Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

67 AWS reviews

External reviews

237 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    D. Marshall L.

CentOS: The Rock-Solid Choice For Any Server Role In Any Enviornment

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is incredibly mature, thanks to its affiliation with Red Hat, and as such, I believe it is the most stable operating system for workloads that do not require "bleeding edge" software and packages. CentOS has a very long development cycle with new major versions coming less than twice a decade, and this leads to very well-tested and proven code that ensures your workload will have minimal downtime and maximum compatibility.
What do you dislike?
As mentioned above, slow development cycles can sometimes mean missing out on brand-new features in the Linux kernel or in new releases of new software, but this is both a benefit as it is a determinant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS (and indirectly through the Amazon Web Services Linux AMI, which is based on RHEL, which is based on CentOS) is the only operating system my company employs for both internal and customer projects. The level of maturity and the stability of CentOS are primary reasons we use this operating system over the other major players (Ubuntu and Debian).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering CentOS, you are probably also considering Ubuntu, Debian, Fedora, etc. CentOS is the open source version of Red Hat Enterprise Linux, and this corporate presence in the development cycles should show you the level of security and stability that CentOS brings to the table. It's a Linux distribution that can handle any workload in any environment with maximum uptime and minimum surprises down the road.


    Media Production

OS with great stability and security, an enterprise level linux distro

  • December 17, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What really makes difference about this distro is the packages support. You don't need to search another source for the basics that your business need. It's very up to date, secure and stable. Community is very large too, with a lot of resource available on the internet. It's compatible with RedHat, wich makes a big difference when compared to others linux distros.
What do you dislike?
For real, it's extreme hard to tell what I dislike in this distro. But, the "painful" point is to have to add EPEL package repository to install some great packages, that's not part of the CentOS core.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is the main linux server that I use, hosting web application in JAVA, Ruby on Rails and static websites. I use it too for databases installations. For development and containers, this is the default choice.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a server, the best choice is CentOS. Does not make difference the purpose, because it has been pretty valuable for many situations. This is the prove that great softwares can be done with Open Source world. You always find good documentation about the OS and real cases.


    Computer Networking

CentOS - Open Source Enterprise Operating System

  • December 07, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Following are which I like the best:
1) Enterprise level
2) Open Source
3) Greater package management system
4) Latest Security patches
What do you dislike?
Not that I have seen anything much severe, but if there could be any server management standalone utilities proprietary to CentOS to manage the system would be better. Without custom management scripts, it will be very difficult to manage individual or group of hosts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For any type of usage like web/enterprise/cloud/hosting etc., CentOS delivers perfectly. Personally used it to host my website for Oracle Apps knowledge training and maintaining customer Oracle EBS instances. Even a desktop version have greater benefits in comparison to any other secured operating system providing performance benefits of enterprise level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If a small or medium scale business who wouldn't like to invest much on hosting the solution, then CentOS meets all the needs. Even for an enterprise level, will choose support to be on a safe side. For the most security patches are up to date.


    George V.

Great for hosting business use

  • December 02, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is backed up by a professional ream at RedHat and it has a high lifespan.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the fact that it is not possible to upgrade between major versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used to have RHEL for our infrastructure. By using CentOS we managed to keep the same quality and cut down our maintenance costs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is based on RHEL, a well-known commercial OS. It has the advantages of finding very easily answers on issues on community forums. We should point out that it is not easy to upgrade to a newer major version, however it's life cycle is very satisfactory. It is worth giving it a try!


    ivy.fan

Well version

  • November 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

trying for the poc enivorment and it is a better version for me.
but i am not sure some billing question will could release on the product pages.


    DELIVER Plus

Works great after a little setup

  • October 22, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We were looking for a bare bones install to play with CentOS 7 before deploying in a production environment and this image is perfect for that.

The AWS instructions say to connect as root but the image forced us to connect as centos. Once we were in, we were able to use sudo to set a strong password for the root user and su to root. We realize that logging in as root in a production environment is a bad thing but for testing we expect full root access. Glad this image gave us that ability...hope it doesn't get taken away.


    Thomas Jones

At least It's better than their CentOS 6 AMIs...

  • October 21, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

To be honest, the AMIs from CentOS.Org are generally disappointing. While they're great starting points for creating more useful AMIs, they're not otherwise well-suited for generic use.

While it's nice that they're finally releasing AMIs with cloud-init, it's a bit disappointing that the AWS cli tools aren't included. It's really not that hard to export the SRPMs from an Amazon Linux instance and build them for other instance types. So, really not sure why CentOS doesn't include them. It's literally five minutes worth of work (if'you've scripted the process out). That they don't even include the awscli package from either pypi or from S3 is even more disappointing - as there's next to zero work to install that package.

Why is this a gripe-point for me? No AWS CLI tools greatly limits what you can do with your AMI: there's little point attaching an instance role if you've got no tools to make use of that role; if you want to make use of the HVM optimized drivers, no AWS RPMs means you're kinda boned, too.


    obamacs

nice tool

  • October 08, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am new user,I am studying how tio use this ,what i can say is that the service of AWS is excellent

Obama cs


    The MistConjurer

Flawless Performace

  • September 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

CentOS 7 flows like a calm, gentle and crystal-clear stream on a star-filled cloudless night.

Keep in mind though that SELinux is enabled by default. Depending on your need, you may need to either disable it or set it to permissive.

However, this is NOT recommended. Learn how to use SELinux properly with its Mandatory Access Control; it is a life-saver.

Three hearty cheers to the CentOS (upstream and downstream) and AWS team.

Hip, Hooray! Hip, Hooray!! Hip, Hooray!!!


    Vasili Syrakis

Can't launch via API

  • September 03, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I would rate 5 stars if it could be used to launch EC2 instances via the API... Apparently I need to accept terms and subscribe (which I've already done).