Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Customer Reviews

88
Create Your Own Review

could not be connected after boot

  • By Stephon Chen
  • on 10/31/2015

I could not connect the instance after instance launched.
the same security group setting in Amazon AMI works.
Besides, nothing to test further.


Fast, easy, sane Debian deployment to EC2

  • By Oak Labs
  • on 10/28/2015

So glad the Debian project maintains this AMI. Working great for our provisioning of new machines as we build out our infrastructure.


Locked in

  • By A.B.
  • on 10/10/2015

Despite being OSS "free" software, something is misconfigured or Amazon is lacking an option to "un-lock-down" the instance.

With instances created with this AMI, you will not be able to mount the root volumes onto other Instances, which is crucial in times of recovery and emergency.

Do not use.


Works as Advertised

  • By Mark Weste
  • on 10/02/2015

While not a professional sysadmin, I am a keen hobbyist and user of Debian. This image worked without fault for me. Thanks.


so far so good

  • By jab
  • on 10/02/2015

So far this has been a high-quality Debian 8 image. The only issue with it I've seen so far is the following error while setting it up:

/usr/sbin/grub-probe: warning: the device.map entry `hd0,msdos1' is invalid. Ignoring it. Please correct or delete your device.map.

And Googling around didn't immediately turn up what to do about it.

Otherwise would have been a perfect experience out-of-the-box.


Very good and comfortable

  • By Rostyslav Malenko "Regards, Rostyslav"
  • on 08/14/2015

Very good and comfortable distributive. I am using it for high loaded servers. PHP-FPM 5.6 performance is better than 5.5 and compare to HHVM.


Found: HVM Support

  • By Brad Spry
  • on 06/11/2015

I was concerned after seeing reviews complaining about a lack of HVM support. But after a cursory search, I found Debian's wiki page, which clearly contains regional HVM AMI IDS:

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Jessie

I Love Debian, and Debian loves me! Sappy!


Works great~

  • By Coinhills
  • on 05/13/2015

Finally found the best Debian AMI for HVM support...
It would be best choice for many startups..
Sure, I'll recommend it


Great operating system

  • By Esteban Monge
  • on 04/08/2015

I use Debian for years... I love that people upload to AWS.

Debian give a lot of benefits:
-Free/Libre
-Lots of software
-Free and constant updates
-Lots of documentation
-Fast and smooth
-Community supported

Good work for Debian team. Please Amazon put in official AMIs.


AWS Debian Linux

  • By seclorum
  • on 03/29/2015

This service is a great way to get a basic Linux system up and running and serving functionality on the Internet. With the AWS services, I'm able to move rapidly through design to a fully deployed system, with confidence that the services will function as needed throughout the lifetime of the project.