Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Splunk Enterprise

Splunk Inc. | 8.0.4.1

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

13 AWS reviews

External reviews

267 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Daniel P.

Splunk Review in 2020

  • June 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is very robust with being able to search network traffic, create dashboards and automate reports and alerts.
What do you dislike?
There is a large learning curve to being able to use Splunk and be able to understand what the data you're looking at filter through it all to find what you need. It's very good if you know what you're doing, which there is documentation for, but if you don't have lots of networking experience and knowledge it's easy to be lost and overwhelmed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We monitor all of our network's traffic with Splunk. It gives us metrics on what our University's population is using the network for and helps alert us if there are issues. It's a useful tool when troubleshooting login issues.


    Sourav S.

Splunk use cases in Enterprise Private Cloud

  • April 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The scalability and ease of deployment. it supports almost all hardware.
What do you dislike?
There are few bugs in integration environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for telemetry purpose and to set up on prem and public cloud component monitoring.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a very good platform for open solutions.


    Maya P.

Helped identify transaction dollar amount issues

  • April 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoyed that Splunk had all details for transactions; i.e. time, date, processor, exp date, PII, how & where the transaction was processed, device ID, etc. It also shows the initially authorized dollar amount of the transaction and if it was captured for a different amount.
What do you dislike?
Splunk can be very complicated to navigate and use for identifying a particular transaction. I often had to ask someone for assistance when attempting to search for something in particular or to understand fully what I was reading. There's definitely an overload of data and you can get lost looking for one or a few transactions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problems solved & benefits for fraud; A client had transaction issues where we were unable to determine the true amount of each transaction. Using Splunk allowed me to see how much the transaction was for and thus verify each transaction. If fraud occurred, I'd also be able to verify PII through Splunk & what was entered or retained at the time of the transaction.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A plethora of information, complicated to navigate, many different search options. Must know the most efficient way to navigate and narrow down search results.


    Information Technology and Services

Good but need improvements

  • April 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk is a good tool to create dashboards and measure application level performance including both Application, Network and Database layer
What do you dislike?
I found it provides limited or sometimes information thats either not required or not make much sense. May be as user, we need more training to understand it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Performance related issues or Past activity to study RCA


    ashish s.

Splunk - the real enterprise security platform

  • April 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the ease of use and coverage of the tool
What do you dislike?
initial setup had some challenges but with professional help we found some quick solutions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the big data and security logs analysis is entirely done through Splunk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
deploy it right and integrate with ITSM platform to achieve maximum results


    Niti P.

Data analytics is good but no product for IPv6 support

  • April 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The cloud splunk is easy to use and data storage is amazing.This is the biggest advantage of the product.
What do you dislike?
Inspite of being an amazing giant for data capturing and analysis, I dislike its capability to support IPv6 only infrastructure. Also they have no roadmap yet to go towards supporting it. SO this is the biggest limitation of the product as far as I am converned.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem that I am trying to solve is data analysis. We are using it for monitoring our enterprise environment, hardware and doing data analysis. The biggest advantage is ease of use with various kinds of infrastructure. So that is the reason I love this product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are planning to go too IPv6 for your internal infrastructure or have roadmap towards moving in that direction, then please avoid implementing this product unless they come up with the roadmap for the same. However if that is not the case, then definitely go towards this one.


    Shilpi A.

Splunk Enterprise the best for data analyzing

  • April 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk Enterprise provides the best analytics of the log. The best feature of Splunk are as follow:
- It provides the best visualization of data.
- ANy new user can easily onborad. The UI is very simple to learn.
- The Splunk provides the various support to the product likes the Salesforce, ServiceNow and Cisco.
- For all the above product there are apps and add-on created, so that one can easily visualize the data.
- Splunk documentation is very descriptive and easy to understand.
- One can ask the question in splunk answer.
- The help community is very active and always ready to help.
- The Splunk provides the best charts and dashboard.
What do you dislike?
Splunk Enterprise provides the best feature of data analytics. The Splunk can improve their app formation as sometimes the app takes so much of memory of computer.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Splunk provides the all features that I was looking for. In Splunk the very important logs can be monitored. In Splunk no data is loss. The security of data is first concern of Splunk.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Splunk Enterprise provides the best visualization with various types of dashboards, charts. One can easily create the custom dashboard according to its need. The Splunk Enterprise can be used by any individual or an company for the better visualization of logs. It provides the 1GB free data indexing, it is worth a try !!


    Joe L.

Powerful yet complex

  • March 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk offers a high level of granular detail whilst searching through event logs
What do you dislike?
The presentation of the information can be daunting upon first sight.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Log centralization, the ability to timeline security events from multiple sources.


    Arjun P.

Easy to use. Very useful

  • February 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Splunk tool really helps in debugging issues easily and it provides a great platform for analysis.
1. Easy to use queries.
2.Easy to access historical data
3. Easy to setup.
4.provides app specific details
5.easy to analysis the whole statistics of the data.
6. Good visualization box integration.
What do you dislike?
NA. Never faced any issue or dissatisfaction while using the application.
The whole application can be made responsive and optimal so that users need not wait to get the response of one query.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debugging
Analysis
Data occurance visualization
Easy to export data to the local machine
Easy to pinpoint the occurance of error in the code/git/source.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learning queries is important and using them optimally makes the process easiler.
Integrate the application with all the hosts and sources.
While debugging, once the specific logs are gayhered, export it for future use.


    Andrew d.

Data Visualization Wizard

  • November 21, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Splunk enables users to easily tell stories with their data. They have democratized a space that was once occupied by those who knew how to code.
What do you dislike?
Splunk hasn’t implemented a Machine Learning interface and I don’t think it was done right, there a many necessary features that should have been implemented before release
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to rapidly visualize data and create insights for companies.