Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89
Create Your Own Review

    Andrew

AMI broken

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

These AMI's are broken, and don't allow login with the 'admin' user as documented. There is no support available for this, so good luck logging in!


    Stephon Chen

could not be connected after boot

  • October 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could not connect the instance after instance launched.
the same security group setting in Amazon AMI works.
Besides, nothing to test further.


    Oak Labs

Fast, easy, sane Debian deployment to EC2

  • October 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So glad the Debian project maintains this AMI. Working great for our provisioning of new machines as we build out our infrastructure.


    A.B.

Locked in

  • October 10, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Despite being OSS "free" software, something is misconfigured or Amazon is lacking an option to "un-lock-down" the instance.

With instances created with this AMI, you will not be able to mount the root volumes onto other Instances, which is crucial in times of recovery and emergency.

Do not use.


    Mark Weste

Works as Advertised

  • October 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

While not a professional sysadmin, I am a keen hobbyist and user of Debian. This image worked without fault for me. Thanks.


    jab

so far so good

  • October 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So far this has been a high-quality Debian 8 image. The only issue with it I've seen so far is the following error while setting it up:

/usr/sbin/grub-probe: warning: the device.map entry `hd0,msdos1' is invalid. Ignoring it. Please correct or delete your device.map.

And Googling around didn't immediately turn up what to do about it.

Otherwise would have been a perfect experience out-of-the-box.


    Rostyslav Malenko "Regards, Rostyslav"

Very good and comfortable

  • August 14, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very good and comfortable distributive. I am using it for high loaded servers. PHP-FPM 5.6 performance is better than 5.5 and compare to HHVM.


    Brad Spry

Found: HVM Support

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was concerned after seeing reviews complaining about a lack of HVM support. But after a cursory search, I found Debian's wiki page, which clearly contains regional HVM AMI IDS:

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Jessie

I Love Debian, and Debian loves me! Sappy!


    Coinhills

Works great~

  • May 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Finally found the best Debian AMI for HVM support...
It would be best choice for many startups..
Sure, I'll recommend it


    Esteban Monge

Great operating system

  • April 08, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Debian for years... I love that people upload to AWS.

Debian give a lot of benefits:
-Free/Libre
-Lots of software
-Free and constant updates
-Lots of documentation
-Fast and smooth
-Community supported

Good work for Debian team. Please Amazon put in official AMIs.