Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 7 (x86_64) - with Updates HVM

Centos.org | 2002_01

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

62 AWS reviews

External reviews

193 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Retail

Powerful for personal use, even better for business

  • February 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lots of holdover power from RHEL, with none of the cost and even better community-driven support. Enterprise-ready with lots of features and guides.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes difficult to administer for GUI-minded people
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CentOS powers thousands of our servers with purposes ranging from HTTP servers to PXE endpoints to CDN.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make the switch. It will save you money both in your support contract, as well as the implementation costs. You will almost always be able to find a community forum or technical expert to assist with any problems you encounter, and at a fraction of the cost compared to the RHEL and Canonical contracts.


    Alex E.

CentOS is an optimal server OS

  • February 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It supports all new developments, repositories is up to date all the time!
What do you dislike?
Commonly I have no anything to say about what I dislike in it. CentOS is simply good ^)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web-server, sharing files, inner hosting


    Tiffany C.

CentOS is alot less painful than Ubuntu

  • February 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
While they both (Ubuntu and CentOS) function on the same platform, I just feel like CentOS is 3x easier to use then ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Having a really hard time getting my VM network settings to work properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Trying to do away with Ubuntu because of the security issues that where found. While CentOS has some of the same issues, it seems that solution for CentOS are easier to find


    Caspar F.

Good serverside OS, not as good as Ubuntu for desktop

  • February 22, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is a great serverside OS and is what we use for almost all our hosted services.
What do you dislike?
Not so good as a desktop OS, lacks the wide range of available software that Ubuntu has
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting services


    Viktor U.

"DeleteOnTermination": false for root volume.

  • February 18, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hello,

could you kindly explain why you enable "DeleteOnTermination": false by-defeault for you amis? Why you thinks that this is a good idia?

TIA.

3 people found this helpful

    BESI S.

Centos stable version for deploy

  • February 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
is a good operating system to create servers due to its stability and security and budget-friendliness, since it is a free distribution
What do you dislike?
does not have options for full access for admin users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The centos operating system is used mainly for our Asterisk PBX solutions for my comapny on vps server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Server updates can take a while. The time for this can be reduced.


    Kiran R.

A super-reliable free Linux server distribution

  • February 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Most reliable compared to any other Linux distributions that I have used by far
- Updates are extremely consistent and stable -- The only distribution comparable to this is its enterprise edition (RedHat Enterprise Linux)
- Conservative support for stable releases - typically longer release cycles
- The system literally has never given me problems
- Extremely light-weight installer ISO
- Extra Packages for Enterprise Linux (EPEL) - This repository has almost every necessary (up-to-date) software package
- The support community is relatively large
- Web hosting ability
What do you dislike?
- Documentation is not comprehensive
- Support for cloud and containers are not par with ubuntu
- Not all troubleshooting solutions are available for free. Many valuable solutions are restricted to RedHat community subscription
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Research
- Simulations
- Education
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For a server installation, CentOS is hands-down the best.
For desktop, Ubuntu is better


    Rudolf M.

great stability

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and proper documentation......
What do you dislike?
Sometimes updates destroy functional configuration
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
SNMP monitoring


    Information Technology and Services

CentOS is the freeware for RedHat

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is stable, a much better evolution from Debian. It is freeware and is supported on all clouds including AWS and Google Cloud.
It has a good user interface and good set of graphics libraries.
Good support community, matching SUSE, good encryption support. Will need to migrate to RedHat Enterprise for graphics, 3D and media support.
What do you dislike?
Still multi-user and rooted, in this era of multiple computers per person, not particularly suitable for personal computing, where a spectrum of new operating systems are coming soon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using CentOS for medical records on AWS and CDSS integration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is a stable system, I have used RedHat for two decades now and CentOS is the free version of RedHat and is available on AWS and Google Clouds. If you are unhappy with XWindows , you could migrate to a mac cloud or Azure, but CentOS promises high performance at no cost. Good value for freeware.


    Eric H.

CentOS - Great for Red Hat sans Support

  • February 07, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is easy to setup and get running within 15 minutes.
With minimal searching in Google... you can get help with the setup / troubleshooting of a multitude of uses.

We use CentOS for our development environments, load balancers and DB servers. Both for physical servers as well as virtual ones. Performance is great given the price (free). Never had a full on crash either... even after weeks, months and in rare cases years between reboots.
What do you dislike?
CentOS can fall behind slightly when it comes to patching of bugs. For critical systems this can be a concern. But you probably would go with the supported RHEL version if your environment requires security patching to be high priority.

CentOS is great for customization (especially if you use the command line as opposed to the GUI). However, when installing new software it can be daunting to ensure everything goes where you want it to. Settings, Log Files and core components can get spread around all over the place if you're not careful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using CentOS for software development, database management and load balancing. Considering the price (free)... it's great not to have to worry about costs when spinning up new servers. Makes our environment immensely flexible as long as we have the VM space.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It free so if you're a Linux expert or someone just starting out... it's worth giving it a look. Almost anything written for RHEL will work in CentOS as well.