Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    ft

Great, it's Debian after all

  • October 05, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The only thing I wish is that an ami with /var separated out would be nice to have. It's a significant hassle to do this.


    CyrexCore2k "CyrexCore2k"

Nothing wrong with this image (Check your routing table)

  • December 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like others I experienced some issues connecting to instances spun up from this image. The reason people are having trouble is this image runs on a VPC which is a little bit trickier to configure than EC2. In addition to the Elastic IP and Security Group you need a VPC, Subnet, Routing Table, Gateway. None of the configuration is terribly complex if you're familiar with the concepts but there's just a lot of ways it can be done incorrectly. In my case I forgot to add my gateway to the routing table so none of the instance's traffic was making it back to me. Once I added the gateway to the routing table everything worked great. :)


    Tom "tom1384"

Great!

  • November 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a fantastic Debian image. Users complaining that the admin user doesn't work are probably not authenticating with their AWS key. It is key-based authentication with "admin" as the user. I just built another instance today using this image, and it worked just fine. Thanks Debian!


    Oak Labs

Fast, easy, sane Debian deployment to EC2

  • October 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So glad the Debian project maintains this AMI. Working great for our provisioning of new machines as we build out our infrastructure.


    jab

so far so good

  • October 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So far this has been a high-quality Debian 8 image. The only issue with it I've seen so far is the following error while setting it up:

/usr/sbin/grub-probe: warning: the device.map entry `hd0,msdos1' is invalid. Ignoring it. Please correct or delete your device.map.

And Googling around didn't immediately turn up what to do about it.

Otherwise would have been a perfect experience out-of-the-box.


    Mark Weste

Works as Advertised

  • October 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

While not a professional sysadmin, I am a keen hobbyist and user of Debian. This image worked without fault for me. Thanks.


    Rostyslav Malenko "Regards, Rostyslav"

Very good and comfortable

  • August 14, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very good and comfortable distributive. I am using it for high loaded servers. PHP-FPM 5.6 performance is better than 5.5 and compare to HHVM.


    Brad Spry

Found: HVM Support

  • June 11, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I was concerned after seeing reviews complaining about a lack of HVM support. But after a cursory search, I found Debian's wiki page, which clearly contains regional HVM AMI IDS:

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Jessie

I Love Debian, and Debian loves me! Sappy!


    Coinhills

Works great~

  • May 13, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Finally found the best Debian AMI for HVM support...
It would be best choice for many startups..
Sure, I'll recommend it


    Esteban Monge

Great operating system

  • April 08, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Debian for years... I love that people upload to AWS.

Debian give a lot of benefits:
-Free/Libre
-Lots of software
-Free and constant updates
-Lots of documentation
-Fast and smooth
-Community supported

Good work for Debian team. Please Amazon put in official AMIs.