Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

DreamFactory packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 4.11.1-4-r01 on Debian 11

Linux/Unix, Debian 11 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Building Materials

Build a REST API on any database with no coding!

  • June 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The full documentation and testing features of the API Docs section of the software. It allows even a novice user to spin up Postman and start experimenting. It is truly one of the best features of the package.
What do you dislike?
Current pricing is a bit high for the enterprise level connections. Going from open-source and free to use to tens of thousands of dollars is a big wall to climb.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A problem we've overcome is the ability to make legacy and third party data available to our web development team form our internal ERP system. The benefits are being realized nearly every day that we discover something new. For instance, we have now realized that we can pipe in other REST services or even SOAP services and output them in a consistent and normalized way using DreamFactory's services modules. Want to serve up MS-SQL to a custom React project? Knock yourself out. Thinking of doing iOS development on top of an Oracle DB or SAP? Do it. The sky is the limit.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you really need an API that's robust and very detailed to access your hard to obtain or virtually inaccessible data, DreamFactory will probably ease your pain considerably. Oracle, SAP, SQL Server, SQL, MySQL, and many more become REST API's with a snap. Once installed, there is very little configuration and then you have users, permissions, roles, and the ability to write custom scripts in your preferred language that do even more. I can't describe in just a few words how powerful this software is.


    Doug B.

Simple API solution for tough DB access problem

  • June 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity - DreamFactory's easy API solution to put on our db's makes life really easy. Gets us our data quickly and easily.
What do you dislike?
Honestly, there's not a lot I don't like. Things can always be a bit easier, a bit simpler, etc., but overall they do a great job.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Accessing our data in multiple random databases.


    Steve W.

Easy and effective. Database integration in lightning speed

  • June 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
APIs are built for you - and not just any APIs. Fully documented, fully secured (OAuth, LDAP, Active Directory, SAML Integration...) and accessible through a 3rd party client.
Very easy to import Active Directory. Very easy to create roles with appropriate limits.
Logging functionality great as well.
What do you dislike?
UI isn't very pretty, but its an 11/10 on functionality, & productivity.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For us it was a question of what was the best way to build our new apps. Our APIs would honestly have taken 6-8 (expensive) developers a few months to build or was going to take me and my organic team longer - but we would have to stop everything to do it. I have built APIs in the past and it is messy and never finished on time - so DreamFactory's solution of instantly creating and deploying the APIs for a fraction of the cost of that development team, and a fraction of the cost of what we would be giving up to do organic development, was a no-brainer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Think of the true cost of DIY APIs & the cost of other API Management tools. For us, DreamFactory cost in a year what an API team would have in a month, and what slower API Managers would cost in 2 months.


    Mark A.

Will actually never need to build an API again

  • June 22, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fastest and easiest API Management tool my department has ever used. We used DreamFactory to build the REST APIs we needed for a series of projects and were able to save tens of thousands on the developer hours it would have taken otherwise.
The UI is also very easy and made our particular use case involving turning SOAP services to REST a dream. Once we configured server side scripting it our SOAP to REST translation automatically for us. Support has been fantastic! Erik, one of the engineers there, has been notably excellent.
What do you dislike?
I dislike that we didn't find DreamFactory earlier!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As above really - but we have delivered our SOAP to REST project to onboard a large customer over 2 months early and integrated our new database, MemSQL, weeks ahead of schedule. We have also I would say started to achieve real productivity gains through having all our data within reach through a single interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Open Source is free and functions just like commercial versions. Try it out!


    Nikhil G.

DreamFactory

  • September 22, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The kind of ease with which it provides API automation capabilities is superb! It makes almost all the automation task free from much required very difficult and complex development activities.
What do you dislike?
There was once some issue while integrating data from mobile applications. However, it was resolved later and from then has been working fine. It might be some interface issues in the beginning.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our company is a growing at a much faster pace and we aim to occupy the top spot in the logistics industry in the country. To achieve this, we rely heavily on data and leverage automation as much as possible especially while dealing with the regulatory issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A must try for any organization which is trying to ease its automation. In today's scenario anyways if you want to beat competition and stay ahead you need to leverage data and make your systems as efficient as possible. Dreamfactory makes that work a lot easier so that the company can focus on more strategic issues and helps the organization to grow much faster!


    Astha S.

DreamFactory : APIs made Awesome

  • September 08, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A smart and easy way to create APIs. No need to code and develop from scratch. Makes a lot of work a lot easier. The tool helps save a lot of time and energy.
What do you dislike?
Data integration is a little tricky process. And once there was also a complaint regarding security breach. It would be great if dashboard has more options.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are a logistics company who leverages technology to stay ahead of the competition. We used to develop applications from scratch and it used to take a lot of time. But after using DreamFactory the work became extremely simple and APIs could be developed in just almost no time. It helped us move ahead especially with online forms filing work and saved a lot of fines for the organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend using DreamFactory to develop APIs in an extremely simple manner and gain advantages from that. Its one of the most reliable tools to do the same. A must software to help your technology team succeed at a faster rate and get ahead of competition.


    Nagarjuna Y.

Dream Factory REST API in Seconds ? Yeah that's True !!

  • January 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is an awesome

1. Live documentation of REST API's is a pain for developers DreamFactory solved this using Swagger-UI this is most interesting and lovable thing done by DreamFactory. (Note;This type of feature is also available with Strongloops' Loopback.io)
2. Security is the main concern for anyone whoever you name it from a serious developer to Enterprises DreamFactory handles it in a very decent way.
3. Compare to DreamFactory - 1.0 user interface got improved in DreamFactory-2.0 (Yes this means a lot for me !!) which reduced a lot of mismanagement while working with admin related stuff.
4. Ready made installers for every cloud provider and for local development this made my life easier.
5. Node.js(javascript) and PHP support for Server-side scripting simplifies the amount of work I have to do.I don't have to hire a separate person to use DreamFactory. In every companies In-house teams will have an Idea on these languages a proper understanding of documentation is enough to handle day to day tasks.
What do you dislike?
Technical Support team irritated us a lot though we have contacted DreamFactory only once that was a bad experience.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we have used DreamFactory for 2-3 web and mobile applications it not only reduces amount of work done for setup,installation but improved our team productivity.

For Web & Mobile Backend as a Middleware
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend DreamFactory for small seized teams in IoT,& Sector as it reduces the amount of time spend on managing,creating and bug fixing while working with custom build REST API's


    Logistics and Supply Chain

quick deployment

  • September 18, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
quick deployment once components are determined
What do you dislike?
some configuration still need to be done manually
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
quick deployment for big projects. it made release management simple.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes


    Marouane T.

great product

  • August 03, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
dreamFactory is a great product with awesome features to build an enterprise grade API, it's let you focus on your application developpement
What do you dislike?
dreamFactory takes out control of your API and data source and file storage if there a security problem with the system it's your entire data is in danger. but there is no problem so far.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
building an API is always difficult to implement, with all endpoint to write and secure, dreamFactory do that for us this help us to build your application quickly


    Dat Le

Awesome product. Very easy to use.

  • June 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

30 mins following DreamFactory guide and we're all set with a brand new API service.
Thanks so much for the great product.