Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

N2WS Backup & Recovery for AWS Standard Edition

N2W Software | 4.1.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

15 AWS reviews

External reviews

14 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Insurance

N2WS is a great solution for backing up your AWS environment

  • August 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is the only AWS backup solution that intelligently uses AWS functionality instead of trying to graft cloud functionality onto a traditional backup software.

The new interface is clean and easy to use
What do you dislike?
There have been a few problems with 3.0 that required multiple patches and upgrades but now they have it ironed out and working.

Support is only available via e-mail which makes it hard to troubleshoot the issue. The few times we have been able to get a Zoom meeting or a phone call have been much more effective.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are able to backup our environment as well as have a great DR system in place. It makes it a lot simpler.
We are now able to leverage different S3 tiering which has lowered costs


    Information Technology and Services

Great product and great Support

  • August 02, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It very easy to get the CPM server setup and doing basic backups to start protecting your AWS instances. Also like the new 3.0 user interface.
What do you dislike?
The user guide is not always clear on how to implement a given solution leaving me to contact support for clarification
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ability to have a cross account for direct S3 DR vault backups is huge. Makes the process of securing and retrieving a DR backup so much easier that the previous method we had engineered using a different vendors product
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its easy to try plus support is great


    Computer Software

Best solution for Backups

  • January 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has a relatively Simple interface. The recovery time feature is good. Flexible backup policies and scheduling which is very helpful
What do you dislike?
Ease of backup policy abstraction must be improved. Users must have access similar to IAM roles.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ease of scheduling backups and restoring then when needed with small number of steps .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go for it. It's easy to use and makes your backups an easy one click job at most if not automated.


    Sean

Good for backup and recovery, annoying to ma

  • March 13, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Works as intended for backup and recovery. Saves time for things you can do manually with the aws api.

The reason this is 4 stars instead of 5 is the way the service is provided as an AMI. It basically runs a web server and database on an ec2 instance and becomes a single point of failure like everything else. It is good for N2WS because they don't incur any infrastructure cost but it is a pain in the butt to have to keep upgrading versions by either patching or relaunching and reconfiguring instances. Changing subscription levels is also a pain. In my opinion, this service should be offered primarily as a SaaS service for all UI and state, and the ec2 instance should just be a self updating agent that can interface with the API. Even better would be to just give N2WS an IAM user and make it a pure SaaS solution. In 4 years I have had to upgrade CPM multiple times but I have only had to do an actual restore once which was to create a replica environment for testing a major upgrade.


    Christian Pohle

The easiest EC2 Backup Solution I know

  • November 17, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I am using CPM to back up all Instances in my AWS EC2 Cloud and I am very happy with it. During the years I had some needs to restore an instance or even single files and CPM did its job always as expected. For me, CPM is absolutely worth the money I spend.


    Ken

Easy to setup

  • November 13, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The software was very easy to setup and the support team were very helpful providing best practices. It has run without any problems for a year.


    jeramiea

Probably the easiest AWS backup appliance, ever

  • October 23, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Easy to setup, restore processes are easy. Support is fast and efficient. I would highly recommend the free version for anyone looking to have backups in AWS.

One CON: The freezer or backup archive does not have a schedule. I would prefer this is automated and not a manual process.


    Joe

1 year usage

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have been using this software for around 1 year. For backing up Linux and Windows EC2 instances and also for backing up RDS instance(MySQL & MSSQL).

IT has worked flawlessly since I've implemented it and very easy to follow usage instructions.

Would highly recommend this for any AWS users.


    DevOpsNY18

Quickly became a favorite!

  • September 20, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

We've been using CPM for 6 months now, to automate EBS snapshots and transfers/mounting in our DR environment. The GUI is straightforward and easy to use, and the tool itself has proven to be very reliable. CPM has quickly become one of our favorite infrastructure management tools!


    peaster

CPM is a time saver

  • September 18, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Automates the creation of AMIs and snapshots and cleans up the expired ones so you don't have to, unlike other products. Being able to send a DR copy to another region is also a bonus and enhances our disaster recovery process. Simple to use and configure. Highly recommend.