CentOS 6 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 6 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server... See more

Customer Reviews

33
Create Your Own Review

Good, except for the small partition

  • By Matt B
  • on 03/16/2017

FIXED: So I talked with AWS services yesterday. They helped figure things out. The old images used non partition drives, which allowed the resize2fs. I found this http://blog.backslasher.net/growroot-centos.html which allows you to create a new AMI, isn't great having to maintain another thing, but it works. You can save that AMI off after running those commands on that link and that allows you to then resize the drives easily.


yeah, 8GB Root partition is definition of pain

  • By TechGuyInLA
  • on 08/24/2016

Seriously, this is going to cause us a lot of extra grief to get around this shortsightedness. pain pain pain pain fix it please pain pain pain


It is possible to resize the root drive, but not kosher

  • By MikeBox
  • on 08/05/2016

See the earlier posted comment; read closely the steps described here: https://forums.aws.amazon.com/message.jspa?messageID=547507#547507 Essentially, you need to be careful to note the starting sector (probably 2048) and live-format (no data destroyed) on the disk partition and then reboot. I was also stuck on the 8gb problem as others posted, and got around it with this method.


Works Perfectly1

  • By Ronix
  • on 07/05/2016

To you goofballs who are complaining about the root partition size: "You can create it with a 100G partition if you want, but 1-click launch won't work. You may actually have to click 2-3 times! Click manual launch and then add storage and then click launch - it may take you a whole 5 seconds longer."


root volume 8GB is dim witted

  • By Josh Parsons
  • on 06/21/2016

useless. i'd give it no stars if I could. 20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words20 words


8GB root is ridiculous

  • By dminus
  • on 06/14/2016

Please fix this absurd and short-sighted aspect of this image. Root partition should be the size of the root volume, full stop.


no access to the root

  • By Axel Piérola
  • on 04/15/2016

Root access is not active, someone has been able to enter?
Access gives you is for the user "centos" then with the command "su" to "root" for a password.
The documentation says "This image is built to allow remote ssh login only as 'root' user With the key specified at launch time instance" but at no time asked me a key.
Someone could solve this?
Thank you


Always the one I use, but why no t2.nano support?

  • By Brian C
  • on 02/19/2016

I actively use this build for my own needs as well as those of my clients. The 8GB partition is not a problem since in most cases that is plenty for a web/app server. In the few cases where more space is needed its trivial to add an EBS volume for that. I've never had a problem logging in as the instructions explain.

My only complaint at this point is why can I not build a t2.nano instance? If I select the CentOS 7 AMI from the same it is available. CentOS 7 being based on SystemD isn't even an option. I guess the time has come to start standardizing on FreeBSD instead.


ssh using private key still prompts for password

  • By SeboLabs
  • on 01/21/2016

Recently I've been using ami-bc8131d4 for lab purposes.
After I've built a custom image with Packer using above ami as a source and then created an instance using Terraform I couldn't connect as root with associated key pair. I've been asked for password.
I got it working by injecting 'PasswordAuthentication no' to sshd_config and public key to authorized_keys while building my image.
Anybody had an issue like that and knows the reason of this behaviour?


Clean and with cloud-init support

  • By Florent Dutheil
  • on 11/05/2015

I was struggling getting a shell script in EC2 user-data to work, when I realized I was using deprecated official CentOS AMIs that was lacking cloud-init support. I upgraded to this one (thanks to the official documentation: https://wiki.centos.org/Cloud/AWS) and I'm happy to see it is already included.
So, OK, maybe root ssh login is disabled, but nothing prevents you from getting it back using a small user-data script:
#!/bin/bash
sed -i -e 's/^.*\(ssh.*$\)/\1/' /root/.ssh/authorized_keys