Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

This is the Official CentOS 7 x86_64 HVM image that has been built with a minimal profile, suitable for use in HVM instance types only. The image contains just enough packages to run within AWS, bring up an SSH Server and allow users to login. Please note that this is the default CentOS-7 image that... See more

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

61
Create Your Own Review

4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Viktor U.

"DeleteOnTermination": false for root volume.

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,

could you kindly explain why you enable "DeleteOnTermination": false by-defeault for you amis? Why you thinks that this is a good idia?

TIA.


    Irving

Improving!

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Glad to see the CentOS team publishing images more frequently as well as adopting better practices for cloud images!

One annoyance still remains that prevents me from recommending these images: the fact that the root EBS volume is not set to "delete on terminate" which is pretty standard for all other AMIs. Without this, my users leave tons of unused EBS volumes laying around which drives up my AWS bill


    rio197

Very useful

  • January 24, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Good OS overall. Specifically for this product, clicking on the Wiki URL gave me a "page not found" message. But I'm not a first-time CentOS user, so it didn't bother me.


    Searvo

Create a swap file!

  • May 13, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Please be aware this instance is pretty much useless with less than 1GB of ram unless you create a swap file. This process is really simple and all you need is a 2GB swap partition to get anything done. Currently running nano for all my purposes.


    bdavis

Only issue is kdump won't start on instances with < 2GB ram

  • April 20, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Only issue is kdump won't start on instances with < 2GB ram, tracked this down to the crashkernel=auto setting. Changing to pre-determined value seemed to allow kdump to start successfully.


    ivy.fan

Well version

  • November 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

trying for the poc enivorment and it is a better version for me.
but i am not sure some billing question will could release on the product pages.


    Phil Porada

Can't really ask for more

  • August 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS 7 provides you with DJB's curve25519 support, a newer Apache, systemd unit files instead of the init collection of shell scripts, and a further out EOL. Don't get me wrong, init shell scripts definitely require skill to write and upgrade, but sometimes you want a little more simplicity.


    Nir Biran (ec2Automation) QA

CentOS 7 (x86_64) with Updates HVM review

  • June 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Most of the experience was pretty straight forward. I did however have an issue with 'yum update' rendering my instance unreachable after reboot. I had to use 'yum -y --exclude=kernel\* update' to avoid it.

Adam


    GoodMirek

Good stable system working out of the box

  • April 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is Centos. It works and it is free. Repos are continuously updated by one of the biggest Linux communities. Memory footprint of a bare new machine created from this Centos7 64bit image is more than two times bigger compared to a bare new machine created from Amazon Linux 64bit image. It is 180MB versus 80MB.


    Daniel

Notification

  • April 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

You cannot install cPanel & WHM on a CentOS 7 server.( up to date)
( In general very smooth basic centos installation )