Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VM-Series Next-Generation Firewall (BYOL and ELA)

Palo Alto Networks | PAN-OS 9.1.10

Linux/Unix, Other PAN-OS 9.1.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

26 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Angelo N.

World's best firewall

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a comprehensive security solution.
What do you dislike?
It is bit expensive compared to other vendors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Palo Alto NGFW can confidently defend your organization from all the threats with built in IPS that receive updates dynamically. Even with Palo Alto wildfire you can be confident against zero day attacks which is amazing. With URL filtering you can allow users to securely browse internet without being compromised. Not only that with features like Globalprotect you can securely allow your remote users to access your network. Palo Alto NGFW is a complete solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Palo Alto NGFW is the best firewalling solution in the industry. Palo Alto NGFW has been the Gartner leader for a about decade now. Adopting Palo Alto NGFW you can confidently defend your organization from all the threats with built in IPS that receive updates dynamically. Even with Palo Alto wildfire you can be confident against zero day attacks which is amazing.   With URL filtering you can allow users to securely browse internet without being compromised. Not only that with features like Globalprotect you can securely allow your remote users to access your network. It is amazing how the Palo Alto network has develop APP ID engines to detect applications that are traversing your network for enhanced security. Palo Alto NGFW is a complete solution.


    Financial Services

The best of breed for your next generation firewall

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto provides a complete and comprehensive solution to secure your in office, in datacenter, and in cloud presence. The security modules alone set this solution so far apart from all of the others. The visibility into the traffic, the integration of rules, and the power behind the physical and virtual appliances are beyond expectations.
What do you dislike?
You get what you pay for. Palo Alto pricing is not for the feint at heart; it is expensive. The UI is powerful, and in some ways that is a draw back because you need to have expertise with it in order to be effective at standing it up. If you are doing a conversion, definitely utilize a VAR's resources to implement a new build out or you will fail.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The appliances we replaced were straight up firewalls. Typical rule creation, exception handling, etc. The Palo Alto does so much more than that. The threat modules are dynamic, the intelligence on the appliances is amazing, and using Panaroma as a central management console hooks them all together to simplify management.
We realized very quickly what really is happening on our network with the instant visibility, and we were able to take instant action. The visibility on the network and the ability to act automatically to mitigate threats is so powerful.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you completely understand your requirements. Document them. Do your homework. Palo Alto can do so much. Don't go into it thinking you will turn everything on and it will all go wonderfully. The Palo Alto is a powerful device that can, if not configured correctly, take down your entire network.


    Rohan G.

Network & Cybersecurity Design Architect

  • June 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy how easy it is to use and manage the PA Series firewall. The GUI is very straightforward and in terms that just makes sense without hiding behind technical jargon. I didn't have a lot of experience working with firewalls before Palo Alto but their UI is so user-friendly it makes me feel as if I am a pro.
What do you dislike?
We never had a bad experience in the 2 years I have used their products. Tech support has always been great and quickly resolves my tickets and my sales team is always reaching out to see how things are going and if there is anything they can do to help out.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have many sites across many countries and Palo Alto helps to keep standards in place for firewall security, VPN access, and network routing technologies we needed additional capacity due to COVID working from home and Palo Alto has helped with this in multiple gateway design.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get a demo unit and set up a SPAN port so you can see how the firewall works. I tested one for 30 days before purchasing and the presales team was there to help every step of the way.


    parth d.

Paloalto firewall review

  • May 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Threat prevention policy, vulnerabilities protection, anti-virus, wildfire all these features under one firewall. It's perfect product to be considered as a next-generation firewall.
What do you dislike?
There is no dislike as the throughput of the device is very good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits is , we don't need to purchase a extra blades as it does have all features.


    nagendra k.

Palo Alto Networks Next-Generation Firewall

  • May 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease to use, managed by Panorama, multi-features.
What do you dislike?
Palo Alto is expensive (both hardware and support).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Users can upgrade the software easily via GUI, monitor threats, web traffic, etc.


    Computer & Network Security

This is one package that can help organization to secure most of network & system infrastructure.

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is one package, you don't have to worry about separate hardware for IPS/IDS, it comes with most the required capabilities such as Antivirus, Antispyware, Antimalware profiles etc. As well App ID, User ID features works on their best, Firewall decryption capability is also awesome. Add on to these things Palo Alto sends the dynamic updates on regular basis. High availability feature works seamlessly in hardware platform.
What do you dislike?
I have experienced the issue with High Availability of Palo Alto Firewall in Public Cloud platform, where High Availability doesn't seems to work, you have to use the standalone Palo Alto Firewall.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securing the Internal Network & Infrastructure, also using it for URL filtering and other useful features that it provides.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I believe this product comes with lot of functionalities, have good capabilities, dynamic updates are regular, will recommend this product compared with other traditional vendors.


    Safa C.

King of the NG Security

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto NG firewall's best area is object management and log analyze with stable appliances.
What do you dislike?
Software version has bugs and customer support can be much more faster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Traffic analyze and rule customization is most of time used in Palo Alto NG firewall management.


    Computer & Network Security

A Perfect Next Gen Firewall for all the Needs

  • June 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto's APP ID feature is the best I like about this firewall. It allows us configure absolutely granular application control policies. Also it a very stable and secure Firewall which allows all types of security hardening.
What do you dislike?
Palo Alto GUI has so many features that it doesn't require CLI at all. But it is a bit complex GUI and makes it difficult to make configurations for a Beginner.Also Two Factor Authentication requires integration with RSA, DUO or similar TFA Tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving following problems with Palo Alto Next Gen Firewall:-
1. URL Filtering
2. Application Control and Filtering
3. Threat Prevention
4. Sand Boxing ( Wildfire )
5. Intrusion Detection and Prevention
6. Site to Site VPN
7. Client to Site VPN (For Work From Home)
8.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All I want to say for anyone evaluating Palo Alto Next Generation Firewall is:-
1. It's an amazing, scalable, secure and fully featured next generation firewall.
2. It is highly capable of meeting all your business needs.
3. It a product you must go for, without any second thoughts as the security it offers is vast.
4. In-House Implementation could be difficult, hence consulting a Certified Systems Integrator would be a better decision.
5. If you are already using Forescout Network Access Control and than Palo Alto Next Gen Extended module makes Blocking very effective on your perimeter or internal segmentation Palo Alto Firewall.


    Allen S.

Rock Solid and Ready for Business

  • December 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto's versatility, it has the power to handle high volumes of connections while protecting against a multitude of different types of threats.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the latest version updates do not always seem to be ready for prime time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web application firewalling, virus/malware protection, DDoS attacks. We found that there was a high volume of impersonation and poxy avoidance in use in our organization we were unaware of prior to its inception.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organization is in need of a firewall that can do more than just block a DDoS attack but don't have the budget for multiple devices then you need to check out Palo Alto.


    Higher Education

HA Palo Alto Firewalls

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto firewalls are great at securing the network. Not meant for all environments as they do not allow any white listing.
What do you dislike?
They do not allow any white listing, no white list based on static, MAC or VLAN. Their support is only break fix, there are really no options for configuration assistance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits here is the device is solid. They work well do rarely give a problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not use in a school. Do not plan on their support helping you with any configurations.