Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

115 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    NOESI.gr

Scary billing

  • April 04, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Could not set up the site to work properly before we ate up all free tier allowance in a day or two. Stuck now with expensive hosting plans before we could sort out which one is the right one for us.


    Hironobu SUZUKI

I'm familiar with Debian GNU/Linux.

  • April 01, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I've been a user of GNU/Linux for long time. Debian GNU/Linux is a kind of liberal OS/Distribution for computer science or computer technology skill.


    Lionel Kuhlmann

Perfect and flexible virtual processing

  • April 01, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Once I was setup to choose the linux and windows type I wanted, it is incredible easy to startup and test a mulitude of configuration.
One missing point though is the farce to use RD for windows+GPU setup - this is not useful


    David Jennings

It's a Debian server. On AWS. It's free tier applicable. What more do you want?

  • March 30, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's Debian, it's awesome. It just works and the AWS is a piece of cake to deploy. Apparently this review needs to be 20 words and I can't think of more to use, but this instance is great. Give it a go!


    René

As good as expected

  • March 10, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you are used to Debian this is your choice. No issues, no problems, same old Debian as everywhere.


    Advantage PC

Just in a few minutes

  • March 09, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Just about the time to setup a web server online with Apache, MySQL & PHP5. Secure and fast, no Debian install required, just click and use.
I really believe this will change the rules of the game for IT crow.


    HardSaver "Tone"

BAREBONES - follow my guide

  • February 17, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Look people - This is a bare bones debian install - to get a webserver going...(or basically anything installed)

After logging in with 'admin' and your private key via SSH

sudo nano /etc/apt/source.list

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main
deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy main

deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main

deb http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy-updates main
deb-src http://http.debian.net/debian wheezy-updates main

You will have to update missing sw sources to the above.
Then;
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install tasksel #key install sw for complex installs

Then; Set up a webserver.

sudo tasksel install web-server
sudo apt-get install build-essential php5-dev php5-gd php-pear

#make the webserver start on boot via remote control file
sudo update-rc.d apache2 defaults

#Personally I cannot function with out the locate command!
sudo apt-get install locate

then
sudo updatedb #update the directory database

anyway that should help a lot in getting many setup to use the service!


    stephan T

Easy and quick install of debian for my development environment

  • February 16, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I have created 3 environments for development, test and production with debian Linux. Installation was fast and easy and it runs flawless.
Combined with the right backup tools and space on S1 it is secure. Even the t1-micro environment is fast enough to do all the tasks I want.


    Chris

Debian command lines are different from the tutorials

  • February 12, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If you aren't familiar with linux, specifically Debian linux, pick CentOS. The instructions aren't written for Debian. After a couple of hours on Google trying to make it work, I deleted the instance and started over with CentOS. CentOS was up and running in half an hour.


    JLFrancois

The Perfect Virtual Machine

  • February 11, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is Debian and that is what makes it easy to deploy and in minutes I have exactly what I need in any size instance.