Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Palo Alto Networks VM-300 Bundle 2

Palo Alto Networks | PAN-OS 9.0.9-h1.xfr

Linux/Unix, Other PAN-OS 9.0.9-h1.xfr - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

15 AWS reviews

External reviews

22 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Telecommunications

palo alto NGFW rreview

  • October 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
excelent performance when you are adding additional security features - uniques single pass technology
excellent security control for applications (App-ID, User-ID, Content-ID)
Very good support
What do you dislike?
management of device is not user-friendly
sometimes security updates harm functionalities of running applications
slow response on management plane when you have a lot of different rules (adding, changing rules)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Palo Alto we solved the problem of security when we are facing access and traffic from/to Internet. With solution whichi integrate application security check, antimalware check and URL protection we are much more safe when we are exchanging traffic over Internet. We also use site-to-site VPN on Palo ALto firewalls to securely interconnect our companies worldwide.


    Chris B.

PAN ng firewalls are truly next gen

  • September 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
AppID and UserID are probably my favorite features, but I really love PAN's content inspection and wildfire analysis integration. Not to mention Panorama central mgmt across all firewalls and the partner hooks into other interopped vendor's security infrastructure within our environment resulting in overall stronger security posture.
What do you dislike?
some of the appIDs with "dynamic port ranges" like skype for business are opening all the ports when they don't necessarily use all 65535 ports. They should be restricted to least privilege approach. vuln scanners are throwing false positives that traffic is listening due to appID, when it's actually filtered/denied. on the plus side, this could trick hackers recon attempts so it inadvertently has a positive side.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
central firewall access mgmt, malicious content inspection across wifi and wired connections, stronger insight into activity on the network, integration with SIEM are the few off hand that come to mind.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
don't wait, get back control of your network by switching to PAN!


    Hospital & Health Care

NGFW Review

  • September 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Additional layers or security compared to other firewall vendors and the capability to consolidate numerous security functions into one single device.
What do you dislike?
The instability of code versions and the need to constantly upgrade code.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Securing our business.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great security product that continues to innovate.


    Animation

Palo Alto Networks NGFW Review

  • September 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All the features that it's well known for, App-ID, User-ID, Content-ID, SSL-Inspection, throughput, Anti-malware and ease of use. It's an all in one box that does everything we're looking for, making easier to manage that if all the features we're across multiple systems.
What do you dislike?
On the lower end models, the commit time is a bit slow.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Visibility of traffic traversing the network, either internally or to/from the internet, and using that data to further protect it. By giving us the visibility and granularity of control, we can create very specific rules to allow or deny access to different services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great platform, easy to use and understand, gives you a lot of control to be as granular as you need to be with your rules. Compare the actual throughput of all the solutions you're looking at, with all the features you plan to use, this number is usually hidden on the datasheet of other vendors but PAN have clearly detailed it.
While the price is higher than most of the other vendors, it has based on our experience will have a longer life and not need to be replaced than another vendor.


    Ryan F.

Great firewall but even better customer service!

  • September 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Having used many "Next Gen" firewalls I was a bit jaded by all the new hype around Palo Alto but after using their products and integration, it has made my team's much more productive and efficient. With the abilty to use for advanced VPN performance, Wildfire protection from emerging threats and a combination of threat and antivirus definitions. Lastly, highly performant SSL decryption allows us to secure even encrypted traffic to and from our networks. Outside of pure security features, we utilize URL Filtering and analytics which allows us to see our network utilization, risks, and performance on a broad spectrum.
What do you dislike?
All complaints were resolved and fixed in 8.0. One thing to keep in mind would be to release firmware updates that are a bit more vetted to not leave new and current customers wondering which former they should update to if they should update at all. This is always a process we have to consider when looking at new updates and their functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were able to solve many complex issues with Palo Alto. We are able to see much greater into our environment and other environments we are looking into for audits. In addition, we are able to offer higher SLAs and KPIs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get a POC in your environment. I think you will be pleasantly surprised with the new releases of hardware how cheap the TCO and how fast the ROI can be on such a great appliance.


    Dylan B.

Palo Alto Networks - An Administrator's Review

  • September 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There's a seemingly endless amount of features which can benefit almost any type of deployment. OS upgrades to the platform continue to be meaningful and introduce new capabilities without requiring additional licensing. The platform and company is always growing and nothing about it seems stagnant or dated.
What do you dislike?
The devices are fairly expensive, which means they may not be a realistic choice for smaller deployments and organizations. This has improved recently though with their latest generation of hardware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Threat detection and prevention in a world where everything needs to be considered insecure, as well as analytics and insight into network traffic that is simply not available with lesser products. Palo Alto Networks continues to build and expand on their technologies and product offerings. As an administrator, being able to build our own network around such a robust platform which continues to expand, as our needs do too, has proven very beneficial. Palo Alto Networks technical support has been very helpful in the times when we do run into issues, and the local user base continues to expand which encourages knowledge sharing among security professionals throughout a wide variety of industries. I doubt the feeling of "outgrowing" these firewalls would be possible for a vast majority of networks and administrators.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The concepts and management of next-gen firewalls can be significantly different compared to legacy firewalls. I'd encourage any prospective users/purchasers to educate themselves on the management and operation of these firewalls. There are many excellent learning resources available online, as well as Palo Alto Networks user groups available for you to join in most major cities.


    David

Painful to get support

  • September 12, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Apparently, you can use the web console to register your device to get 24/7 support and to register cases , but guess what? "is not supported" anymore so you have to use the https://support.paloalto .... You have to create the account and register the device, but you need Device Serial Number or Auth Code: or Sales Order Number or Customer Id. The only one you can get is the Serial number but it doesn't work. I had my account from a paloalto trainning with the business email, we also have physical paloaltos, but you can't register for support with this account for some reason...

AHHH but there's more, in the webconsole there's an email you can use to reach support team, i redacted my email with evidence of the issue just to find out this email is not a valid way to reach support since 1 march 2016, but the console still has the option.

i know this is a good solution but i don't know why this is so difficult when you are buying from AWS...

2 stars for the effort :D

2 people found this helpful

    Dawit

login issue ?

  • August 27, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have created a new instance of Palo Alto Firewall, I followed the steps to create public IP address to access the Fire Wall with user name admin password admin but not successful, keeps saying invalid username and password. Is there any other default password cause I haven’t set anything to begin with

1 person found this helpful

    Joe C.

Palo Alto

  • August 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's provide next generation security and able to provide deeper inspection of traffic
What do you dislike?
The gui is sometimes really slow and it takes a while to generate reports
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides next generation security firewall devices that are able to detect and protect against all forms of attacks
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend it base on the functions and security it provides. But there other next generation firewalls out there that may be cheaper such as fortigates fw


    Satisfied Customer

Excellent Products

  • August 20, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Palo Alto Networks products are excellent, and I've had no problems with them to date. You can run active-passive in two AZs if you want. Just create a Lambda function to monitor the firewall and change the AWS route table if the primary firewall fails. This is not a limitation of the PAN firewalls, but rather the way AWS works. Since AWS does not offer dynamic routing, you have to handle it in a different manner.