Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

67 AWS reviews

External reviews

229 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wei M.

Perfect for enterprise

  • April 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of our servers (which serves billions of requests per day) use CentOS, and it works quite stable. After a major release software packages are not usually being upgraded to latest upstream version (which might break something), but only focus on bug fixes and security fixes.

Fits very well in enterprises which has high demand of stability and security.
What do you dislike?
While focus on stability, new features of upstream packages are usually not being introduced after a major release. Also, some software such as ROS (http://ros.org/) only supports Ubuntu natively, on CentOS it requires some work to build from source. CentOS is also not suitable for personal desktop computers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basic Operating System for online services which has billion requests per day.
Benefits: most of our services runs quite stable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is THE choice for Enterprise environment with focus on security and stability.


    wendy H.

A Linux OS with almost everything you want.

  • March 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS has everything I wanted in a Linux operation system. It is easy to install and solid.
It has a large community, and you can find many helps.
What do you dislike?
Some new softwares landed on Ubuntu before CentOS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use centOS on servers which hold programming competitions in my school. We use it to host PC^2 server and host python applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a good choice for server. It has many great softwares. You can find many help about OS and problems on the Internet.


    Jeff P.

Incorrect Marketplace restrictions in place

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We started experimenting with CentOS7 Marketplace images, but had a node fail. The Marketplace images have a marketplace restriction which prevents an EBS volume from being mounted onto another node for examination or recovery of data off the root partition:

Error attaching volume: Cannot attach volume 'vol-xxx' with Marketplace codes as the instance 'i-xxx' is not in the 'stopped' state.

This error message, from the Amazon reps on the Amazon Support Forums, indicate that the volume has a restriction against being mounted as a secondary volume.


    Hospital & Health Care

As Good As Redhat and Free. Fit for our small team in a nonprofit organization.

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our small team selects CentOS simply because that it is very similar to Redhat and it's free. We are in a nonprofit organization, so it's very important for us to reduce the cost while providing with almost same service. CentOS is a perfect option.
At the same time, all the team members are happy to invest time on the most popular platform(such as CentOS) instead of other Linux distribution(such as openSUSE), since we don't want to waste any minute on the less-famous platform and their tools.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally, we will find some open source projects which supports Ubuntu primarily and leaves CentOS in the non-fully-supported list. For example, Wine project(www.winehq.org) supports Ubuntu best. In this case, it will be a little bit inconvenient. It needs your a little bit more time to fix the problems. So, usually, as a backup of CentOS, we also invest time on Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our small team uses VirtualBox+CentOS+Our homemade software tools to provide service with the users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very fit for nonprofit organization and the team taking full responsibility of it instead of needing Redhat being responsible for problems.


    W. Flame

This is NOT VERSION 7 it is version 6.4!!!

  • February 02, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Provisioned this AMIS which is advertised as being version 7.
After provisioning, it turns out it is version 6.4.

Provisioned a second one to make sure I didn't make a mistake.

See below:

>cat centos-release
CentOS release 6.4 (Final)


    Antonino Francesco M.

A solid choice for every server

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is one of the top server enterprise Linux distributions. It has an amazing long and support lifespan, and great compatibility and support.
CentOS has a very long development cycle, witch means that it has a very well-tested and proven code.
Community is very large too, making the search for a solution very quick and easy.
What do you dislike?
The worst thing in CentOS is the need to add EPEL package repository to install some useful software that's not part of the CentOS universe.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our team uses CentOS+Jira+Bitbucket+Jenkins in order to organize our repository and to continuous delivery our web sites in production server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a server, the choice is CentOS.


    Accounting

Effective product

  • January 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to use yet highly affective Linux based program
What do you dislike?
Unless you know Linux it is hard to use, has custom queries for CentOS only
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS runs on a few of my servers to host applications. It is highly stable and very rarely requires updatea
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly stable product, front runner for Linux based systems


    Amazon Customer

cfn-init is not working!

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I installed this Centos 7 AMI and the cfn-init script is failing.

Here is the errors from /var/log/cloud-init.log

+ /opt/aws/bin/cfn-init -v --stack q1 --resource WebServerInstanceA --configsets All --region us-west-2

/var/lib/cloud/instance/scripts/part-001: line 4: /opt/aws/bin/cfn-init: No such file or directory

When I check the /opt and find the cfg-init file, none was found. When doing ls on the /opt directory, no directory or files?

[root@ip-10-8-8-32 opt]# pwd
/opt
[root@ip-10-8-8-32 opt]# ls -al
total 4
drwxr-xr-x. 2 root root 6 Jun 10 2014 .
dr-xr-xr-x. 17 root root 4096 Oct 7 12:19 ..


Is this a bug? my AMI use is ami-d440a6e7


    Timothy S.

Centos for servers

  • January 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Centos has all the Linux features I need and all the enterprise features I needed from RHEL without the price. it runs Java, cloudfoundry, gemfire, spring, spring xd, open stack and all the tools and development tools as well as servers you need. Centos is fast, lean and a great general OS.
What do you dislike?
You either like RPMS and yum. It works if there's an RPM or it's in a YUM repo. If it isn't compiling stuff from scratch is often a pain and getting all the correct versions of build tools and libraries can be difficult. Sometimes I think Ubuntu is a little easier to work with and has some upgrades for containers not yet in centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running virtual machines at a cheaper way. This worked and worked well. It's not the newest version of linux, but it is really solid and you'll never see it crash.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Download it and try it.


    Andrew P.

Great FREE enterprise Linux distribution for long term stability

  • January 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is one of the top enterprise Linux distributions for good reason. It's derived from RHEL, has an amazing long and support lifespan, and great compatibility and support from both hardware and software providers, but also an amazing user community.
What do you dislike?
The development tool chain often lags behind, although this has been better in the most recent releases. The Kernel version is also not cutting edge, but this is a distro which favors stability above all. Finally many packages will needed to be sourced from third party repositories, but the good news is these are plentiful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS is a great option for almost all Linux based projects. In particular it is an ideal base for anything system with an expected deployment time of more than a few months given it's extremely long maintenance and support time frames. This makes it particularly ideal for bare metal installations where OS upgrades are undesirable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With CentOS's new integration/partnership with RedHat, it would appear that's it's long term viability is on a good foundation.