Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

110 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    gabriel x.

Renowned Firewall Solution

  • April 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup in a user friendly administrative interface. Advanced firewall solution for corporate use. Intergra functions as an antivirus and antspan tool allied to advanced routing protocols.
What do you dislike?
It is not a cheap product for small businesses but its value is justifiable if we compare its functions offered.

Advanced commands are only applied by command line.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Firewall solution for internetwork easy administration and comprehensive security features.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Targeted product for medium and large companies.

Investment for an integrated enterprise security solution.

If you can buy it will be a good investment.


    Enrique P.

Experience with fortigate firewall

  • April 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The company implements security mechanisms through different protocols to make the network impractical for malicious hachers, but at the same time it is necessary to manage a firewall to study and verify traffic entering and leaving the network and Fortigate is one of the best teams that perform that work. With the application of the UTM in the policy guarantees according to the configuration in the utm apply security also allows to block logical ports in the network. This equipment is very useful when applying security in the network.
What do you dislike?
With the experience I use with the fortinet team, I can not complain about many of the applications of the equipment, the most complex of the firewalls is the update part of the TFTP . It turns out that there is a jump from version to version. what do we want to get
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of the fortigate teams I have solved the remote connection through the VPN solution through the SSL and IPSEC protocols for the users who work remotely from their homes have access to the resources of the internal network.


    Dana P.

Fortinet UTM protects the SMB network

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fortinet UTM offers a robust threat management and DLP service via subscription at a reasonable price. Updated frequently by Fortinet Labs, the UTM definitions are automatically updated with an active subscription.
What do you dislike?
The only dislike I can think of is some features require console/command line to tweak, however the GUI is great for common tasks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compliance, monitoring, intrusion detection, AV, malware detection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended if you use Fortinet hardware - auto integration into existing firewall infrastructure


    Arturo R.

One of the best firewalls in the world

  • March 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like about Fortigate is the easy administration for users of any network level.

The creation and implementation of your security policies is the easiest to use, just choose source interface, destination interface, ports and UTM and you have already created a security policy according to the needs.

The customization of the UTM is a great advantage that offers network administrators because in a few clicks you can adjust the UTM to the requirements of the company. Fortigate has a great variety of UTMs in which web filtering and application control stand out.

The option of having SD-WAN is advantageous when having more than one Internet provider, the reports are of great help when solving problems.

Totally Fortigate is one of the best firewalls at all levels. For some reason they lead the Gartner Magic Quadrant. Totally recommended.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like about Fortigate is that it needs to mature its firmware, there are a lot of erroneous firmware coming out and it's already creating what's called more quantity than quality.

They should test their firmware better before throwing them to the public because a network administrator wants to have their computers updated but it is difficult when the released firmware have errors and compromise the productive of the company.

Of the rest I have no objection to Fortigate firewalls.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problems we are solving with Fortigate are Internet bandwidth management and Internet access classification using FSSO.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would strongly recommend Fortigate firewalls for their ease of administration and learning.


    Sam C.

Awesome Product

  • February 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how convenient and easy to use this product is. One of the best things about Fortinet is their support. We have had numerous cases where they have helped in getting issues resolved. Some support personnel even going out of the way to make local visits to assist.
What do you dislike?
I really don't have much complaint. Some of the more advanced features are a little harder to find help online about. But the other side of that is whenever we run into those issues we have gotten very good support from them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the support and the ease of use of their products we are able to better secure our customers. We are able to secure these customers with an affordable solid solution. The benefits of this support and stable products gives us peace of mind.


    Colton J.

Great Product For Using At Work

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not only does this program help me work, but it also helps me go back home and feel accomplished at work. I am very happy with this product and our company is constantly working.
What do you dislike?
I rarely have any problems with this product, but updates do take some time out of my work schedule.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product helps our company stir less confusion with our clients. We are able to identify our customers when we look at our inventory.


    Miguel G.

I am an administrator of a Fortigate 500E and it seems to me an easy-to-use firewall device

  • January 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?

What I like the most is the very illustrative and easy to configure configuration interface. UTM options that are updated with the server in the cloud indicating that the database is always updated to provide maximum protection in the network.
What do you dislike?

What I do not like about the fortigate is the statements of some policies, it has to be very precise.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

In the company a virus was spread throughout the network, because a user downloaded some movies by torrent, by implementing Fortigate the policies were implemented that denied the torrent service through a UTM. And you have a more centralized administration thanks to the fortigate


    Sebastian K.

Fortinet solutions provide excellent value for money

  • January 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great user interface which is constantly evolving
User interface is easy to learn
Technology is keeping pace with the security landscape
Excellent value for money
What do you dislike?
Certain features will sometimes be dropped or removed from the GUI without rhyme or reason
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
End user protection
Perimeter Security


    Computer & Network Security

Robust NGFW with DLP function!

  • December 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In this SMB segment, Fortigate would be the better option. There are many features available this box but I did like most oft them, andI am impressed with device throughput, WEB and Application filter, process of deployment, DLP, robust VPN, impressive GUI, LOG monitoring, strong IPS signature bundled. When it comes to log monitoring they have excellent analyzer called FortiAnalyzer. I guess I have mentioned most of things which is required while evaluate for any one.
What do you dislike?
I would say enhancement rather dislike. There are couple of features that can be improved and which are DLP custom classification, device does not store logs init as it required cloud or other hardware, slow GUI access and some times issue with memory utilization.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Previously we had lot of issue with other device, but this FortiGate has resolved most of them. There are many merits we can say after deploying this device, and which are better SSL VPN to connect our office from all our globe with any interruption, throughput, strong web and application filter, good endpoint policy for remote user, IPS signature is very strong so detecting many vulnerable alarms, log monitoring is excellent again with reports in details. though log are being stored on cloud with limited size we are getting good result out of it, and we are also planning to deploy analyzer to all reports for future as well.
We believe that network and security issue has been improvised after deploying this device and we are very happy having this device in our network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say if someone is looking for NGFW with advance features in budget, than this can be your companion in their security architecture. It's quite reliable, easy to maintain and robust.


    Good

Good

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Nice and tried with TRANSIT VPC, Good performance. Only Issues with Remote VPN part. CLI part is good, will get more options there.