Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Customer Reviews

88
Create Your Own Review

Debian+AWS=AWESOME

  • By Javier Arturo Rodriguez
  • on 05/08/2014

Provisioning an EC2 instance with this AMI allows us to bring all our packages, automation scripts, recipes and expertise to AWS in a stable, secure and well-supported platform - there's no need to juggle RPMs anymore.


A very good product

  • By Alessandro Bramato
  • on 05/03/2014

This Debian server is a very important test area for me. Thanks a lot to Amazon for this free opportunity. The configuration of istance is very simply and fast if you have a skill in IT scienze. I test virtual machine for a virtual pbx and a web server for word press. Firewall is easy to configure and change are applayed in real time. Congratulation for your cloud infrascture Amazon team.


VPS

  • By Indra Bayu
  • on 04/09/2014

I just create the VPS for my experience. I will study with this VPS. Create 1, but for thousand people


Scary billing

  • By NOESI.gr
  • on 04/04/2014

Could not set up the site to work properly before we ate up all free tier allowance in a day or two. Stuck now with expensive hosting plans before we could sort out which one is the right one for us.


Perfect and flexible virtual processing

  • By Lionel Kuhlmann
  • on 04/01/2014

Once I was setup to choose the linux and windows type I wanted, it is incredible easy to startup and test a mulitude of configuration.
One missing point though is the farce to use RD for windows+GPU setup - this is not useful


I'm familiar with Debian GNU/Linux.

  • By Hironobu SUZUKI
  • on 04/01/2014

I've been a user of GNU/Linux for long time. Debian GNU/Linux is a kind of liberal OS/Distribution for computer science or computer technology skill.


It's a Debian server. On AWS. It's free tier applicable. What more do you want?

  • By David Jennings
  • on 03/30/2014

It's Debian, it's awesome. It just works and the AWS is a piece of cake to deploy. Apparently this review needs to be 20 words and I can't think of more to use, but this instance is great. Give it a go!


As good as expected

  • By René
  • on 03/10/2014

If you are used to Debian this is your choice. No issues, no problems, same old Debian as everywhere.


Just in a few minutes

  • By Advantage PC
  • on 03/09/2014

Just about the time to setup a web server online with Apache, MySQL & PHP5. Secure and fast, no Debian install required, just click and use.
I really believe this will change the rules of the game for IT crow.


BAREBONES - follow my guide

  • By HardSaver "Tone"
  • on 02/17/2014

Look people - This is a bare bones debian install - to get a webserver going...(or basically anything installed)

After logging in with 'admin' and your private key via SSH

sudo nano /etc/apt/source.list

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main
deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main

deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy-updates main
deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy-updates main

You will have to update missing sw sources to the above.
Then;
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install tasksel #key install sw for complex installs

Then; Set up a webserver.

sudo tasksel install web-server
sudo apt-get install build-essential php5-dev php5-gd php-pear

#make the webserver start on boot via remote control file
sudo update-rc.d apache2 defaults

#Personally I cannot function with out the locate command!
sudo apt-get install locate

then
sudo updatedb #update the directory database

anyway that should help a lot in getting many setup to use the service!