Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VM-Series Next-Generation Firewall (BYOL and ELA)

Palo Alto Networks | PAN-OS 10.2.3

Linux/Unix, Other PAN-OS 10.2.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    ANSHUMAN BHUSHAN S.

The Best Next Generation Firewall For your Organization: PALO ALTO

  • October 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto NGFW is the best firewall available in the market, and this product's stability is incredible. It provides complete visibility and control of our traffic and helps to detect and take prevention measures on vulnerable traffic or malicious event. It has many beneficial features for the organization, like DNS security, which provides sub-features like blocking malicious domains and URL filtering. The following fantabulous features are app-id, user-id and single parallel pass processing, which is the best about Palo alto. If we use different Palo alto firewalls, then we can manage them through panorama and do the changes all in one place, so manageability becomes an easy task. The threat signature database is updated regularly. The configuration part is easy and provides excellent throughput and speed despite the high traffic load.
What do you dislike?
The dashboard or management console is very complex and can not be understood by an average L1 engineer. Configuring policies and making VPN tunnels is a big task and takes time. Talking about the cost, it is the most expensive firewall I have seen. The price is high compared to other firewall vendors. The tech support is not so good. Sometime it becomes tough for priority cases to resolve the issue. They launch a new feature release or some service pack now and then and it becomes tough to adapt to these changes as sometimes they contain bugs and are risky to implement in the production network. There is some issue with the VPN feature of Palo Alto. It needs strong expertise and an excellent team to handle this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can track down the traffic on the interface, and we can also see the bandwidth consumption that is used by the application. This firewall helped our organization to prevent malicious attacks, what user is using which services and what port, and we can block them according to the requirement. Another use case is that it has a sandboxing technique that helps isolate malicious applications and files containing viruses or malware. We can do DNS security, which is our primary focus and provides threat prevention. We can filter out bad traffic and create VPNs for remote users, and the functionality is flexible. If we compare it to other firewalls like FortiGate and SonicWall, it is the best firewall. The web interface can display all the information about our needs.


    Computer & Network Security

THE BEST NEXT GENERATION FIREWALL

  • July 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is one the best network security tool which orovides all round protection to your network and endpoints. This is easy to deploy and manage providing software and hardware together which are all developed all by PA. Having different plane for control and management is very helpful.
What do you dislike?
1. It is more on the expensive side if you compare with other firewall solutions.
2. Buying license for different usecase is also an expense.
3. Log analysis and review is not really user friendly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. This enables us to cover all the network and endpoints which is really helpful in avoiding all the types of vulnerabilities.
2. Managing vpn is also amazing and managing client networks as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it if you have kind of bank balance required.


    Erdem E.

Palo Alto, Reliable High Performance Firewall Solution!

  • May 31, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto is a solution that provides software and hardware as a complete setup. The other vendors could be deployed as an open server. I mainly consider Palo Alto like iPhone which develops it's own software; iOS and produces the hardware as iPhone. Also, I consider the other rival vendors like Android as an OS and this OS is capable to work with Samsung, Google, Sony, Xiaomi, Oppo, etc. hardware.
What do you dislike?
The zone limitations give me a headache always. And also log screen and log searching syntax are very complicated and not user-friendly. This interface needs to be revised by a UX Designer
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Palo Alto is one of the leaders in Next-Generation Firewall solutions. We can do App-ID, Content-ID, and User-ID based on Application Control. Also, we can manage security policies and NAT policies which are based on Access Control or port control. Site to site VPN works well without any problem but is hard to configure on the Dashboard; you can add the definitions as objects and use them in VPN policies
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Sizing is important before deploy. Initial setup is supposed to be done by an experienced expert.


    zz

Launch at an older version

  • May 16, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

How can we launch the instance at an older version? like 10.1.4? when we launch an instance, it doesn't ask for the software version and launches by default to the latest version


    AP

Install Version

  • April 06, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

There is no way to Select the OS Version we want when deploying Palo from the AWS Market Place. Deploying the default version is not acceptable.


    Muthu K.

Palo Alto review

  • February 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The end-to-end security solutions using the product Palo alto can provide security features for layer three to layer seven. One box solutions for all the security issues.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes this device is over-intelligent and creates policies by blocking genuine traffic, which causes production impact. The development team needs to review these issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
the device was helping me identify dangerous operating systems and files; with one-click options, we mitigate these kinds of attacks and product the IT infrastructure


    Lucas F.

Fácil e muito inteligente firewall

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to manage and very friendly. Great analysis of the logs.
What do you dislike?
The issuance of management reports is not user-friendly. The view could be better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Access management. Access blocks. Managing the rules and improving them.


    Information Technology and Services

Solid NGFW Solution

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Reliable and stable NGFW solution, with good features
What do you dislike?
Management integration isn't as complete and seamless as some other solutions
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Various different use cases for clients as I work for a systems integrator. They have realised many different benefits, including consolidation of services, greater granularity of inspection at the edge and in the data centre, etc.


    Anil R.

Enterprise Security Platform For Next Generation.

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has IPading Engine with SP3 (Single Pass Parallel Processing) Architecure.Paloalto having High CPU,Memmory Utilziation Capability Therefore Performance is very good.
What do you dislike?
Cost is higher than the other firewalls; sometimes, Some Simple Configuration needs to follow Complicated steps.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our organization, we use the products for Security and NAT policy configuration to block Unwanted Trffic. Create Different zones in our Network, Such as Trusted, Untrusted, DMZ.


    Financial Services

Powerful firewall that continues to lead the industry

  • October 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Palo Alto is a well-known and reputable company that is forward-thinking, offering new enhancements and capabilities to defend against the latest threats.
What do you dislike?
Palo Alto firewalls require a fairly substantial investment in terms of cost both up front and annually
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Palo Alto firewalls have addressed multiple requirements including network-based threat/malware detection and prevention, perimeter defense, content filtering, and network segmentation.