Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle Certified by Bitnami

Bitnami | 3.9.2-0 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

11 AWS reviews

External reviews

261 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Amal A.

Good platform but could be improved

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is a good online learning platform. At our organization we use Moodle for various online courses, we do not have a limit for how many courses we can design and publish on Moodle. There are also no limits on the number of course instructors, students that can be added to the system. The platform supports languages e.g. Arabic, Russian, Persian which is useful as we run programs globally.
What do you dislike?
Moodle interface is outdated, there are better learning platforms that offer a friendly user experience e.g. Google classrooms. Adding participants into a course is cumbersome. One cannot easily replicate the course. Moodle mobile application sometimes lags, we often advise students to use the desktop version for better engagement.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To connect students across the globe, to allow them to learn a new skill at their own pace anywhere in the world.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say consider other options in the market because Moodle can be expensive. The platform is not user-friendly, we did spend a lot of time with on-boarding staff and students to use Moodle. The performance analytics provided for each user lacking metrics. Few things that are good about moodle: language interface courses can be designed in any language. The course can be set-up as a self-paced which is a key for students who are busy with other responsibilities. Moodle also supports content in formats such as social media, links, PowerPoint presentations, PDF/word. Students in the course can have easy access to the system administrator for troubleshooting purposes when needed.


    Higher Education

The Best LMS in the World - DEFINITELY!

  • August 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like every single option that Moodle offers. The stability of the system is amazing. Everything is top notch, there are literally no Bugs at all, even myself as a Advanced user, I have never ever encountered a Bug. Kudos to the QA team of Moodle :)
What do you dislike?
It takes some time to fully incorporate ideas, and maybe the UX is a bit off. I kinda liked the old Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Every single type. Educational, Training, ...

Also, I did managed to implement the first fully implemented Moodle system in a country!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is the best LMS available. I highly recommend it, especially now with the COVID-19 outbreak.


    E-Learning

The best open-source LMS - Moodle

  • August 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like everything about Moodle. I have used Moodle as an Administrator, a student and as a manager. Moodle is one of the best open-source learning management systems and can be widely used in almost all the industries.It is a robust and scalable LMS. It is highly collaborative and customizable. It offers multilingual, easy file management and can be integrated with any 3rd party applications. It can be hosted as on-premises or on cloud with no performance issues. For EU region, it has introduced GDPR plug-in which helps the organization meeting its GDPR related compliance needs.
What do you dislike?
Moodle is an open source application hence cannot be used as a default validated LMS like other commercial GxP applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moodle is a low-cost best-fit LMS across industries. This is best suitable for all types of businesses irrespective of their size. It offers high ROI and also high performance within the organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Moodle for any type of business organizations, educational institutes, etc. It offers wide range of features, custom dashboard, resposiveness, mobile accessibility, etc. It is an open-source application hence no license cost involved.


    Manuel D.

Excellent distance learning platform.

  • August 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it is an open source learning the executives framework. After arrangement, we can modify our site utilizing topics and pictures. What's more, we can likewise alter our control board. The fundamental element of Moodle is cutting course materials is incredible, utilizing this we can convey reports to several understudies with a straightforward update. help speak with understudies, making addresses. We can do it through Moodle, so it is extremely simple to utilize in the event that we will send tasks, and so forth.
What do you dislike?
Can't Configured to possess worker without the past information and IT foundation, And likewise it has given constrained access with the expectation of complimentary variant. It doesn't work any record type expansion. This can lead individual/institutional clients to utilize business facilitating suppliers or host the office on a private worker themselves. Barring these things Moodle offers great assistance to the training business.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We confronted numerous difficulties, for example, absence of archives, a great deal of paper and issues of sending course material, After demonstrating Moodle, we can spare that aggregate sum for the organization. Furthermore, we likewise now have a solid correspondence framework with our students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I enthusiastically suggest Moodle on the grounds that it incorporates all the capacities for separation learning. It can deal with the subjects of selected understudies rapidly. The design is simple and I know an ever increasing number of the capacities remembered for Moodle. It has a broad chronicle of archives and a gathering system. The open source Moodle stage is the best it has.


    Bent T.

Modern platform, highly customizable!

  • August 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle provides a fairly large group of developers to make the platform look like and sound the way you want it for your educational environment. It has a fairly strong set of characteristics as an on-line learning platform which you can use to do reasonably advanced stuff like pathways. You can fully redesign how your training looks, how it is structured, and which tools are fully integrated into the LMS. Tons of free subject areas for different ages and/or purposes (themes, week, unit, etc.) are available and can also be presented on the website (for K-12, university, online public courses, etc.).
What do you dislike?
Open source design requires flexibility and, in some cases , new features overlap too much with old ones, to make it possible to select from several "discussion boards." As SSH conectivity to the server is important for integrating certain types of properties, it was simple for me to create my own Moodle server. Integration with applications from third parties is not as strong as the Blackboard and Canvas competition. I have some problems with certain plugins that are less flexible or do not follow the 'standard' way Moodle does things, but this is not necessarily a fault of Moodle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Moodle for fully-fledged university courses online, in combination and on a face-to - face basis. For some time, it worked well as our university's first movies. I am a university programmer and Moodle virtual programming Labs are the most important feature for me: they permit me to create short and long programming tasks that are fully integrated in the Moodle platform with automatical grading. These experiences are really beneficial to my students as their code is correct or not. They received immediate feedback. Students have said what they like about the Moodle organisation, and I like its transparency over other LMS used by my university.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In addition to hosting a server, if you can use internally customized support and troubleshooting, Moodle can work fine. If there are other good choices that operate right out of the box, then it can be too complicated. You have virtually every need for versatility and plugins and it's easy to use and intuitive to use as they are completely incorporated in Moodle your students. All is at the top and readily available. Nothing is hidden from or is connected in two ways or in several places by a faculty member.


    Erin D.

Basic Review of Moodle LMS

  • July 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way my courses are laid out on Moodle. I making visually appealing images for Module headings using another tool, and I screenshot them and create labels with the images in Moodle, which gives my course a nice flow. I enjoy using the gradebook, although it can be complex.
What do you dislike?
Our particular version does not allow students to record verbal or video responses directly to the online forums or other assignments. This would be very useful in foreign language classes. In general, I do think there is a bit of a learning curve with Moodle. Simple actions are easy to do (upload files, etc.) but other things sometimes take longer to figure out. The "question" button beside some actions gives more info and can be helpful. I think it is more difficult on the teaching end than the student end, which is simple. I would continue using Moodle if students could submit voice/video assignments directly. This is critical in 2020 and I've been wanting it for 10 years. Perhaps it is available in other versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I deliver fully online and hybrid courses on Moodle. I also use Moodle to supplement face-to-face instruction by accepting many assignments online and posting instructions and resources. It is nice to have a place where students can go for any and all course materials and to reduce paper submissions.


    Higher Education

Expensive and Confusing

  • July 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It works well with publishers and other software like Zoom. The layout is simple, no images or fluff.
What do you dislike?
The gradebook is horrible and times out easily, and it does not communicate with third party sites like Turnitin after it times out. After 11 years of using it, I had to submit 6 grade changes out of 132 students because Turnitin timed out at a different time than Moodle. It did not communicate and record grades and did not tell me that this process did not happen. This also happened when I inputted actual items into my gradebook, so what should have been out of 950 in my Excel computed out of 835 for students. Each time the Zoom code was deleted, the participation points would disappear. It was a disaster. The grades for assignments would fluctuate from 10 to 100 points randomly.

Chaotic and unreliable at best.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It proved to me that my system of not relying on any LMS for grading is smart. I use paper and Excel.

Benefits are that it is an easy interface and experts well to Excel for easy comparison and quick troubleshooting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't do it. Use Canvas.


    Higher Education

Great way to get information to students

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it has an online grading function, the ability to create and submit assignments through links, an announcement forum, the ability to create posts and respond to blogs and the ability to separate and selectively release modules.
What do you dislike?
If you do not have the grades properly weighed then your students will be shocked by the grades that are submitted to the school which is concerning but due largely to user error. Some professors misuse Moodle and require a little extra tech help.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest problem was when COVID happened, all collegiate learning became online learning. We weren't able to use in person so this format takes the place of a lot of in person interactions.


    Corbin J.

Great online learning platform.

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy adapting Moodle to a variety of learning applications and thinking about architecture and functionality. I love it's also Online, open source, and worldwide. It basically provides a portal for instructor loading, which helps us to sign up and attend conferences if we already have a registered account. So speaking in particular can also help to communicate with friends so lectures. We can do it through Moodle, so it is very simple to use if we will submit assignments, etc.
What do you dislike?
At some point, we can't do it through a moodle if we have to load tasks with large data files, as this is not ready. It doesn't operate any file type extension. This can lead individual / institutional users to use business hosting providers or host the facility on a private server themselves.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are facing many challenges, like document lacking, a large amount of paper and course material sending problems, after we started Moodle, all problems have been resolved. Now we are able to work with them on time. We 're working with all our educational projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can handle the students enrolled subjects very quickly.
Setting up is very easy and I get to know the features included in Moodle more and more every time I do so. It has a wide archive of documents and a group network. Moodle open source platform is the best thing about it.


    Madusanka B.

Total solution for distant learning

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is learning management system which is open source.After configuration we can customize our site by using themes and images. And also, we can personalize our dashboard too. The main feature of Moodle is shearing course materials, by using this we can deliver documents to hundreds of students with a simple update.Manager, teacher admin and student are user levels of Moodle, which can control accessibility.
Real time chat solution and Announcement are helping the increasing relationship of lecturers and students. Mobile version of Moodle is a very useful app for who work with Moodle. This learning management system providing best security features for protecting our date. Logs and reports are help helpful for getting an idea of what users done in the system
What do you dislike?
Moodle can't Configured to own server without the previous knowledge and IT background, And also it has given limited access for free version, Excluding these things Moodle provides good service to the education industry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As an education base company before use Moodle we deliver to all course materials and assignments by hard copy, as a result of that we have to allocate big number of cost to document printing. After stating Moodle we can save that total amount to the company. And also now we have a strong communication system with our students.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Moodle because of it including all feature for distant learning.