Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Cloud Services Router (CSR) 1000V - AX Pkg. Max Performance

Cisco Systems, Inc. | 17.3.2

Linux/Unix, Other Cisco IOS XE - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

14 AWS reviews

External reviews

13 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


4-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Sameer I.

Its Reliable and Secure for enterprises

  • June 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Secure, price is low, its compatible with most visualization platform and its ease of use.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the system fails but can be fixed in no time, Vm cannot be suspended
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Connectivity, streamline of users is at ease and fast.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Frequency of Crashes is low and the system is easy to setup and manage


    Luis H.

Provides us with secure 3G/4G LTE WAN cellular and wireless LAN connectivity for mobile environments

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Gateway communication for IoT activities is our primary use case. We were looking for a stable mobility solution.
How has it helped my organization?
It provides us with highly secure, reliable, and easy-to-manage 3G/4G LTE WAN cellular and wireless LAN connectivity for mobile environments.
It has delivered high-speed secure VPN services with High Availability, strong firewall protection, Application Visibility and Control, and more. This AMI runs Cisco IOS XE technology features (ASR 1000 and ISR 4000 series) and uses AWS instances with a direct I/O path for higher and consistent performance, as well as 2x performance with IMIX packets.
What is most valuable?
The most important feature is that it is designed for mobile vehicle communication in harsh conditions. It is also:
* easily and rapidly deployed
* highly available
* highly secure
* reliable.
Also, in terms of integration and configuration of the product in our AWS environment, it has 1700/2100 MHz (Band 4 AWS) frequencies.
What needs improvement?
Cisco should improve on the operation due to a clock signal component failure. I would also like to see better security, where there are more access controls and data confidentiality.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is a stable solution. I have put high workloads on it and it has been very stable.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
For my environment it is a good solution.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The pricing is good for what it offers.
What other advice do I have?
It integrates with multiple solutions but I have only tried it with AWS solutions.


    Thomas F.

It provides peace of mind because it is a stable product

  • January 09, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It provides peace of mind because it is a stable product that you aren't going to lose sleep over at night wondering if it will be running or not.
It is an all-inclusive solution.
What is most valuable?
* Reliability
* Cost-effectiveness
* Portability
* Security
What needs improvement?
I would like the ability to moderate between devices on-premise to off-premise. This would be a vast improvement.
In the next release, I would like them to add the ability to track a security feature to track the various IPs that come in.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
In AWS, the size of my environment is relatively small at the moment. I only have 45 VMs.
How is customer service and technical support?
Our experiences with their technical support have been positive.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration of the product in our AWS environment was mostly straightforward.
What was our ROI?
It is sort of like insurance. You hope you never have to use it. We pay a premium, hoping that the service never goes bad on us.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing the product on the AWS Marketplace was very simplistic. Our organization was trying to centralize our billing costs, and simplicity was best.
The pricing is fine, though it might have been cheaper going through a partner or doing a direct buy.
What other advice do I have?
Cisco has been around for years. It is solid and has one of the most recognized brand names in the world.


    CloudSol4cd7

Smooth experience purchasing through AWS Marketplace, great routing abilities

  • January 06, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Our primary use case of this solution is for routing.
How has it helped my organization?
Cisco has helped improve my organization in the was that it actually helped us to get the communication between on-prem and cloud to become smoother since we got it.
What is most valuable?
The most valuable feature is its routing abilities.
My experience with purchasing through AWS Marketplace was pretty smooth. We pay the same license cost as we do for long-term devices. We chose to procure via AWS Marketplace because that's the option we have. If we wanted to price something in AWS on every PC, we would have to go to the Marketplace and buy it. There are different versions available, so this is the version that has the capabilities that we wanted to explore. That's why we use Marketplace. The cost is a little higher at this point in time; but, we'll see how it goes.
What needs improvement?
They have an online registration that happens after they pick up block months. If they could decrease to yearly or something, sometimes the device is not cell phone accessible. That becomes an issue or challenge for us. If that can be improved, that would be really great.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have at least more than 60 CSRs deployed and the scale works well. Scalability has not been an issue.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support from Cisco is good. I would rate them at least a nine out of ten, if not ten out of ten.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We chose Cisco because the license cost is not that high and it's easy to consume on AWS. It gives access to so many variables that can be used, and even again, on Prime we're using the same one.
I would like to see them have an offline license. The moment you instant ship a device the license never goes off unless you destroy the device in the cloud.
How was the initial setup?
Integration has been pretty smooth. We're still exploring some automation capabilities to configure. Cisco doesn't have it in-house; but, we're trying to make it ourselves.
It integrates well with the other products we're using. We have it with multiple windows like Palo Alto, Arista and it easily integrated with them.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also looked at Arista alongside Cisco. We didn't end up choosing them because of the cost of the license, the bandwidth, and the support to different routing protocols. Considering what we have on-prem we wanted to match that and we started deploying it in the cloud.
What other advice do I have?
I would rate this solution an eight and not a ten: first, because we don't have automation available in-house and they give us the ability to deploy it on the cloud. Second, because of the license issue that we had with it. Other than that, everything is perfect.


    Anthony P.

Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy; click a button and you have it

  • December 23, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it to create a transit VPC within multiple AWS accounts.
How has it helped my organization?
It allowed us to create a more secure VPN than we would have been able to do without it.
What is most valuable?
It is supported by Amazon. They had documentation on how to set it up. It was supported by Amazon, so if I had problems, I could get help from Cisco or Amazon.
What needs improvement?
It is too complex. It is not easy to set up, even with the documentation that they provided. It is a little confusing.
I would like a GUI interface. The command line is not very straightforward, especially if you don't use it every day.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Stability is great.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
Scalability is very good, as long as you are paying for the licensing to support it.
The size of our environment is about 400 servers and 300 users.
How is customer service and technical support?
If we needed technical support, we would call Cisco and ask for assistance.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration were complex. It was not easy to set up. We had to use a lot of Cisco's help.
It is not being used with anything else. It is its own standalone thing.
What was our ROI?
It just makes our lives a little easier.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The cost needs improvement. It is very expensive through the AWS Marketplace.
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace was easy; click a button and you have it. Our organization saw it was in Cisco's documentation, and that is how we set it up.
What other advice do I have?
The product is fantastic. It just costs to keep it running. If you have the revenue for it, it is a good product. My current business is small, so we can't use it, as it's too expensive. Though, it would be a good product for a mid-to-large size business,


    Juan D.

Our customers receive security and the capabilities to do many thing with networking, like routing and installation of networks

  • December 10, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We have migrate our customers to the cloud along with their on-premise router. Therefore, when migrate their infrastructure to the cloud, we migrate Cisco too. This is our first use case with Cisco migrating a high availability infrastructure.
How has it helped my organization?
When the customer buys Cisco, they receive security and the capabilities to do many thing with networking, like routing and installation of networks. The most important thing is the security, as it brings assurance. This is the benefit to buying the product.
What is most valuable?
In this use case, AWS has a reference architecture to enable the Cisco routers in high availability and Transit VPC. This is a very powerful router and can enable us to use Transit VPC in AWS, and this is a very powerful feature that we use.
In security, it is a good product.
What needs improvement?
The possibility to use on-premise the same protocols as they're using on the cloud. When we want to do a high availability architecture, we have to use AWS features. The Cisco does not give you these features.
It could grow or adapt to changes in the cloud. For example, cloud does not support autoscaling. When people want to grow, they have to do manual activities.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
Cisco is very stable and secure. I have confidence in it. I have never had a problem with Cisco.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We have customers who have huge infrastructures, and others with small infrastructures. In terms of size, our customers have around 100 or 200 employees (or connections). Our biggest customer has approximately 3000 employees.
How was the initial setup?
The AWS integration into the environment is good. Cisco is very compatible with AWS.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The licensing model is good with this appliance: Bring Your Own License (BYOL).
We never buy the product on the AWS Marketplace. We only download it. We always use BYOL. We never buy the license in the AWS Marketplace, because it's very expensive.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluate Fortinet with our customers. They generally don't want to change products, which is the main reason for staying with Cisco.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend Cisco. It's a very powerful router and a very important player in the routers of the world. It can provide many solutions that the customer needs.
When AWS when offers Transit VPC, they always recommend Cisco.


    Accounting

This Router Rocks!

  • November 11, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This router has amazing power that makes it a one of a kind product.
What do you dislike?
I disliked that I couldn’t vMotion nor suspend a running VM.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it to manage and streamline access to our customer environments.


    LOKESH A.

low cost router that can be deployed on multiple platforms

  • November 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Compatibility with most of the visualization platforms
What do you dislike?
limitation on live migration, licencing and upgrading the licences
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Leverage investment in cloud servers, issuing of trial licences


    Computer Software

Cisco Cloud Services Router 1000V

  • July 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
DMVPN, Routing and Security
What do you dislike?
Manageability
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Highly productive,Central management and orchestration


    Higher Education

Easy Usage with Cloud

  • February 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
How I can login online and adjust settings, contacts, and all phone router settings
What do you dislike?
Getting to the settings online is not the most user friendly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Programming the phone and updating contacts is very easy and quick. The problem of having contacts that are said or easily changeable was people leave the company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
None