Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

115 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    SoftDevelop Tecnologia da Informacao LTDA

The Best Operating System.

  • May 09, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The best operating system.
Totally stable.
I use my VPC and works perfectly.
I look forward to stable version 7 for AWS wheenzy too.
The best choice.


    Ahmad Harthi

Stable and Reliable

  • May 05, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Debian is well known for its stability and reliability, also debian has thousands of packages available and has a very strong community which compensates for paid professional support.


    Sebastian Montini

the universal operating system

  • May 02, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

always used debian in my servers, nothing better than the universal operating system, and a AMI from debian itself :)


    Mehdi Kianpour

integration with VPC

  • May 01, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Yes, it's useful but I got some problems with integrating into VPC and adding NIC to it. So, when you add a NIC in your console, you should modify /etc/network/interfaces to make it up at boot and assign Fixed IP address. I also liked it more if it had some basic tools like 'less' installed.


    Daniil Krymov

Ephemeral storage

  • April 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Great product but it is not working with EC2's 'ephemeral storage' as expected.

For example, M1 Medium Instance currently comes with 410 GB of storage (aka 'ephemeral storage') which supposed to mount on load in /mnt (or at least be visible/accessible as a disk volume in /dev/xv[db]) ... if you deploy this image you won't see instance storage at all, it just does not mount in any form.


    Anastrophe

Be aware of a critical limitation!

  • April 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

As noted (by me, heh) on the Debian wiki for the Squeeze marketplace images:

Please note that a Marketplace image volume cannot be attached to another running instance (For example, to repair a broken /etc/fstab, or /etc/network/interfaces). This is a limitation of all Marketplace images, as described here: Official AWS documentation http://docs.aws.amazon.com/AWSEC2/latest/APIReference/ApiReference-query-AttachVolume.html


    Visualjeff

Easy and straightforward Linux image.

  • April 12, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Can't go wrong with this image.

I would of given a 5 star but I had to research what account to login as. FYI... Its "Admin"


    Travis Eddy

Login info is wrong...

  • April 09, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

its not root its admin so:
ssh -i <pem_file> admin@<ip_address>

NOT
ssh -i <pem_file> root@<ip_address>

like it says in the amazon console.

Now hopefully that's the only bug, because I really like debian.


    Alexey Kuznetsov

changed defaults

  • April 03, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

ssh does not allow to connect as root? why change defaults? original debian allows it.

why create admin user? why not to use root by default, and let me choose first user name.


    Bastian Wagner

Very good, but...

  • March 28, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Thanks for the Debian GNU/Linux AMI. The only issue I had experienced is that login is required with 'admin', instead of 'root' or 'ec2-user' as mentioned in the Amazon documentation.