Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

64 AWS reviews

External reviews

197 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Computer Software

High Speed database server similar to RH Linux

  • June 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS can be used to interconnect different webservers. This is quiet a stable and a robust operating system.
What do you dislike?
Updates to the server are time consuming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is useful as a Webserver and a Database server.It helps for application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly secure and user friendly OS. Please go for it.


    Vishal Kumar B.

wealth of documentation

  • November 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CSF firewall and brute force protection. easily available documentation, SELinux is used for security, to keep our application up to date yum helps us.
What do you dislike?
Errata production starts when an official RHEL errata release is available so it becomes sometimes difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
to manage servers( DNS, backup, network...)


    Ravindra D.

CentOS Info

  • October 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free to use, easy to use, security, cli.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much to deslike for daily users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Working on setting up the server environment. It free for everyone. Provide CLI interface, everyone with basic knowledge can work on it, we are learning lot by using this os and it CLI tricks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes we will definitely recommend to others to use it.


    Information Technology and Services

Stable and long support cycle

  • August 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a very stable and reliable distro. The support cycle is 10 years, meaning you will get updates throughout.
What do you dislike?
Because of its long support cycle, it is behind on the newer releases of software. This generally isn't an issue for web servers or other software that doesn't require the latest versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a stable environment for our web environment for development and live sites.


    Muhammad Arsalan N.

CentOS Review

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable and reliable.
Long release and support cycle.
Free and Open Source.
Huge community support always willing to help.
Easy to install 3rd party softwares.
What do you dislike?
Desktop platform is average, best suited for server side deployment.
Nothing else really ......
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

We have around 100+ servers running on CentOS. From Web server to DB Server, monitoring tools like Zabbix and configuration management services like Ansible everything is on CentOs hosts. CentOs is a very reliable OS for our requirements and with no financial impact as its free. Open community is great and I always found a solution when ever I found myself in some dier situation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a goto server platform with great community support.


    Computer & Network Security

Probably the best open source OS

  • April 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The level of customization you can do to achieve what do you want your OS to behave like.
What do you dislike?
Not much really. Maybe an ability to easily configure to support few .net applications.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were trying to move from enterprise Redhat servers to centos serveres
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just try it once.


    Information Technology and Services

Flexible and just works

  • March 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-Wide variety of images that enable our software to run on a variety of vendors.
-Very consistent and manageable
-Predictable base to build our apps on
What do you dislike?
Changed from Redhat to Centos. No complaints
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Platform that our software is distributed on


    Viktor U.

"DeleteOnTermination": false for root volume.

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,

could you kindly explain why you enable "DeleteOnTermination": false by-defeault for you amis? Why you thinks that this is a good idia?

TIA.

3 people found this helpful

    Rudolf M.

great stability

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and proper documentation......
What do you dislike?
Sometimes updates destroy functional configuration
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SNMP monitoring


    Eric H.

CentOS - Great for Red Hat sans Support

  • February 07, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is easy to setup and get running within 15 minutes.
With minimal searching in Google... you can get help with the setup / troubleshooting of a multitude of uses.

We use CentOS for our development environments, load balancers and DB servers. Both for physical servers as well as virtual ones. Performance is great given the price (free). Never had a full on crash either... even after weeks, months and in rare cases years between reboots.
What do you dislike?
CentOS can fall behind slightly when it comes to patching of bugs. For critical systems this can be a concern. But you probably would go with the supported RHEL version if your environment requires security patching to be high priority.

CentOS is great for customization (especially if you use the command line as opposed to the GUI). However, when installing new software it can be daunting to ensure everything goes where you want it to. Settings, Log Files and core components can get spread around all over the place if you're not careful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using CentOS for software development, database management and load balancing. Considering the price (free)... it's great not to have to worry about costs when spinning up new servers. Makes our environment immensely flexible as long as we have the VM space.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It free so if you're a Linux expert or someone just starting out... it's worth giving it a look. Almost anything written for RHEL will work in CentOS as well.