Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sergio F.

The great mother of the Linux distros

  • August 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Well, I use Debian MATE as my personal workstation at work and at home. Also, I work at a company where we ship software along with Debian and SuperMicro servers. The maintainers of Debian are doing a really good job to keep up with maintaining compatibility with old packages.
This was the first Linux I installed, but it was too big for me. Now I realize it's very easy, but maybe painful to new users.
What do you dislike?
The time you have to wait for software (for example, VLC) to update. You install them outside the package manager that can break dependencies. It's the way the distro is meant to, but it feels very far away from the new packages and updates.
I always have had problems too with ethernet ports, I don't know why. I use TP-Link cards usually and I always have to spend a lot of time fixing these types of errors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are shipping software for the autoconfiguration of CPEs (GPON home routers, basically). My team is writing software in Python, Bash, and Javascript. The benefits are the stability. We have considered using Arch Linux (yes, due to some problems that arise with conflicts with packages, dependencies etc when upgrading, it is a horror) but it's still too much hard to move everything to Arch. Now along with Ansible, we will make Debian even better, and we are happy with it. We are still using Debian 8 but we're targeting version 9.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please, try MATE desktop environment!


    Computer Software

Sistema operativo libre y universal

  • August 02, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Gran soporte de la comunidad, fácil instalación y administración. Muy estable
What do you dislike?
Como cualquier linux conocimientos mínimos de terminal para su uso al 100%
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Instalado en muchos de los servidores que he implementado para todo tipo de funciones, incluso como cliente en producción


    Leandro D.

Total flexibility in OS deployments & configurations, no strings atqtached

  • July 30, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Users & organisations have total flexibility from source code up; only obligations are those inherent in free software licenses, usually applicable only if redistributing software outside of the organisation.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike in Debian itself; only points of attention are attrition in interoperability with proprietary software, typically those by Microsoft (nonstandard MS Windows network configuration, for instance), Adobe, Oracle & Autodesk (proprietary file formats).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Several users needed a more secure & flexible OS for technical tasks such as Web or Java development, network management, security administration, servers &c.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do not migrate wholesale, but start with servers & technical users. Pay special attention to interoperability needs if you depend of proprietary software.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Debian is my server OS

  • July 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Debian is stable, with a great community, you can find 'how to' for whatever you want, it is perfect as a server operating system.
It is an old distribution with many users and contributors around the world, and it is used as base for big desktop (and server) distribution like ubuntu.
You can easily follow the upgrade of the system without needed to install again the whole system.
You can also find experts to help you if you need training or services.
And it's free !
What do you dislike?
If I need to dislike something, sometimes for the stability purpose some software are kept back to an old version and we need additional repositories to enjoy new features.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Every time I need to host a service I use debian as my OS, websites, services like xmpp, or email server.
It's free, when you have learn to use it, it costs you nothing more, it's a huge business quality.
You can spend more money on human resources instead off paying big prize for licenses when you can have one of the best product for free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a really good, stable and followed operating system you can go with debian blinded, it is not the most simple as desktop OS, ubuntu, based on debian is great and you are with a derivative, so debian is still here.
You can easily work under debian in a virtual machine if you work as a developer and automate a lot of thing with ansible (and vagrant for the development environment setup).
You can deploy debian in almost all cloud platform and the mentality is conservative enough to assure you the stability you need for a business.


    Santiago A.

Very efficient and stable operating system

  • May 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Security and stability is very important, so much so that other projects such as Ubuntu rely on Debian to build all its architecture. I recommend it because you do not have to worry about formatting every six months or for any pendrive with viruses, that does not exist in this operating system. I have been using the operating system for years and I have not had any major problems. I have had problems for drivers but thanks to the community I solve them in a short time, if yours is to save money, you can have this operating system as option number three, the first is Linux Mint and the second Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
I do not like that you need to have medium knowledge to use it, it should be a little more friendly, maybe it is one of the secrets to maintain its high quality, but you should review that detail to gain more users. Another factor is the language, if you do not know the basics of English, you will have to work, although at present, with Google that is not very relevant but I would like to write that detail.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The first thing is to rescue files that were lost when a virus fell on my other proprietary operating system. The second, being free is unlimited everything I can use. But best of all, forget about viruses and format, it's amazing how I can use the resources of my PC to the maximum.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are starting a business or project, this operating system can save you a lot of resources, because you do not pay for use licenses, it is one of the biggest attractions you have, you just need to get familiar and ready, you can use a stable and maintained operating system for the global community without paying a dime unless you want to donate to the project.


    Olimar P.

Debian the distribution of the free software community

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
is an open source distribution, stable and highly respected in the world free software community, has more than one million contributors and is the basis of many other distributions such as ubuntu or canaima. It is easy to configure and with many predefined options according to use: for servers, personal computer, mail server, etc. It is very difficult to include "back doors" because it has a large global community of programmers and users with access to all the source code of its components, which are continuously evaluating them. The support of a large number of members, companies that provide software for this distribution, makes it the best open source alternative for quick solutions, with great support from the community for the solution of installation, configuration or security problems of its components. It has 25 years of evolution and is, without exaggeration, the most beloved of the Linux-based distributions,. It is the precursor of the package management system that allows to install software packages with a high degree of reliability in the compatibility of versions of the components, which allows a high degree of reliability and recovery in case of failures. Thanks Ian!.
What do you dislike?
the packages should be updated in less time, perhaps the policy of maintainers should be more flexible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
all server for my solutions use Debian, the last is a web project with Django for e-learning
Recommendations to others considering the product:
for services that need an operating system with good performance in high availability, use Debian


    Alfredo B.

Debian the best for the development new challenges????

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its greatest advantages is the high level of security and access control by roles and files, something at the level of performance when working with environments other than "Gnome", it has the need for an agreement that allows it to be Use makes it lighter than other operating systems.
What do you dislike?
Its disadvantage is that it does not have all the latest generation PC drivers or its installation is complex and this makes it tedious for new users who want to explore in the area of free software.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its disadvantage is that it does not have all the latest generation PC drivers or its installation is complex and this makes it tedious for new users who wish to explore in the area of free software. For a new user it will be very difficult since it does not share commands with Windows, which takes a while to get used to and can be adopted to a Linux operating system. The waiting time for updates or releases of stable versions is very long.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best thing would be to have updated repositories that allow the easy installation of drivers of the latest technology equipment and third-party software, making it easier to manage the operating system.


    Rosalia D.

debian the best operating system to extract all the potentialities of your hardware

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about debian is how it takes advantage of resources, when you need to optimally use computer hardware, debian is one of the best options, you can configure it to use resources only and exclusively for what you need, be it software development (excellent for IDEs heavier) or for virtualization, has a high configurability that allows you to focus the system for the task you need to perform, this is why it is one of my main options when choosing a highly functional operating system.
What do you dislike?
one of the details is the stability since there are usually several versions behind the most recent version. This makes it especially obvious, in the kernel and in the desktop environment; For example, kernel versions vary for each update that debian does.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
in the company we use debian as a server for different applications such as emails, web applications, among others we like for its number of stable repositories that allows us to ensure the continuity of the business.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend debian for the stability of its packages, and for the repositories in addition to being one of the communities with greater support for free, it has much higher hardware compatibility with more equipment due to its kernel that is configurable and adaptable. I recommend it.


    Computer Software

Debian - The GOTO AWS Linux Image

  • April 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Per the title, Debian is my go to Linux image for all distributed applications I manage on Amazon Web Services (AWS). As Debian, and the Linux kernel as a whole, are open source software, there is a vibrant and active community for
What do you dislike?
Currently, I have no qualms with the Debian operating system (OS).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debian provides a single, base OS image for all of my software production environments. With the Debian package manager, I can easily install
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Without prior Linux or terminal experience, there is a steep learning curve for its use.


    Marisela L.

Ease and robustness in only one.

  • March 21, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?

I love the ease and fluidity with which you can use the debian terminal and install the packages you need to use, with a simple apt-get or aptitude you can install packages to use in your day to day work, it also contains a variety of graphic environments beautiful and easy to use, its main advantage is to be a free software for those people who use free software in their debian jobs is an excellent option.
What do you dislike?
For people who do not have knowledge in Linux it is very difficult to use, often has problems with some dependencies of some packages and a more manual installation process has to be done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my work, it is a requirement to work with free software, this leads me to relate and learn much more about the installation of packages and the use of the shell, which I find wonderful. I am a web developer and have made many applications with my operating system debian.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendations is that you should have a little knowledge of linux before using this software.