great reason to keep using Wordpress and AWS. The Bitnami community around the product is also extremely helpful to get your questions answered.