Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

N2WS Backup & Recovery (CPM) Standard Edition

Starting from $199.00/mo for software + AWS usage fees

N2W Backup & Recovery is the leading backup, recovery and DR solution purpose-built for AWS workloads. By leveraging native snapshot technology N2WS provides an additional layer of security within your AWS environment and supports your EC2, NoSQL and serverless workloads. N2WS enables you to fully automate... See more

Customer Reviews

15
Create Your Own Review

Good for backup and recovery, annoying to ma

  • By Sean
  • on 03/13/2019

Works as intended for backup and recovery. Saves time for things you can do manually with the aws api.

The reason this is 4 stars instead of 5 is the way the service is provided as an AMI. It basically runs a web server and database on an ec2 instance and becomes a single point of failure like everything else. It is good for N2WS because they don't incur any infrastructure cost but it is a pain in the butt to have to keep upgrading versions by either patching or relaunching and reconfiguring instances. Changing subscription levels is also a pain. In my opinion, this service should be offered primarily as a SaaS service for all UI and state, and the ec2 instance should just be a self updating agent that can interface with the API. Even better would be to just give N2WS an IAM user and make it a pure SaaS solution. In 4 years I have had to upgrade CPM multiple times but I have only had to do an actual restore once which was to create a replica environment for testing a major upgrade.


The easiest EC2 Backup Solution I know

  • By Christian Pohle
  • on 11/17/2018

I am using CPM to back up all Instances in my AWS EC2 Cloud and I am very happy with it. During the years I had some needs to restore an instance or even single files and CPM did its job always as expected. For me, CPM is absolutely worth the money I spend.


Easy to setup

  • By Ken
  • on 11/13/2018

The software was very easy to setup and the support team were very helpful providing best practices. It has run without any problems for a year.


Probably the easiest AWS backup appliance, ever

  • By jeramiea
  • on 10/23/2018

Easy to setup, restore processes are easy. Support is fast and efficient. I would highly recommend the free version for anyone looking to have backups in AWS.

One CON: The freezer or backup archive does not have a schedule. I would prefer this is automated and not a manual process.


1 year usage

  • By Joe
  • on 09/25/2018

I have been using this software for around 1 year. For backing up Linux and Windows EC2 instances and also for backing up RDS instance(MySQL & MSSQL).

IT has worked flawlessly since I've implemented it and very easy to follow usage instructions.

Would highly recommend this for any AWS users.


Quickly became a favorite!

  • By DevOpsNY18
  • on 09/20/2018

We've been using CPM for 6 months now, to automate EBS snapshots and transfers/mounting in our DR environment. The GUI is straightforward and easy to use, and the tool itself has proven to be very reliable. CPM has quickly become one of our favorite infrastructure management tools!


CPM is a time saver

  • By peaster
  • on 09/18/2018

Automates the creation of AMIs and snapshots and cleans up the expired ones so you don't have to, unlike other products. Being able to send a DR copy to another region is also a bonus and enhances our disaster recovery process. Simple to use and configure. Highly recommend.


Good product, makes it easier to schedule snapshots and AMIs

  • By rm
  • on 09/18/2018

Being able to access files of snapshots right from the console is a great feature. GUI is easy to use.


Super-Easy

  • By LifesTo Short
  • on 08/06/2018

Yes this is a GUI wrapper over AWS functions that you can do yourself but who needs the headache of figuring it all out. n2ws has done all the heavy lifting for you. I was able to get backups scheduled and tested in a few hours. And you can do a restore from their GUI. Beautiful!!! Well worth the money, Excellent Customer service too.


CPM - A great value

  • By jcmps821
  • on 04/01/2017

Cloud Protection Manager does what it claims to do. How it can be even better:

It needs to schedule backups on a relative day basis - first Sunday or month, 2nd to last workday of the month, last day of each month, last day of every quarter. every two weeks, etc.

It would be good to have interface to Lambda to schedule CPM EC2 start ups & shutdown on a scheduled basis - good when you do infrequent but cyclic backups.

It would be nice to trigger one backup from another from within CPM.