Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian is a computer operating system composed of software packages released as free and open source software primarily under the GNU General Public License along with other free software licenses. Debian GNU/Linux, which includes the GNU OS tools and Linux kernel, is a popular and influential Linux... See more

Customer Reviews

62
  • 62
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0
Create Your Own Review

5-star reviews ( Show all reviews )

Deb7 for LAMP Stack with cloud hybrid SQL cluster

  • By cor
  • on 05/29/2013

It would have been a 4G download to the datacenter for any other deployment option.

You will need to install build-essentials and update apt sources.list with your favorites for LAMP and monitoring.

Created a virtual-private-hybrid-hyper-cloud to link the office and datacenter for local(HQ) backups and business continuity purposes. Fantastic to find this distro in the market place. Thank You!


Simple, straightforward, works.

  • By M. Morim
  • on 05/27/2013

Stable OS, super simple instance launch (as it is with all AWS AMIs), works out of the box and it's free.
winning.


The free OS

  • By Alejandro Brito Monedero
  • on 05/27/2013

Nice and stable. I am waiting for the new version of the distro.

Kudos for the maintainers.

PD: Remember that for logging in an instance you have to use a user distinct from root.


The Best Operating System.

  • By SoftDevelop Tecnologia da Informacao LTDA
  • on 05/09/2013

The best operating system.
Totally stable.
I use my VPC and works perfectly.
I look forward to stable version 7 for AWS wheenzy too.
The best choice.


Stable and Reliable

  • By Ahmad Harthi
  • on 05/05/2013

Debian is well known for its stability and reliability, also debian has thousands of packages available and has a very strong community which compensates for paid professional support.


the universal operating system

  • By Sebastian Montini
  • on 05/02/2013

always used debian in my servers, nothing better than the universal operating system, and a AMI from debian itself :)


Ephemeral storage

  • By Daniil Krymov
  • on 04/15/2013

Great product but it is not working with EC2's 'ephemeral storage' as expected.

For example, M1 Medium Instance currently comes with 410 GB of storage (aka 'ephemeral storage') which supposed to mount on load in /mnt (or at least be visible/accessible as a disk volume in /dev/xv[db]) ... if you deploy this image you won't see instance storage at all, it just does not mount in any form.


Login info is wrong...

  • By Travis Eddy
  • on 04/09/2013

its not root its admin so:
ssh -i <pem_file> admin@<ip_address>

NOT
ssh -i <pem_file> root@<ip_address>

like it says in the amazon console.

Now hopefully that's the only bug, because I really like debian.


Love Debian, finally something official

  • By Ben Abrams
  • on 02/03/2013

As a Systems Admin in a mostly Debian Shop still migrating from Ubuntu I was very happy when I saw there was a simple way to install Debian. Several months ago there wasn't an easy way that did not involve using some persons AMI who was not offically connected to the Debian Project). Was gonna result to installing Ubuntu and cry at how old most of the packages are compared to debian testing (which is quite stable for anyone wondering), but Debian came to the rescue.

Keep it up!


Full power of Debian on AWS EC2

  • By Aurelien Deleusiere
  • on 02/02/2013

ssh user name is "admin" I've been wondering hours before getting a response. Hope it will help someone...