Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Customer Reviews

62
  • 62
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Great, it's Debian after all

  • By ft
  • on 10/05/2016

The only thing I wish is that an ami with /var separated out would be nice to have. It's a significant hassle to do this.


Nothing wrong with this image (Check your routing table)

  • By CyrexCore2k "CyrexCore2k"
  • on 12/31/2015

Like others I experienced some issues connecting to instances spun up from this image. The reason people are having trouble is this image runs on a VPC which is a little bit trickier to configure than EC2. In addition to the Elastic IP and Security Group you need a VPC, Subnet, Routing Table, Gateway. None of the configuration is terribly complex if you're familiar with the concepts but there's just a lot of ways it can be done incorrectly. In my case I forgot to add my gateway to the routing table so none of the instance's traffic was making it back to me. Once I added the gateway to the routing table everything worked great. :)


Great!

  • By Tom "tom1384"
  • on 11/16/2015

This is a fantastic Debian image. Users complaining that the admin user doesn't work are probably not authenticating with their AWS key. It is key-based authentication with "admin" as the user. I just built another instance today using this image, and it worked just fine. Thanks Debian!


Fast, easy, sane Debian deployment to EC2

  • By Oak Labs
  • on 10/28/2015

So glad the Debian project maintains this AMI. Working great for our provisioning of new machines as we build out our infrastructure.


so far so good

  • By jab
  • on 10/02/2015

So far this has been a high-quality Debian 8 image. The only issue with it I've seen so far is the following error while setting it up:

/usr/sbin/grub-probe: warning: the device.map entry `hd0,msdos1' is invalid. Ignoring it. Please correct or delete your device.map.

And Googling around didn't immediately turn up what to do about it.

Otherwise would have been a perfect experience out-of-the-box.


Works as Advertised

  • By Mark Weste
  • on 10/02/2015

While not a professional sysadmin, I am a keen hobbyist and user of Debian. This image worked without fault for me. Thanks.


Very good and comfortable

  • By Rostyslav Malenko "Regards, Rostyslav"
  • on 08/14/2015

Very good and comfortable distributive. I am using it for high loaded servers. PHP-FPM 5.6 performance is better than 5.5 and compare to HHVM.


Found: HVM Support

  • By Brad Spry
  • on 06/11/2015

I was concerned after seeing reviews complaining about a lack of HVM support. But after a cursory search, I found Debian's wiki page, which clearly contains regional HVM AMI IDS:

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Jessie

I Love Debian, and Debian loves me! Sappy!


Works great~

  • By Coinhills
  • on 05/13/2015

Finally found the best Debian AMI for HVM support...
It would be best choice for many startups..
Sure, I'll recommend it


Great operating system

  • By Esteban Monge
  • on 04/08/2015

I use Debian for years... I love that people upload to AWS.

Debian give a lot of benefits:
-Free/Libre
-Lots of software
-Free and constant updates
-Lots of documentation
-Fast and smooth
-Community supported

Good work for Debian team. Please Amazon put in official AMIs.