Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ownCloud packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 10.9.1-21-r01 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

7 AWS reviews

External reviews

188 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Engr. Sheraz S.

Connecting people over the Inter-Intra Facilities/Department

  • March 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Well, to be honest, the best thing is: they provided excellent services and the user-friendly interface is what caught most of the attention. I believe for any good product, that's what consumers are looking for.
What do you dislike?
I believe they comes up with such a complete package, that nobody denied their marvelous efforts which sum up their supremacy over the market. Besides this, they continue to work effortlessly for the minor bug removals which are fine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a multi-user, I constantly used the cloud sharing option to cope with the shared files either inter-intra department or the simultaneous excess to the other clients.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As a matter of fact, If you are looking for a user-friendly and handy tool for file hosting services, then I assure you, you are at the right place.


    Sanket R.

OwnCloud - Your private cloud for hosting documents and media

  • March 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It provides you on-premises installation with an easy to use installer. Creating new users is really easy. Also you can add external storage through the interface which lets you scale your system to unlimited space. It also provides you an inline editor for a few files through which you can easily edit the documents. It's like your own dropbox.
What do you dislike?
Initial configuration may be tedious due to directory permissions where the software has to be installed. Although the user interface is neat and clean, scaling can be an issue if the size of data gets bigger and you continue to host the service on your own server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to setup. The system helped me host and categorize documents with different file extensions. Owncloud also provides an API which can be used to pull the data on a custom user interface
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Owncloud is a beautiful system to host your own files on your own premises. Although scaling might be an issue in a long run, you have complete control on your entire data which makes it useful for hosting confidential data.


    Ram K.

Very Useful Tool for file-sharing and Storage - ownCloud

  • March 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This tool is best for file sharing and online data storage. You can manage their space to collect pdf, docs, and file in one place. You can create folders to store documents.
What do you dislike?
Nothing i can share here that if i have found something wrong in this tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used lots of online drives like Gdrive, Box, etc. But OwnCloud is best ever online file sharing tool. You can also use AWS Marketplace there. So very great tool i can say.


    Abdelkadir B.

Owncloud honest review

  • February 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ownCloud is one of the greatest products for securely sharing files, the software is accessible from all major platforms. It's simple to set up and easy to access and find my stored materials.
What do you dislike?
- Time-consuming to set up
- Low storage capacity
- Performance issues and bugs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We often have to send large files to our students This process has always been difficult, and we've tried a variety of approaches throughout the years. None has proven as user-friendly and dependable as ownCloud. It has made my life much easier.


    Biotechnology

Best local cloud solution

  • February 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy, all-in-one solution if you want to host your own files.
What do you dislike?
OwnCloud lacks enterprise-grade features such as file locking. The design is a bit plain compared to competitors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's an opensource solution so free of charge, keeping privacy and small footprint. It can be easily deployed on any computer platform.


    Jeff G.

Good free private cloud storage system

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The price! ownCloud is free for the unsupported version, and I am able to run it on a Raspberry Pi at home. I also love that I can store my stuff without it being mined to try to sell me stuff (or worse).
What do you dislike?
The original developer of the software is no longer with the organization, and is now developing something called nextcloud, which I have not yet had an opportunity to play with much.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Upgrading/updating the software on the Pi can be a pain. On the Pi, it is sometimes (understandably) slow. Other than that, it's good stuff!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for a little home cloud storage server. Give it a try!


    David C.

It manager

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use for end users. Visually appealing
What do you dislike?
Complexity in management, from admin side
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cost is appealing.


    Alex T.

With ownCloud You'll Be Living on Cloud Nine

  • December 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ownCloud is very easy to use file-sharing and online data storage software. You can organize and setup folders however you want and give various people access accordingly, and if you wish not to have to host everything locally and only access the files online, that's also an option.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it can take a little while for files to sync with other users, but this is normal for any file sharing program, and you need to make sure when significant changes have been made it might take a little while to sync up.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a podcaster I am able to share all the files I need, whether they be text or sound files, with my team on the other side of the world easily with ownCloud, and we stay in communication when changes are made and final version are ready for me to access.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a tremendous file-sharing program to use with others, you can't go wrong with ownCloud.


    Tessa J.

Perfect, easy setup and cloud storage solution

  • December 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ownCloud is easy to set up. It's perfect if you want to create your cloud server using your very own hardware. You get to control everything about it, putting your data back in your hands.
What do you dislike?
The setup documentation may not be the easiest to get through if you don't have some technical knowledge beforehand. It helped that I am a software developer, so setup was easy for me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can manage my data, putting that power and control back in my hands. Cloud is big right now, and many third-party companies offer cloud services. You are putting your trust in those companies, hoping your data is safe and secure. It gives you peace of mind to know you have control over your data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to manage your data, set up a server and your in-house data bank, then ownCloud is the best solution for you.


    Computer Software

Simple selfhosted file sharing solution

  • December 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Installation of this tool is straightforward, and they have pretty detailed manuals on their website. You can sync your files, share them with your colleagues (within your group and rights) and with others by external links
What do you dislike?
There are few plugins and collaboration tools compared to competitors like Nextcloud and others. Some trouble with cross-device syncing (hardly reproducible) with some users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use our ownCloud primarily for file sharing and cloud-syncing our files with our virtual server ("private cloud" concept). It solves the problem of using many file-sharing services by our managers. And its debranding option solves the problem of sharing our company's files with our customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should consider ownCloud if your company has a system administrator or programmer with basic Unix skills. Although the manual is straightforward and detailed, you should have some expertise.