Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

80 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yosibel Q.

more robust and efficient web server.

  • February 27, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Currently it is one of the most stable operating systems, the amount of stable packages compiled are very many, thanks to that it allows me to have the best stable and efficient software.
What do you dislike?
sometimes it takes a while to update the versions, due to its characteristics you need to have a prior knowledge of linux, and to use external devices you have to mount them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
currently serves as a web server and applications, in it are some databases in postgres, and file server in SFTP.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using debian for the stability of your kernel, and for the amount of stable compiled packages, it is robust, flexible, secure and fast.


    carlos d.

one of the best servers

  • February 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
what I like about this operating system is the great capacity of stable compiled packages, with respect to the different operating systems of this type of open source, the adaptability of its kernel is fantastic.
What do you dislike?
must be immersed in the world of consols of this type of system a user from 0 is a bit difficult to learn and even more if it comes from an operating system such as windows, to use external devices must be mounted by console as they are in the case of servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we currently use debian 9 for a web page platform, confiding their iptables to mitigate DDOS attacks, it should be noted that it is very stable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although not all window applications are available for debian, for the server environment is still one of the most robust and stable, I highly recommend using it for web applications, and ftp servers, sftp etc .


    Laurent C.

Debian great OS Linux

  • January 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like its simplicity and versatility in use.
constantly changing the OS always in the right direction.
All applications within reach of clique, the essential free software to be able to work in good condition.
There is a lot of version between CD, DVD even netinstall which allow to choose its version from the lightest to the most complete.
And thanks to the internet we can find support everywhere and even in French, many forums and users as well as tutorial videos can help you better control Debian.
Debian can be installed on the latest high-end PCs as on older machines and the server version is the most used currently.
What do you dislike?
I prefer to use another environment (xfce) than the basic one too clean.
Know a minimum of the command lines to properly use the OS.
You have to get used to this environment when you were too long a Windows user. The change may seem harsh.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
it is Linux so cheaper than other OS market. Everyone can use Debian.
The vast majority of software is free and can be added to work peacefully, the OS is very stable and no need to update each week.
In our administration we move slowly but surely to Debian.
This leads to a gain in productivity and a significant gain in economy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Debian improves from year to year, it becomes more user friendly, simpler, more ergonomic to use for people.
To try it is to adopt it.


    mary carmen v.

Debian the most robust operating system.

  • January 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
its cost is 0 since it is free distribution and its updates are free, due to its features there are no malware or viruses for this system, also has thousands of very stable compatible packages, it should also be noted that your kernel is easily adaptable to your needs.
What do you dislike?
You need a prior knowledge in Linux to be able to use the Operating System in comfort.
· The time between releases of stable versions is long.
· Installation is difficult for a user without knowledge in Linux.
· External devices such as pendrives, etc. they have to be assembled by the user.
· The use of Debian for Windows users is inconvenient, since most applications are made through Debian Shell command.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?

Currently in our company debian is used in the server environment, with different applications including SFTP servers, for the management of important files, the stability and fluidity that debian offers in combination with the hardware resources of our IT infrastructure, it is a really good combination significant for the resolution of problems in our company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
one of the best distributions of linux I highly recommend its use in the environment of servers and desktop computers.


    folex

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why?

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why? Big m4 instances are there, but not c4? Is there any reason for that? Very strange.


    ft

Great, it's Debian after all

  • October 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only thing I wish is that an ami with /var separated out would be nice to have. It's a significant hassle to do this.


    linux_aws

AMI Instance Authentication Issues

  • September 01, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If this AMI is used to create an instance, that would change something and use it to create a new AMI, then the authentication on the latest instance created will be possible only using the initial SSH authentication keys that has been used initially, even if you add a different key when creating the final instance. Anyone has an idea why?


    jk04

Could not use snapshot to launch new instance

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Debian everywhere but am not sure if I will use it again on aws. Today, I created a new image from a snapshot but could not launch a new instance from the image. Here is the error message:

Launch Failed
The instance configuration for this AWS Marketplace product is not supported. Please see http://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp?sku=3f8t6t8fp5m9xx18yzwriozxi for more information about supported instance types, regions, and operating systems.

Creating security groups Successful
Authorizing inbound rules Successful
Initiating launches Failure

This means if you terminate your instance intentionally or by accident, you won't be able to create it from your snapshots.


    CyrexCore2k "CyrexCore2k"

Nothing wrong with this image (Check your routing table)

  • December 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like others I experienced some issues connecting to instances spun up from this image. The reason people are having trouble is this image runs on a VPC which is a little bit trickier to configure than EC2. In addition to the Elastic IP and Security Group you need a VPC, Subnet, Routing Table, Gateway. None of the configuration is terribly complex if you're familiar with the concepts but there's just a lot of ways it can be done incorrectly. In my case I forgot to add my gateway to the routing table so none of the instance's traffic was making it back to me. Once I added the gateway to the routing table everything worked great. :)


    Shawn Welch

Only 8GB

  • December 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Totally sucks. Every Debian Jessie AMI in marketplace and community will ONLY partition itself with 8GB despite setting the EBS size.