Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fortinet FortiGate Next-Generation Firewall

Fortinet Inc. | 7.2.0

Linux/Unix, Other 7.2.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

19 AWS reviews

External reviews

110 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniel H.

Perimeter security equipment adapted to the requirements of any small, medium or large organization.

  • June 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
FortiGate firewalls are versatile teams that offer you a multitude of options and customizations to protect your network and especially see what is happening in it. Your FortiView function is extremely informative, you have a panel where you can choose different views of how you want to see the traffic that goes through the FortiGate, you can see the traffic from the LAN, see the traffic from the WAN, as well as you can see everything. Besides that it allows you to be more granular to observe which policies or interfaces are consuming a greater bandwidth or if a team is making concurrent requests to a malicious website somewhere in the world. With FortiView you can observe all the traffic and any anomaly. I am fascinated by the section of security profiles, there is the essential FortiGate that are the famous UTM antivirus, web filtering, application control, DNS, proxy, IPS, WAF, SSL, as other UTM fundamental for security in a network . You have a section devoted to log where you can also see all the blockages that the team has done granularly. FortiGate incorporates in a single box several Fortinet products, such as FortiWAN, Fortianalizer, Fortimanager, among others, each of them compose a small module in each fortigate that makes the box...
What do you dislike?
Without any complaint everything seemed perfect.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application of security policies.
Security in the network infrastructure.
Threat Analyzer
VPN.
Redundancy of Internet links.
Apply traffic shaper to networks.
Supervision of ports or services between vlans


    Ernesto S.

Security with fortigate firewall equipment

  • June 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firewall equipment are teams that are responsible for protecting the corporate LAN network from everything that is Malware, spyware, among other threats that affect the internal network. Fortigate gives us different solutions to solve vulnerability flaws, with the UTM solution the fortigate teams gives us the solution of block of pages restriction through preconfigured categories with the fortigate server that is in the cloud, the licensed equipment is synchronized with the nbe to perform the updates.
What do you dislike?
The use of fortigate equipment in the company Alo24 is for the protection and application of different navigation policies implemented by the administrator, the fortigate equipments also provide services for remote VPN connections, load balancing as SD-WAN and restriction of logical ports for maintain a restricted and sealed network.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of the fortigate teams we have had a secure network and improving the vulnerabilities of the lan network, the fortigate equipments are implemented in all the branches of the company as a security solution.


    Carlos C.

Enterprise-grade firewall backed by millions of companies and representative of the Gartner quadrant

  • May 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate brand that is characterized by firewalls that provide security at the network level in business areas, leading the Gartner quadrant in 2018 as the best UTM security solution against major commercial brands such as Cisco and Palo Alto.

As a firewall it stands out as one of the few firewalls in which its installation and implementation can be done without the need for Fortinet support. On a personal level, when our 500E and 200E firewalls were implemented, the installation and configuration was carried out in the company without requiring external support. It had to replace two Fortigate 110C for a 500E and a 200E. The implementation was based on raising the requirements of security policies including web profiles through the active directory, this was achieved by installing the Fortinet Single Sign-On on the domain controller server and making the respective configuration in the Fortinet in "User & Device "section" LDAP Servers "is added the IP address of the main domain controller, LDAP port, common identifier name, distinguished name, authentication type (Simple, Anonymous, Regular), domain administrator user, user password and validates connectivity.

Based on this requirement, each user has a navigation profile from a literal F (the lowest) to the literal A (Presidency), according to each profile adjusted security profiles called UTM, adding in each policy the following UTM: Antivirus, Web Filter, DNS Filter, Application Control, Data Leak Prevention, Proxy Options and SSL / SSH Inspection. With the application of these UTM users are prevented from entering malicious websites, idle or with virus content, and applications that function as web, also prevents the download of executable files, musicás, videos, among others, also includes navigation with security certificates for the analysis of HTTPS packages. This strengthens Internet browsing within the organization by adding an extra level of security. In addition, this configuration applies to mobile devices.
What do you dislike?
I have not had any problem with the Fortinet firewalls, rather every time a new FortiOS update is included in the firewalls of the company, the last update applied was 6.2 which improves the components of SD-WAN, Security Fabric, Fabric Connectors, MultiCloud, DevOps, Secure Access and other new 120 functionalities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
An Internet browsing based on web profiles included in a hierarchy from the lowest (F) to the highest (A), also replaces a Fortigate 110C team that falls short with the operation of the company because when adding a UTM processor consumption increases inhibiting the device and discarding all communication to the internet. It creates a communication with the active directory, navigation profiles with mobile devices, including SSL VPN.


    Franco A.

My experience implementing fortigate in my company.

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fortigate teams are the firewal teams par excellence in the vast majority of companies where the network infrastructure is quite broad. Fortigate computers are teams that provide large amounts of options to apply security in the internal network. One of the most important options FortiGate equipment is the application of the UTM for their latest firmware versions, this option UTM is to classify web pages by category that are updated based on given data fortinet that is in the cloud . With the application of these UTM you can carry out webpage blocking policies by category, also with the DNS filter option. These are options that firewall equipment has to apply security in the infrastructure.
What do you dislike?
With the implementation of the fortigate equipment at the branch level, we have not had any major inconvenience in the connection part of the equipment since the equipment is correctly identified where it is not easy for us to make both the network and power connections. . At nievel administration tam, mpco we have detected failures since it has a very graphic interface where you can make the configurations without problem, with a solid knowledge in the area of ​​networks we will not have big problems for the administration of these teams.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of the fortigate teams, we have implemented security both in the area of ​​malicious web pages and the blocking of web pages that, due to company policies, should not be available to employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Improve the firmware update issue.


    Oscar Z.

Experience with Firewall fortigate team from fortinet manufacturer.

  • May 21, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firewall equipment are edge devices that are in the entrance of the local network of any company where they enter the internet services to apply protection to the local network. The fortinet teams are firewaal teams by preference, these teams provide us with different extensions, applications and different options to apply security, among them we have to highlight the UTM that are categorical and security options that are applied to the users to apply protection, among the utm we have WEBFILTER, DNSFILTER, APLICATION CONTROL, among others that are applied through the installation of a certificate that provides fortinet.
What do you dislike?
In my time of experience as an administrator of these equipments of the manufacturer fortinet I have not had problems to install them nor manufactures them, they are functional basents and with very easy to understand graphical interface, these equipments meet the demands of the company, a team fundamental for the security of the information and bineestar of the information
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This team has helped us in applying security to the network and internal, it has also helped us in the matter of remote access through VPN access to users who work from their homes, the user's configuration and key in the computer is performed and then remotely the users connect through a forticlient client to access.


    Gabriel R.

My experience managing fortigate.

  • May 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the company Serfiprima we implemented a fortinet of the manufacturer Fortinet as a firewall team. Fortinet computers are the computers by firewall preference. With the fortigate configuration options we impose security and restriction of pages, user locks, vpn accesses, among others. When we apply security the UTM we speak of blockages of pages by categories for example web filter and dns filter we apply restrictions between those category, also blockages of applications. These UTMs apply to only licensed equipment. They make mach with the fortigate database that are in the cloud.
What do you dislike?
With the time of implementation and administration of fortigate equipment I have not had failures with the equipment, without a doubt they are teams that work at a high intensity and without problems, with all the solutions they provide us. The complicated thing is the process of updating fimware configurations are lost when increasing of version, it is necessary to be on the lookout when they make these updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the application of the fortigate we have implemented the security branch making restrictions of prohibited pages, as well as providing VPN access for users who need to connect to the internal network to use the resources of the internal network.


    Gerardo F.

My experience applying security with the Fortigate team Fortinet.

  • May 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In the insurance company mpiramide we have implemented as a firewall the fortigate team of Fortinet as a security barrier against the WAN network. Fortigate equipment provides security configurations to provide a secure environment in our business network. Fortigate gives us different methods of protection, one of them are the UTM that are categories of blocking pages. With the fortigate it also gives us remote access via VPN that is configured as a server on the computer and the clients manage a client called forticlient.
What do you dislike?
Implementing fortigate I have never had problems when assigning a permit or navigation policy. I configure the data links and the internet links dedicated to the equipment in order to do the filtering correctly, it has not fallen on the part of the team, until now the fortigate teams have responded as necessary to the company.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
with the help of fortigate I have implemented malware security in pages infected with a virus, it has also helped us to block pages that can not be accessed by company policies such as social networks, obscene pages, policies among others, this is achieved with the implementation of the UTM in each policy. We also solve remote connections using SSL VPN or IPSEC connections.


    Renan A.

Nextgen Firewall with expert layer 7 control and easy configuration.

  • May 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We bought two FortiGate 800D for a branch. The second Fortigate is a backup and works in passive mode.
The experience has been fantastic with them. Fortigate 800D has easy configuration through a very friendly graphical interface and also has a excellent attractive value. In our branch we use it for protection services, Web filtering, VPN and application control.
What do you dislike?
So far we have not had any problems. I'm enjoying all the features and performance.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
No problems. We needed technical support once, and the service was quick and efficient.


    Gabriel C.

Very Popular And Respected Firewall In The Market

  • May 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The graphical interface of the system provides easy status visualization through the dashboard menu, not to mention the ease of making settings.
Among the protections we can avoid contraindications, Web filtering, antimalware and application control and encrypted traffic. The way we can implement is also flexible, with FortiGate's corporate firewalls, we can deploy them from the edge of the network to the core, internally and in our datacenters. Because the filter possibilities are immense, its CLI becomes simple after an adaptation, but the interfaces are preferred by the graphical interface (GUI). FortiGate is an essential part of the security mesh, which protects the corporate network against known and unknown attacks.
What do you dislike?
Some specific settings are only possible via CLI in some cases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to perform the total control of the traffic passed to the router, filtering everything in the way we thought best, defending against attacks and invaders.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
State-of-the-art firewall of enough confidence, it protects your real network.


    Zulay L.

The strengths of the unified control of dawns of Fortinet

  • May 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The strategy of a unified control of dawns is a range of fundamental functions to retain all kinds of amanaza in the network. Be of internal control or connection to the internet. The control is oriented to a series of profiles that operate according to security policies. Each profile of these tools retains according to their specialty as application control or web page filtering in the Internet access, an antivirus application or a prevision of intruders all the threats that increase the vulnerability of the networks every day
What do you dislike?
The error of these functions is to install them in a lower category equipment, since when placing it in security profiles they demand the resources of the hardware, therefore the network analysis is more exhautive but slow. However, this tool is the only one of the most integrated firewall market
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits with this tool application are complex, such as securing attacks on public servers with vulnerable information in your local area network. Additional as the application of these profiles to ensure a general navigation as levels of access
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend UTM for all secure policies for safe browsing or retention of dawns to your public servers.