Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Yellowfin for AWS (12 Month, 3 User Free then BYOL)

Yellowfin | 9.7.2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

5 AWS reviews
  • 5
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marketing and Advertising

High Hopes, Still a Long Way to Go

  • September 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Yellowfin appears to be the platform that is most comparable to Google Data Studio in the sense that it is open canvas and has way more design capability than other major BI tools like Looker, Tableau, and Sisense, which are all locked to the grid. The vision for Yellowfin is great (open canvas, signals, NLQ).
What do you dislike?
Yellowfin editing and dashboard building is extremely cumbersom. You need to be extrememly well versed in their platform to get started and bring anything to life. There's virtually no in between from getting started to power user. If you want anything production ready you need to be an expert, or leverage an outside firm to support you from start to finish. The team that can support you is also a single agency located in Australia. They are helpful, but have limited resources to support all Yellowfin customers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Yellowfin is working to build a no code solution to empower anyone to create and share data storys without the need for complex SQL, Data Scientists, and engineers...bringing this to life is still in progress though.


    Higher Education

Easy to use, highly customizable reporting

  • September 06, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The report builder gives users many options when creating a report. Once you get your bearings there are plenty of features that let you do cool tricks.
What do you dislike?
More helper tools for building custom free-hand SQL would be great. It's very powerful, but it's kind of a guessing game if you don't know the internals of your view and/or are not very familiar with SQL.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It gets information in front of our stakeholders without a lot of effort. Also, the data in Yellowfin is really useful, but I'm not a YF admin. Broadcasts and SFTP features are amazing because I can also get data into a tool I control, like Power BI.


    Computer Software

User friendly and easy to learn and adopt.

  • August 31, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User Interface, dashboards, report design.
What do you dislike?
It's taking a long time to implement new ideas/suggestions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Yellowfin BI as in house reporting tools to fulfill the management reporting needs.


    Financial Services

Honest review

  • August 31, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Customization options and flexibility. Reporting features.
What do you dislike?
Incomplete Helm support, several modifications and improvements had to be done to make it functional on Kubernetes
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Create and use template design for customers.


    Computer Software

Valuable speed for development, with downsides

  • August 31, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed to develop new features and dashboards users can actually find valuable. Learning curve is a bit harsh specially if you don't have technical background, but if you do, you can achieve results quickly.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is a bit too hard for non-technical people. Documentation is good but falls short of what I'm used to seeing in top-notch projects (even open-source projects).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Allowed me and my team to build dashboards for our users quickly. This allowed us to get feedback quickly and go to market quickly. Gathering this feedback fast was very important for us.


    Computer Software

Yellowfin BI is a great resource for me as a developer of dashboards/reports/views.

  • August 31, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I like most about Yellowfin BI is that it contains the resources I need in one spot. I can search through the site to find answers to my questions pretty easily.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, I cannot find the answer I need, but this is to be expected, otherwise the site would be too large.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm not sure of ALL of them because we haven't upgraded yet, but I know that they fixed the column width issue.


    Bharathi J.

Yellowfin Bi User from 2020

  • August 30, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Dashboards and model creation are easy to create here than many other tools
What do you dislike?
it is not a flexible tool to create freehand SQL reports
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It resolves Adhoc reporting and relational data reporting quicker and easier


    Banking

YF representatives needs better knowledge about the whole aspect of the application.

  • August 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface, the experience, and the drag and drop is great, the visualization is awesome.
What do you dislike?
View builder is old with loads of issues, Reference codes area is hidden and not always being promoted by representatives, and when having huge views there are lots of bugs and slowdowns.
There is a need in better knowledge about the whole aspect of the application by their representatives, and there's a need in revamping the whole application from the ground up to avoid current bugs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Visualizations at best, calculations that need to be done above the SQL code, having the self-service for the company users which are not advanced in SQL by a simple drag and drop. this is great!


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to use tool with advanced features for business users

  • August 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Drag and drop report builder is intuitive, and the "Ask a Question" feature is a game changer!
What do you dislike?
It can be cumbersome to build a dashboard that looks visually appealing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to dive into the analytics - not just getting a high lever overview of stats.


    Computer Software

Lots of Potential with this tool with some maturity/growth still left to do.

  • August 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The tool is user-friendly - and produces consistent analytics based on base layers and views of data. A novice user can product a decent report without training if the underlying data views are correct.
What do you dislike?
The user development interfaces have functionality scattered which create a sharp learning curve for where certain features and functionality are stored. Additionally, there is no way to create blank "canvas" reports for text and headers that should be basic functionality. Lastly - there is not a consistent and standard best practice way to conduct release management from environment to environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Yellowfin BI is helping to present disorganized and disjointed data more cleanly to help us review and analyze system data and metrics across our application which will provide insights to help our product grow and mature.