Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Moodle Certified by Bitnami

Bitnami | 3.9.1-3-r05 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

11 AWS reviews

External reviews

256 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


3-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Construction

Moodle

  • October 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle is an easy way to access my classes. I like that I can see everything on the homepage and I like that it's easy to navigate.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the platform crashes and that can be annoying when I'm trying to upload my work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It can be difficult to upload at times. Sometimes it just won't let me upload and the professor will have to go in and try to troubleshoot it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask your professor about it if you have trouble. It can be confusing at times.


    Education Management

Workable, but not ideal

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy for students to use and access most of the time, workable for disseminating and receiving assignments, grades, etc
What do you dislike?
Semi-frequent glitches, students did not find their side of noodle as user-friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easier to communicate with large classes of students
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It worked in my setting at a relatively small university, larger universities may need something different for their unique needs


    Information Technology and Services

Great LMS- you will need a pro team

  • June 13, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Moodle does have the ability to build out an entire school of necessary. There really isn’t many limitations being the open source factors. Customizations and needs can be met.
What do you dislike?
You will need a professional team to setup and integrate Moodle. Customizations will need a developer. You will also need to purchase plugins or upgrades for added features. This is the world of using an open source platform.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building an online LMS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you truly understand the level of work needed to complete your project and be ready to hire professional teams.


    Education Management

I am an instructor for psychology and we use this platform.

  • May 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how you can organize things in a class and then have the option to roll the class over to another course. That way you do not have to keep doing the same things over and over and uploading the same material multiple times.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that when you roll classes over, you can select only certain things to roll over. It is either all or nothing. It would be nice to be able to just say "hey I want to roll my grade book over but not the content" and that is not possible, unfortunately.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am teaching introduction to psychology using this course. My students really like it and it seems to do a great job.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a great software system, it just takes some time getting used to.


    Thomas R.

A good LMS tool for web based learning

  • March 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Moodle has a good user friendly interface that allows users to navigate to their area of interest without much difficulty. Their documentation was detailed enough for our implementation of the product. We liked the mobile app feature of Moodle which allows us to interact with students easily without having to resort to emailing.
What do you dislike?
We are still in the midst of trialing the software and have not found any reason to dislike this product. If there was one thing to mention, it could be that the UI could be better improved for the users involved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using Moodle allowed us to create course and content for teachers and students alike. This LMS allowed students to receive updates of their course assignment and grades easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start off by utilizing the Free software and getting a good feel of Moodle before commiting to using this good LMS tool for your education needs. Another good tool could be BlackBoard.


    Victor G.

It's so basic. I think could be more attractive.

  • August 21, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the way teachers can share with the students all the contents about the subjects.
What do you dislike?
I think the plataform is so basic and nothing attractive. It could be more modern to incentive students to learn more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can download the contents and the information for my subjects.


    Todd P.

Much Better than other solutions.

  • June 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
To set up a class is not that hard when you have some basic training. It is easy to upload files for the students to download for projects. The grade book is easy for the students to access as well. It is organized in a logical manner and its easy to find classes easily. Because it is open source its easy to find videos on how to do something or solve a problem. The mobile interface is really good, it makes it easy to do things on the fly. Its easy to rebrand for your University, ours called it On-Course.
What do you dislike?
Some of the simplest things are buried in a menu. To turn on grades for students to see is hidden under a couple of menus. The grade book is not quick to set up this is much easier than in other classroom solutions. Though once it is set for a class its easy to import it each year. One of the biggest weaknesses is the Attendance module. Its hard to understand and takes way too long to set up. I still can't use it after using Moodle for several years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is classroom software for higher education. It allow me to track grades, give assignments and post files for students to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure you have a good IT department for training less tech savvy professors.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Better than some alternatives

  • April 27, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
System is very interactive, and easy for our students to use. Program gives instructors a lot of flexibility in course design on the site, and allows students to use interactive features to complete assignments.
What do you dislike?
Too much flexibility and too complicated to set up. Most instructors do not use moodle to its full extent due to the time it takes to setup a course. Instructors who utilize the system to its full extent report spending more than 10 hours per class completing setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows students to turn-in school work digitally. Saves time of processing paper copies, in addition, instructors can have resources posted that are directly related to the assignment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great system compared to alternatives. However, it is not without its fault and bugs. This could possibly be due to our own system administration, but it can still be a very intensive system to set up.


    Carly M.

A Classroom Tool with Its Own Quirks

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it creates a platform for learning outside of the Google Suite, as well as the functionality to use and share multiple types of media within an online class/forum. Users are able to add word documents, PDFs, and other types of files to posts with ease.
What do you dislike?
The site itself resets after a while, and working on longer classroom assignments requires a watchful eye on the time. Too long on work and your work will NOT be saved. It is heartbreaking to say the least. As a student, I would be much happier using this program if I knew that my work would save automatically, avoiding any disappointment with future users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Individuals not a part of a Google account can participate just as fully with this application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure that other users are aware of the limitations to auto-saving capabilities.


    Ben W.

Using Moodle to connect with students

  • February 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sending documents and connecting students to digital work.
What do you dislike?
Clunky app, and sometimes difficult to navigate interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We solved communication issues between students and faculty.