Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

VM-Series Next-Generation Firewall Bundle 2

Palo Alto Networks | PAN-OS 9.0.3.xfr

Linux/Unix, Other PAN-OS 9.0.3.xfr - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

13 AWS reviews

External reviews

5 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Scott

Best NGFW on the market

  • August 27, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Palo Alto Networks has been my go to for years, it's hands down the best on the market. Get the subscription with the Threat prevention ( IPS, AV, malware prevention). We have started to use the Redlock monitoring/compliance utility as well, it is eye opening to say the least. Panorama makes administration a piece of cake.


    kiran M.

Easy deployment in AWS, NSX, Azure and Google cloud

  • January 31, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?

Works as same with Physical PA series 200, 2000, 3000, 5000 and 7k series
Easy integration with top cloud vendors
Best GUI in design
Best series in vm is V100
What do you dislike?
if VM Ware NSX or any VM series down , it will effect in the VM series firewall too
Some cloud vendors does not provide HA in all cases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Replaced with VM series from Physical devices
2. Help to move out in cloud infrastructure
3. Best for East- West traffic monitor across the data centers
4. Supported all most in all major cloud vendor flatforms
5. Dedicated TAC support with 24*7
6. Regular PANOS updates as well as Dynamic updates
7. No need maintain the assert data collection with compare to physical devices
8. easily added in the panorama device
9. Visibility of applications across the east west traffic
10. supports HA with Active/active and Active/passive configurations
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best GUI design
GUI is same as Panorama
Replace with Physical devices
TAC team
maintenance and terminology inside


    Pradeep K.

You can scale it if you put it in Auto Scaling groups. On the cloud side, they need to come up with more HA solutions to support the multi-region.

  • January 15, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use Palo Alto for the VPN, firewalls, and the hybrid site-to-site.
We have purchased Palo Alto VM for one of our customers. It has been a year since we have been using this product.
We use Palo Alto's on-premise version for a different purpose. We are using the cloud version for our contractors to VPN to the AWS environment.
For Palo Alto on-premise, we use it more for security firewalls. On the cloud side, we use it for customer contractors to get into the AWS environment for VPN. we use native routing and native security tools that they developed already in AWS.
How has it helped my organization?
We have big team which can support Palo Alto on-premise. We have engineers which are familiar with Palo Alto products. Our customers are perfectly suited for our use case. They wanted to get onto AWS or be on the hybrid cloud. They want to keep the technology consistent across the board. Therefore, Palo Alto makes sure that they are a leader in this space. We are able to support them, and customers can take advantage of using these products, both on-premise and cloud.
What is most valuable?
* Firewalls
* VPN
What needs improvement?
On the cloud side, they need to come up with more HA solutions to support the multi-region.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is fine. The product has been running well so far.
We have about 150 contractors who log into Palo Altos. We don't put heavy stress on them, but they are working fine for now.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
You already can scale it if you put it in Auto Scaling groups. If you put it in a load balancer, it should already be able to scale.
We put our Palo Altos in the public VPC, then we have contractors come over the Internet and VPN into the Palo Altos to get into the AWS environment.
How is customer service and technical support?
It depends on the person you get on the call from technical support, but many times I have gotten good people on the call. Sometimes, you get some bad experiences. Most of the time, it has been good.
How was the initial setup?
It is easy to install. You buy it on the AWS Marketplace, then you just install it. You have already purchased the license and everything else. It is easy to configure and use.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
The purchase process through AWS Marketplace was easy for us because we are partner to Palo Alto, so it was straightforward. All we need to do was purchase it from AWS Marketplace because we had a license.
AWS is available as a AMI that you can purchase from the AWS Marketplace. Therefore, you need to purchase the licensing, since it is per AMI. Then, you deploy it on a regular EC2. Then, for on-premise, you can use both Palo Alto's software and hardware. So, it depends on your usage.
Compared to other solutions, I think the pricing is efficient.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
For on-premise, we evaluated Check Point and Fortinet.
What other advice do I have?
I would recommend the product, and tell people, "Go for it." It has not disappointed us for the purpose that we use it. It is really matured in the networking area.
Because of our use case, we didn't have to integrate the product with anything else.


    Luis H.

It prevents data loss and business disruption

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it to protect applications and data on AWS.
How has it helped my organization?
Embedding it into my application development lifecycle prevents data loss and business disruption, allowing the adoption to operate at the speed of my AWS Cloud.
What is most valuable?
It prevents data loss and business disruption.
What needs improvement?
It can definitely improve on the performance.
I would like more scalability included on the next release.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It has a good performance which helps you with the stability of your virtual environment.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It has to be more scalable for the deployment of VMs on the cloud.
What about the implementation team?
You have to be an expert administrator of a virtual environment to know how to integrate it with your AWS environment.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing through the AWS Marketplace is a secure way to purchase this solution. Our organization chose to procure this solution via the AWS Marketplace because we have clients who were interested in the solution. Also, for out proof of concept, we decided to purchase it.
The pricing and licensing of this product on AWS should be from $1.28/hr or $4,500.00/yr. Then, it would be a good price for the performance that it delivers.
What other advice do I have?
It solves several challenges protecting your AWS workloads with good security features, delivering superior visibility, control, and threat prevention at the application level when compared to other cloud-oriented security solutions.


    Michael R.

App-ID and User-ID have repeatedly shown value in securing business critical systems, but we have run into issues with the antivirus interfering with App-ID

  • January 14, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use this as our primary security barrier between trusted and untrusted zones.
How has it helped my organization?
App-ID and User-ID have repeatedly shown value in securing business critical systems.
What is most valuable?
In AWS, Palo Alto provides us a better view than flow logs for network traffic.
What needs improvement?
We have ran into issues with Palo Alto’s limitations for resolving large IP lists from DNS lookups, as well as the antivirus interfering with App-ID.
I would like to see a more thorough QA process. We have had some difficulties from bugs in releases.
I see more improvements needed from AWS than from Palo Alto on the VM-Series, namely a design centered on NGFW.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We are typically at only about eight to ten percent load.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
The limit of the product is based on resources that we can obtain from AWS. We have approximately 3500 users and 200 servers leveraging the Palo Alto product.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
We used BYOL, because of the cost to own.
We procure the solution through AWS Marketplace because previous experience with their physical appliances.
The pricing and licensing of this product on AWS for a three-year commitment is a great deal, if you can plan that far ahead.
What other advice do I have?
It is a good product, but there is room for improvement.


    Director7d48

It allows us to see all our traffic to properly secure it

  • December 19, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it to secure all traffic leaving and entering AWS.
How has it helped my organization?
It allows us to see all our traffic to properly secure it and only allow what is needed through the firewall.
What is most valuable?
* Full content inspection
* Visibility into the traffic in AWS.
What needs improvement?
There is work to be done on the integration side, as AWS doesn't integrate well with third-party firewalls.
I would like to see AWS have more integration with Palo Alto from a routing standpoint, so it could become a routing egress without having to redesigning it.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable, and we are not putting stress on it.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It is fairly scalable. We have a couple hundred servers already.
What other advice do I have?
They are the leading next-generation firewall. I would recommend deploying a next-generation firewall.


    SystemAd6a48

It offers a single pane of glass for all the different types of installations

  • December 16, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

* To do a lot of intrusion detection.
* Threat prevention.
* As an application firewall, to be able to securely deliver apps to the public.
How has it helped my organization?
It gives us the ease that we are secure. We have set up the proper things that help make our data safe. This is the biggest benefit.
What is most valuable?
It offers a single pane of glass for all the different types of installations.
The easy of use is pretty good.
What needs improvement?
I would like a way to do everything programmatically, or be able to copy the configs from different prices at different levels.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
The stability is excellent. We have about 50 to 60 employees on it per day. Then, we have about 100 edge connected devices coming through it as well.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
It is definitely scalable. We have about 100 users with about 200 to 300 instances on the cloud that we protect.
How is customer service and technical support?
The technical support is really good. It is usually one phone call to get everything done if we are having an issue.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We chose to purchase Palo Alto through the AWS Marketplace because we needed an easy to use firewall and a way to protect our public applications and services.
How was the initial setup?
The integration and configuration on our AWS environment was pretty simple. We did not have to ask any questions about anything on it, so it was good.
What was our ROI?
We haven't had any security issues since deploying it.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Purchasing on the AWS Marketplace was simple, effective, and easy.
The price is not bad. They have a yearly renewal fee, and the pricing is exactly where we expect it to be.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluated Fortinet, but Palo Alto is sort of the new up and coming product. There were a lot of good recommendations from other security experts.
In addition, Palo Alto is easier to configure when you are building policies on applications.
What other advice do I have?
Talk to their technical services to make sure you are getting the right size solution for what you want to do.
The product is easy use. I don't have to think twice when I am using it. I know it is doing its job. Customer support has been great.


    Pavan T.

AWS has improved our agility to apply firewall rules because everything is based in the cloud

  • December 12, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use it for firewall purposes.
How has it helped my organization?
We use it mostly for the firewall and its ability to work in AWS. That is why we like it.
What is most valuable?
AWS has improved our agility to apply firewall rules. It has reduced the amount of time that it takes to apply firewall rules because everything is based in the cloud. It helps us to bring agility to the project teams when applying them.
What needs improvement?
We still need to understand what are the best practices which we need to implement.
We also don't know how it will scale once we start putting more load on it.
For how long have I used the solution?
One to three years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
We like its stability.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We are happy with the scalability.
We just started migrating to the cloud. Thus, we are slowly adding more volume to it. Maybe next year, we should know how it is scaling in the cloud.
How is customer service and technical support?
We have in-house experts and a good relationship with the Palo Alto technical support team.
Which solutions did we use previously?
We were using a lot of Cisco firewalls before. We switched because we wanted what works best in the cloud.
How was the initial setup?
We have been happy with the configuration and implementation on the AWS environment.
What was our ROI?
It takes the bottleneck away from the information security teams and increases their agility on projects.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
We found purchasing process the product on the AWS Marketplace to be very good. We used the AWS Marketplace because we were set to move to AWS. We rely on Amazon and their partners to process our research.
What other advice do I have?


    Dan R.

Out-of-the-box, it has all of the components that you need for a very secure environment

  • December 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We use Palo Alto as a perimeter security device.
How has it helped my organization?
It is nice to have a rock solid security platform that we can count on.
What is most valuable?
* It is the leader in the marketplace.
* It has the ability to create Palo Alto VM-series using software.
* The VM-Series has all of the components (out-of-the-box) that you need in a very secure environment.
What needs improvement?
In the next release, I would like to see better integration of multi-factor authentication vendors.
For how long have I used the solution?
Three to five years.
What do I think about the stability of the solution?
It is very stable. We have almost never had an issue.
We have around 15 VM-Series, which are running hot all day.
What do I think about the scalability of the solution?
We're still learning about the scalability. We have run into some issues with scaling and limitations associated with some of the configurations. However, it is a solution that we have been happy with overall.
How is customer service and technical support?
Technical support is good.
What about the implementation team?
The integration and configuration of this product in our AWS environment was easy to pick up and very usable. It was a good walk between the old physical way and the new software or infrastructure as code (IaC) model.
What was our ROI?
We use Palo Alto to provide remote access, and we've been able to provide access for hundreds of users with a very short build out time. In the past, this would take a lot longer. Now, we don't have to wait for a physical box, etc.
What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?
Our company is entirely AWS, so it is the only place to go to purchase anything.
Some parts of purchasing through AWS Marketplace are good, such as this product was easy to find and launch. Some of the other parts could be clearer in the AWS Marketplace, e.g., how to properly do an annual subscription.
The pricing and licensing are reasonable.
Which other solutions did I evaluate?
We also evaluated Fortinet and some other competitors.
We chose Palo Alto because we had institutional experience and knowledge that we could bring over.
What other advice do I have?
Do a demo. Set one up and try it.
We have used both the physical and AWS versions. The physical version is a good product. However, in an AWS environment, the ability to automate and scale pieces of it are critical.


    Information Technology and Services

Leader in NGFW

  • November 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have implemented Palo Alto firewalls in our data centre as a perimeter protection, VPN gateway via Palo Alto GlobalProtect option and east-west traffic control with PA VM-series firewalls. I have really positive experience with any kind of solution from this vendor. We use both leaders firewalls: CheckPoint and Palo Alto, hardware appliances and VM-series. We are really satisfied with PaloAlto firewalls performance, even with L7, AV, VPN features enabled. The reporting functionality is great, we gain a full visibility and control over the network. Also, Palo Alto provides a comprehensive product portfolio and flexible integration options. It is not quite difficult to deploy NGFW, but anyway the vendor provides a strong technical training.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing wrong from technical point of view. I would also mention great vendor support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We gain visibility and control in VMware virtualisation environment. We redirected L7 traffic from NSX to Palo Alto and it provides us up-to-date protection against malware and advanced threats with content filtering, antivirus, identity control. We also provided a VPN access for mobile users with Global Protect.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want a easy to use firewall solution with high security patches, Palo Alto is the product to use.