Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

WordPress Certified by Bitnami and Automattic

Bitnami by VMware | 5.8.2-8-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

129 AWS reviews

    Jacob Schwartz

Very easy to set up, easy enough to customize

  • November 23, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This AMI significantly reduced my setup time. I could definitely have started with a basic Ubuntu AMI and installed everything myself, but why spend hours on the basics when I could jump straight into a working stack?

The Bitnami documentation could probably use some work but they've covered most of the really needed questions. It's not too hard to figure out details they've skipped.

I feel a little secure in the knowledge that Bitnami have thought about security in their setup but I haven't really delved into my instance yet to know whether they've got everything set up as I would prefer.


    Kyle

Thanks for a great free AMI

  • November 07, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I love all the goodness in this AMI. However, the lack of clearly identified credentials (user/account to shell into the vm; 'bitnami' with your aws key and then the WP credentials, I think are 'user' 'bitnami' Er, you know to disable that account ASAP, right?) are poorly documented.


    Tiffany Daily

Approachable enough

  • October 14, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Straightforward and did exactly what I needed. There are plenty of great didactic resources available online for the technically disinclined. Thanks Bitnami!


    Pui Chan

A tough time for non-technical user

  • August 19, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been a CMS user for years but it's the first time for me to set up a CMS website. I needed to google around for tutorials. The one click solution is actually not that straightforward. There are a lot of hard bits involved. I had a tough time setting up the PuTTY (to SSH to the instance on a windows desktop). Having said so, I guess it is the best thing available in the market allowing a beginner to set up a CMS website. Just be prepared that it may not be that easy.


    Rajesh Narayanan "nrajesh"

Terrible in terms of instructions to newbies

  • July 21, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I will put it upfront that I am not a linux guy and also that I am new to AMI. So all the negatives here might not (or might) be BitNami's fault. But I did have my own WP installer manually setup in AWS using EC2, until something went wrong and everything went kaput. I tried BitNami thinking that the installation hurdles might be reduced.

I faced no issues in getting the AMI installed. But I faced several while trying to configure the final url (mainly) and in accessing phpmyadmin (I managed to do this). I tried going through BitNami documentation and even researched a few sites (mostly this was about updateip --appurl).

I think the biggest issue for me was that the structure of the directories is not at all similar to what I got when I had configured WP manually in EC2. Maybe this is expected, but I just couldn't overcome modifying the final url (even after managing to modify wp-config.php)!

Strangely I was charged $1 after installing the AMI. I have raised a ticket and am awaiting to see why this happened. But overall I think I wasted half a day in trying to tune this AMI according to my taste.


    Kon Georgopoulos

Excellent and simple

  • July 19, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Enter the new age...why bother hooking up apache, mySQL, PHP, WP when you can get in in a box! thanks...


    tim 333

Good. Useful does what it says. Had a job figuring out how to connect

  • July 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The thing worked fine and produced a version of Wordpress. It took me hours to figure the username and password for Wordpress are set up with are 'user' and 'bitnami' and when you try to connect to the instance you have to connect as 'bitnami' rather than ec2-user. Also when I tried converting to multisite I got some mystery error. Didn't bother spending ages trying to figure that one out


    leandro

Very Good

  • June 14, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to install, 10 minutes is up!
Atention to password and usernames, always bitnami.
Is a good choice when you need to be fast.


    Garrus

Awesome for designers.

  • May 16, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Being that I mainly work as a designer and care little for server code and such, this install makes life much easier deploying into the cloud. It is incredibly easy to use providing you have a background with Wordpress. Still unsure if I need a micro or small instance but it runs fast from both of my tests. Keep up the good work guys. I love FREE software to work from.


    Tati Hana

The difficulty lies in the details...

  • May 16, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As others mentioned, the installation was super easy, but setting up a domain may be difficult for new aws users.

Advice for newcomers: the user to SSH is "bitnami", not "ubuntu" and the default password for MySQL is "bitnami".

I documented my experience here:
http://bubbassauro.com/wordpress-on-aws/