Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Customer Reviews

62
  • 62
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Debian is everywhere

  • By Fabio Giulio Simeoni
  • on 02/04/2014

I tried it for a short time. I know Debian well and so I can say that you have to use it on AWS


Rock solid, no problems

  • By Jeff
  • on 01/24/2014

Its an office Debian AMI, whats not to like?

There are a couple of things to note:

1. You cannot login as root by default, but must use the admin user.

2. M3.small is not yet available.

great product.


Works as expected

  • By Vincent Loubser
  • on 01/08/2014

The standard Debian experience - everything is set up the way you expect it to be. No problems or misconfiguration experienced to date.


Excellent - had Eccet running in the cloud in no time

  • By Bedatec
  • on 11/29/2013

While it is no wonder, as this is the standard deployment scenario, I still was amazed that I had Eccet up and running "in the cloud" just three days after I had started to look at Amazon Web Services at all.

Much of that attributes to have my standard deployment base OS available. The installation went so smooth that I am hard-pressed to find two little nags:
- It took me a moment to get used to the Ubuntu-style sudo-to-be-root configuration.
- The hostname isn't set to something that would resolve externally, but given the possibilities of assigning this very flexibly in the AWS, it might just not be possible always.

The latter was the only thing I needed to "fix" by setting it to the public instance DNS name, as my application uses the hostname to register instances with the broker service.

Overall rating: Excellent!


Very good

  • By Eneias
  • on 11/26/2013

It is a well configured version of Debian 7, that I have installed php 5 mysql to run my applications. It work very fast.


Solid as a rock

  • By Bruno Sauer
  • on 10/17/2013

This is the mother of various Linux distros and much appreciated by software professionals. I've been using live-build for a couple of weeks now and it is a thing of beauty. Thank you Debian.


Works great

  • By Siri Vias Khalsa
  • on 10/09/2013

Its debian, works great.

Notes:
Log in as admin.
You have to "purchase" and accept the terms of the image before you can deploy it.


Debian is our choice since 1999

  • By Global Business Services
  • on 10/03/2013

Debian is prime choice for IT professionals, and we are using it since 1999. Packaging system provides quick installation of thousands of software programs. Updates are such that one need not re-install the system for years or never.


Great and Stable AMI

  • By Keerati Inochanon
  • on 09/23/2013

Exactly what you could expect from Debian. For those who have issues with logging in, please make sure you're using the 'admin' user as opposed to the 'root' user.


First choice for webservers

  • By Peter Meter "Peter"
  • on 09/17/2013

I’ve been using Debian for several years now and I’m completely satisfied. Stability, security and support are great. All software I want to use is available through aptitude or can be installed without any problems.