Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


1-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    folex

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why?

  • October 28, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Lacks c4.8xlarge support. Why? Big m4 instances are there, but not c4? Is there any reason for that? Very strange.


    jk04

Could not use snapshot to launch new instance

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Debian everywhere but am not sure if I will use it again on aws. Today, I created a new image from a snapshot but could not launch a new instance from the image. Here is the error message:

Launch Failed
The instance configuration for this AWS Marketplace product is not supported. Please see http://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp?sku=3f8t6t8fp5m9xx18yzwriozxi for more information about supported instance types, regions, and operating systems.

Creating security groups Successful
Authorizing inbound rules Successful
Initiating launches Failure

This means if you terminate your instance intentionally or by accident, you won't be able to create it from your snapshots.


    Shawn Welch

Only 8GB

  • December 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Totally sucks. Every Debian Jessie AMI in marketplace and community will ONLY partition itself with 8GB despite setting the EBS size.


    Andrew

AMI broken

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

These AMI's are broken, and don't allow login with the 'admin' user as documented. There is no support available for this, so good luck logging in!


    Stephon Chen

could not be connected after boot

  • October 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could not connect the instance after instance launched.
the same security group setting in Amazon AMI works.
Besides, nothing to test further.


    A.B.

Locked in

  • October 10, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Despite being OSS "free" software, something is misconfigured or Amazon is lacking an option to "un-lock-down" the instance.

With instances created with this AMI, you will not be able to mount the root volumes onto other Instances, which is crucial in times of recovery and emergency.

Do not use.


    NOESI.gr

Scary billing

  • April 04, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Could not set up the site to work properly before we ate up all free tier allowance in a day or two. Stuck now with expensive hosting plans before we could sort out which one is the right one for us.


    Mark Silvester

DO NOT USE MARKETPLACE AMIS

  • December 13, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Do not use marketplace images, if you accidentally make the root disk unbootable, you can not fix it by attaching that disk to another server.


    Yan Zhao

Error in ssh2: I/O error in version negotiation

  • July 30, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I used a Debian 7.1 64bit (ami-50d9a439), the instance runs, but I cannot use SSH to connect that instance, the error message is "Error in ssh2: I/O error in version negotiation{com.mindbright.ssh2.SSH2VersionNegotiationException: I/O error in version negotiation}"

so I terminated that Debian instance, create a Ubuntu Server 12.04.2 LTS, everything is fine


showing 1 - 9