Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

TYPO3 CMS 7.x

schams.net | 7.6.32b LTS

Linux/Unix, Debian 9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

29 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Christian R.

Yes, it's complex. That's a good thing!

  • May 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
TYPO3 is a content management framework that can be anything you want it to be.

I've been using it for tiny non-profit organizations and for SMEs with one editor who has no IT knowledge whatsoever. I've also been using it for a multinational site with editors from different countries and languages ranging from Arabic to Chinese. I've been using it as a web frontend for database applications. TYPO3 is really, really, REALLY versatile.
What do you dislike?
You can configure TYPO3 in a way that your editors will find it much(!) simpler to use than other CMSs (I'm looking at you, Wordpress!). Due to TYPO3's immense configurability, however, such a simplification can be cumbersome.

It would be nice to start with a predefined "simplified setting" directly built into the TYPO3 core (as opposed to a site package). This would make basic setups simpler. And you could work your way up to more complex scenarios from there, rather than the other way around.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- one-page "business card" for the web, that's client-editable (I'll admit that's a bit of a sledgehammer to crack a nut, but still ...)
- multi-language and multi-domain websites
- website with an associated webshop
- websites with blogs
- web frontend for own database applications
- workflow and approval processes (editors, editors-in-chief, translators)
- access control where different elements of the site are visible for the general public, for registered users or only for (paying) clients only
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have have a project that's not "of-the-shelf", then TYPO3 is for you! If you only need one single-language, single-domain and a-couple-of-pages website, then don't bother with it.


    Non-Profit Organization Management

Steepest Learning Curve

  • May 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best for a large enterprise site with many pages. For a large organization with a dedicated IT/Development team it is a good choice. It can support multiple sites very easily.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is very steep. Of the various CMS I have tried Typo3 was the most difficult to learn and teach. With a smaller, mostly European community there are probably other applications that would suit small to mid-size organizations better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I actually no longer use it having switched to another CMS some years ago because of the development issues.


    Robert D.

One of the top FOSS CMS projects of all time

  • May 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With TYPO3 you get a mature product that has served business-critical cases for over a decade. You also get a living, breathing, modern system that has remained vital for a long time. You also get a dedicated community and ecosystem that is not tied to a single vendor. It's really a thing of beauty.
What do you dislike?
A lot of the activity around TYPO3 is centered in Germany, which means that non-germans will have to work harder to find local resources, like user meetups.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
TYPO3 is really great for professional, maintainable, well performing websites that have clear navigation structures, and adhere to your company's branding and content workflows.


    Mrudang S.

Perfect CMS for all the web development need.

  • May 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Before i start working in Typo3 i have an experience of other CMS also. But after making my hands dirty in Typo3 i come to know that it is really great CMS to complete all your needs.

It’s multi domain functionality is awesome.
What do you dislike?
There is no such down side that i come across while using Typo3.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To create a multi domain website is just classic feature of Typo3.

Also managing a number of pages with fluid content is awesome
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just install it and see the magic what Typo3 can do.


    Higher Education

Administrating website in Typo 3

  • April 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the option that, external user can type information, notification for pending content appears till admin validates the data.
What do you dislike?
Site map tree is a bit scary when working with big websites.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing third party content on our website.


    Higher Education

Flexibility with a price tag

  • April 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can do a lot without 3rd party plugins
What do you dislike?
Steep learning curve and painful updates
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Large and complex sites are no problem with TYPO3


    Marketing and Advertising

TYPO3 Avoid it if you can!

  • March 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Typoscript. A configuration language is a great idea in principle - just not very easy to use. At all.
What do you dislike?
Pretty much everything. The backend layout is ugly and cluttered. Building the site is difficult and inflexible and the documentation is pretty much non existent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not solving any problems with it. I don't find it intuitive enough to reach for at any juncture. The single advantage it can have is a layer of typoscript as a configuration layer with a great deal of control over elements invoved in the site but it's not straightforward or very logical, so it's not my first choice to solve problems with this technnology.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use Laravel instead.


    Nageshwar J.

Best CMS for Enterprise Application

  • March 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
TYPO3 is one of the best for Large Scale Enterprise Application which you can trust on, I really like in TYPO3 that it doesn't have any limit to extend it and you can achieve anything and everything with this.

So, overall my experience is really great with TYPO3. I will surely suggest go for it atleast once.
What do you dislike?
The only thing which I don't like is you have to keep maintaining but it is good to get all security issues fixed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You can solve all your problems whichever way you want you can extend and use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have big plans to expand, go with TYPO3


    Sanjun Dev K.

Good Framework for content management

  • March 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Typo3 supports the custom components creation it really help me alot to make our customers easy to manage their elements with their own.
What do you dislike?
Typo3 is good framework and strong, but it is not easy to lear cause by the lack of documentation and community helpsl
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Typo3.helps me to build better websites which is reusable
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use the latest release always it is have a lot if changes from others and need to be understood more


    Calin B.

The best CMS

  • March 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With TYPO3 I made several hundred sites. From simple presentation sites to sites with high complexity. I also did for Universities with intranet, and for transport companies. It is easy to scale and uses the latest technical elements to develop a site. We have also developed multiroot websites for many domains. there is no point in proposing something to you and you cannot achieve with these powerful CMS. Responsive and on the admin side and SEO ready. A very good choice. The best!
What do you dislike?
There aren't things I don't like, but a solid online shop solution, maintained by the TYPO3 Association, would be welcome, so that we can rely on a supported and easy to implement solution.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I managed to implement as I mentioned above complex sites, for online ads, course planning, intranet, etc. I have been working with this CMS for many years and have developed many websites. In 2010 I also took TYPO3 Implementation Certified on V4.5, but since then I work with TYPO3 every day at the office for the clients of the company. I am also the Team Leader and Project Manager of the team within the company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Powerful, scalable, multilanguage, granular user rights, multiroot, multidoamin, SEO ready, all the features you need