Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 5.8.1-20-r07 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

128 AWS reviews

    Sweet Cornnuts

Not quite easy as it seems, once you dig in

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The install is straight forward, and as easy as can be.

That's when the dream stops and the nightmares begin. For example, if you need to find the password, there is an easy way to do it, as in every case -
once you know how! - the password is logged once, and needs to be gotten to at first install. If for any other reason, you reboot the instance before getting the password - the pw is literally lost forever(in AWS). Again, there is an another way, but that means diggin in, and rolling in the mud when it's snowing out, and freezing. In other words - not pretty!

Another example - if you need to change the WP site URL, which is a matter of 10 seconds in every other install, it's a fairly complicated rigmarole here. I mean the wp-config.php file can only gotten to after being proficient in linux..or shooting commands suggested by strangers..so you are literally hitting 'enter' not knowing if this is going to destroy your instance or fix it like they said.

As I said, It's a fair bit of work, after the install. Be prepared. 1 star all the way - Bitnami does not keep it's promise. If the wp-config file is accessible, maybe I'll change my mind coming back - this is part of a normal install and every living human being trying their hand at WP needs to change URL. Or your Wordpress site WILL GO DOWN AFTER A FEW DAYS - because AWS feels like they need to swap IPs...and the circle jerk continues! I'm out, screw BItnami


    Andiamo

Annoying

  • January 07, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could already access the instance from the IP, I had to generate the elastic IP but I do not know why the instance does not show IPv4 Public DNS, besides I do not know why I can not install an Elastic Load Balancer


    wp user

Easy installation

  • January 06, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Was able to launch new a Wordpress EC2 instance in just a few steps, using the easy to follow instructions. Great AMI and documentation.


    Lee S.

Permission Errors

  • September 20, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Installs and launches great, however cannot run any Automatic updates. File permissions errors across the board makes it EXTREMELY CUMBERSOME to manage. NOTE: Default Directory Permissions (775) / File Permissions (664) --- I ran chmod to change to (755/644) and still receive errors.

ERROR:
A definition of a siteurl or homeurl was detected in your wp-config.php, but the file is not writable. Set your wp-config.php to writable and reload this page.

ERROR:
Update Failed: Download failed. Destination directory for file streaming does not exist or is not writable.

Also, unable to Delete Jetpack to save my life. Even via FTP, deletion returns:
Error: set attrs for /opt/bitnami/apps/wordpress/htdocs/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/json-endpoints/jetpack: permission denied

..c'mon man!


    Omar

RDS

  • September 12, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,
the tool is really excellent but I would have liked to have an installation so easy with RDS it would be very well


    BG

It just work NICE!

  • September 06, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

In step "Step 3: Make Changes to Your Website" is just "black screen". Only after "reboot" server from aws console shown. Someone reported it into reviews too. Otherwise everything is OK.
https://aws.amazon.com/getting-started/tutorials/launch-a-wordpress-website

BG
bg@bgstudio.online


    Jared Marin

Amazing!

  • May 05, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Entire process was easy to implement. If want a WordPress site using AWS, this is the route to take. WordPress powered by Bitnami saves a lot of time.


    Taylor M.

LetsEncrypt Didn't Work

  • March 21, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was looking for an easy LAMP install that I could use with LetsEncrypt for certs. I went through the initial install and everything went great, it wasn't super straightforward on how to find my application password but a little googl'ing helped point me in the right direction. I got Wordpress running just fine with no problems but couldn't get LE to do the auto installer... instead I would have to manage certs manually. Decided to build my own LAMP stack where LE works great.


    Pete

Password doesn't work

  • March 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Followed Amazon's instructions on setting this up, twice. Each time the generated password (in system log) failed when trying to login.


    Steve Stanzel

Quick and Easy setup!

  • January 11, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Wasn't sure if I was jumping down a rabbit hole but this was really straightforward. A simple way to both explore WordPress as well as LightSail and AWS in general.