Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

    Fabio Giulio Simeoni

Debian is everywhere

  • February 04, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I tried it for a short time. I know Debian well and so I can say that you have to use it on AWS


    Jeff

Rock solid, no problems

  • January 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Its an office Debian AMI, whats not to like?

There are a couple of things to note:

1. You cannot login as root by default, but must use the admin user.

2. M3.small is not yet available.

great product.


    Vincent Loubser

Works as expected

  • January 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The standard Debian experience - everything is set up the way you expect it to be. No problems or misconfiguration experienced to date.


    Bedatec

Excellent - had Eccet running in the cloud in no time

  • November 29, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

While it is no wonder, as this is the standard deployment scenario, I still was amazed that I had Eccet up and running "in the cloud" just three days after I had started to look at Amazon Web Services at all.

Much of that attributes to have my standard deployment base OS available. The installation went so smooth that I am hard-pressed to find two little nags:
- It took me a moment to get used to the Ubuntu-style sudo-to-be-root configuration.
- The hostname isn't set to something that would resolve externally, but given the possibilities of assigning this very flexibly in the AWS, it might just not be possible always.

The latter was the only thing I needed to "fix" by setting it to the public instance DNS name, as my application uses the hostname to register instances with the broker service.

Overall rating: Excellent!


    Eneias

Very good

  • November 26, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is a well configured version of Debian 7, that I have installed php 5 mysql to run my applications. It work very fast.


    Bruno Sauer

Solid as a rock

  • October 17, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is the mother of various Linux distros and much appreciated by software professionals. I've been using live-build for a couple of weeks now and it is a thing of beauty. Thank you Debian.


    Siri Vias Khalsa

Works great

  • October 09, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Its debian, works great.

Notes:
Log in as admin.
You have to "purchase" and accept the terms of the image before you can deploy it.


    Global Business Services

Debian is our choice since 1999

  • October 03, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Debian is prime choice for IT professionals, and we are using it since 1999. Packaging system provides quick installation of thousands of software programs. Updates are such that one need not re-install the system for years or never.


    Keerati Inochanon

Great and Stable AMI

  • September 23, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Exactly what you could expect from Debian. For those who have issues with logging in, please make sure you're using the 'admin' user as opposed to the 'root' user.


    Peter Meter "Peter"

First choice for webservers

  • September 17, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I’ve been using Debian for several years now and I’m completely satisfied. Stability, security and support are great. All software I want to use is available through aptitude or can be installed without any problems.