Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ownCloud packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 10.11.0-17-r19 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

8 AWS reviews

External reviews

201 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Benjamin B.

Self-hosted alternative to Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, Dropbox etc.

  • April 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Free and open-source. Very actively developed and new updates are coming out very often.

- Easy to install. Just grab a spare (networked) server, VPS or even just a shared hosting account, install Apache/NGINX, PHP and MySQL, unzip and off you go.

- Privacy. Using this means that you have full control over your data rather than trusting a third-party like Google or Microsoft. OwnCloud even supports encryption of files. Enables businesses to more-easily comply with data protection laws while having the cloud convenience.

- Extendable. Lots of plugins available to integrate with OwnCloud and the ability to make your own as well of course.

- Strong user management/group functionality to share your cloud with multiple users. Ability to integrate with Active Directory and other similar products.

- Desktop sync client and mobile applications really make this feel like a complete product.

- Enterprise support available if needed.
What do you dislike about the product?
- Performance can be pretty poor at times, especially when dealing with large amounts of files.

- Some features are still rather buggy/unfinished. It's constantly in development though so this is to be expected.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ability to set-up my 'own cloud' (pardon the pun) and have full privacy and control over it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking to host your own alternative to Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive etc. you can't go too far wrong with OwnCloud. This is the most complete alternative in a box that I've found so far.


    Martin M.

Powerful open-source document server / sharing platform that gets better with each release

  • April 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's open source, you can install the community version on your own server or VPS without any payment and manage it by yourself, or pay the commercial version with professional support. The main feature is saving files, sharing with others in the ownCloud and outside, similar to Dropbox or GoogleDrive. The sync client got massive improvements recently so now on Windows sharing via ownCloud can be performed from Windows Explorer easily, multiple accounts can be synced simultaneously, and selective sync can be enabled. Files are easily accessible also through a mobile apps on Android or iOS. The additional features of photo gallery, CalDAV calendars and CardDAV contacts are nice and can be synced with Mozilla Thunderbird/Lightning, iPhone etc.
What do you dislike about the product?
In the past the server and client had several bugs some of them critical (data corruption / loss). The user does not care that some of these critical bugs were due to upstream libraries such as Qt, when data corruption/loss occurs it's a reason to migrate to a completely different solution that is more reliable. The reliability seem to improve much recently but still I feel as the admin that there are rough edges and each update of client and server could trigger a new bug or regression that was not discovered before release.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our whole company migrated to ownCloud file saving, sharing across devices and users from no system before (just plain email attachments). Implementing ownCloud and sharing folders such as graphics files, documents etc was therefore a huge improvement. THe collaboration by having up-to-date files improved a lot.
The ability to add dozens of users such as external and part-time workers without the need to pay for each user some license gradually compensates for the high initial installation and implementation costs, as well as debugging and communication with the developers when the critical bugs were triggered and had had to be resolved quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider other commercial options, don't go to ownCloud blindly. ownCloud is not "free", you have to spend some hours setting it up and educatiing users how to use it, and do troubleshooting when something does not work as expected.

Configure the server you run ownCloud on proplerly beforehand, check errors in logs, warnings in owncloud administration, install proper caching packages, etc.
Install only plugins you really need and that are stable enough. Consider how to deploy clients on client computers. If using other systems consider using ownCloud linked to LDAP / AD / other single-sign on. Be very careful before upgrading ownCloud server to a new major version, if using VPS consider creating a clone of the VPS and test whole upgrade process beforehand on a testing environment forked from your real installation. If using community edition subscribe to mailing lists of ownCloud and watch issues (bugs) on GitHub for new major versions before considering the upgrade.


    Online Media

Stability and easy access

  • March 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Apps, you can develop an apps or install it easily.
At the same time there are many integration to other services and mobile and os support natively.
Respect to google or dropbox use standard protocol like webdav, caldav and carddav that are supported in many software without install anything else.
What do you dislike about the product?
The changelog is available lately, they announce a new version without a changelog.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cloud in my agency with an hosting not expensive you can have everything by owncloud and self managed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose a good hosting and check all the apps that you need


    Carlos F.

Robust and efficient

  • February 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is a good software to have a online repository to your own files
What do you dislike about the product?
The possibility to block some clients to delete or update the files
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use it to see online the company files. Also We backup the owncloud files in another server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be careful if someone dele a file. It is better to preserve a daily backup in another server


    yoann maingon

extremely quick to set up

  • August 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Deployed this server in last then 5 minutes, my coworkers installed the client and we could sync file in just a few minutes on a micro instance. Great Image !


    PSIP

Bitnami Owncloud fàcil i ràpid - easy and fast

  • July 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

OwnCloud totalment configurat per comprovar el temps més curt possible. Funcional i com tots els productes Bitnami fàcil operació i configuració.

OwnCloud fully configured to test for the shortest possible time. Functional and like all products Bitnami easy operation and configuration.


    elfotografo007

Easy with a few clicks

  • February 10, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

ownCloud AMI was easy to install and configure. With a few clicks i got running my ownCloud. The only bad thing is that the default volume only had 10GB of storage, but was very easy to solve.


    El Gus

It doesn't get any easier than this

  • July 14, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I needed a collaboration environment for a research project and this was near trivial to setup and I've got only positive responses from the users so I highly recommend it to people looking for a painless deployment of this very good collaboration environment


    trialanderror

Perfect for Newbies (and probably also for Pros)

  • February 17, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am quite ok with handling PC/Mac at a user level, but totally inexperienced in setting up a server or installing software on the server. I had to look up (probably the most basic) unix commands to to install OwnCloud in a new EC2 Instance over SHH in the Mac terminal, all looked great (to me) - but I couldn't access the http://IP.owncloud.com page. Spent about 2 hours. No success.
Then I tried ownCloud powered by BitNami and it took me10 minutes. It even takes care of setting up the EC2 Instance for you. Highly recommended!