Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami | 5.3-0 on Ubuntu 16.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

114 AWS reviews

    Greg Esposito

Does what it does with no muss no fuss

  • August 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I needed to spool up a Wordpress for a customer to be handled by another party, and as such needed to keep configurations and the like to a bare minimum.

I knew I could count on Bitnami to get me what I needed!


    Dean Moloney

Pretty impressed!

  • July 26, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Had to use this in a rush when I didn't have time to set up my own AMI or secure a server from scratch. I'm super impressed.

This thing is secure and much faster than I thought, even on a micro.

I think the latest version has some conflicting documentation about where the WP password is (I couldn't find it) but they have a CLI app that resets it for you which is the route I took.

Add in some 2FA yourself and you've got a pretty decent setup. I honestly couldn't have built a better AMI myself, even in a day.

If you're running Wordpress and don't want to fiddle with the server setup, this is what you're looking for. As simple as it gets.


    Milos

Terrible experience

  • July 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

For an AMI (Amazon Machine Image) you would expect that it is truly turn key and ready to go.

It simply isn't. And the documentation that is offered on the marketplace page is completely wrong.

The password CANNOT be found in the system log for the instance. Therefore you get a wordpress installation that you can't even log into! Very useful!

If you're not careful you might not even get an instance with a public IP address (Bitnami makes no effort to warn you about this problem).

If you can't get access to the password for the installations (wordpress, mysql) then what is the point of using this image?


    PSEUDONYM

Very nice!

  • July 09, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Aside from being completely free, WordPress powered by Bitnami (HVM) by BitRock Inc. makes using Wordpress very understandable for the first-time user.


    Razvan

Well organized

  • July 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The AIM is well organized and everything is in /opt
Too bad I had to look for passwords on forums.

It would have been nice to have this in a .password file so one make use of them easely


    Eclinic247 Administrator

Amazingly easy to setup but having some permission issues

  • July 01, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It was a very quick setup but when I handed over the instance to our wordpress admin, we discovered that there were permission and ownership issues in wp-content folder and had to manually go and set the correct ownership and permissions to make uploads work from admin panel.


    Kendoo Solutions

Nice shortcut to set up a Wordpress blog in no time

  • May 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice AMI, used for a couple of days for a POC and it was good enough.

Didnt have time to evaluate security issues.


    JR

Excellent AMI, best one available for a single WordPress site.

  • May 17, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is by far the best AMI available for anyone wanting to set-up a simple, single site on WordPress. Works straight "out of the box" with very little config required.

Also, if you want to host multiple sites take a look at the multi-site version of this AMI.


    Branch Digital

So simple and easy to use

  • April 20, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you understand the basics of AWS and WordPress dev on the LAMP stack, then you'll find this tool very useful.


    d. wachtendonk

Ridiculously simple

  • April 14, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was shocked at how easy it was to install wordpress on our domain. Within a few clicks we were up and running. I was able to get everything installed without the assistance of my dev team. #awesome.