Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

115 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Luca Villani

Simply a debian :-)

  • February 09, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

No more to say: a small debian wheezy image, perfect to customize via --user-data-file switch of ec2-run-instances command (in your script remember to regenerate sshd keys and to remove "admin" unix user).


    Hunter Grubbs

Debian is stable as ever

  • February 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a stable image of Debian 7 (wheezy), and contains all that you would expect as such. Startup services are trimmed down to minimal for a lean footprint. Great for production.


    Ian Cognito

Great service - needs a couple of very minor refinements

  • February 05, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The Debian instance that I fired up was 7.3 and everything went off without a hitch.

I noticed in the other reviews the issue with logging in as 'admin' instead of 'root'. A good security move on Amazon/Debian's part, but a potential gotcha that should be brought to the attention of the installer with a bit more prominence, as a suggestion.

This instance was very well thought out, in terms of defaults, and the person or people responsible should be commended for a job well done. The instance naming convention could be a bit clearer, as a suggestion.

The step-by-step procedures are clear and comprehensive. I would have no hesitation in recommending this service, based on what has happened so far. I intend to put other services on AWS as a result of this experience.


    Fabio Giulio Simeoni

Debian is everywhere

  • February 04, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I tried it for a short time. I know Debian well and so I can say that you have to use it on AWS


    Jeff

Rock solid, no problems

  • January 24, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Its an office Debian AMI, whats not to like?

There are a couple of things to note:

1. You cannot login as root by default, but must use the admin user.

2. M3.small is not yet available.

great product.


    Vincent Loubser

Works as expected

  • January 08, 2014
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The standard Debian experience - everything is set up the way you expect it to be. No problems or misconfiguration experienced to date.


    Mark Silvester

DO NOT USE MARKETPLACE AMIS

  • December 13, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Do not use marketplace images, if you accidentally make the root disk unbootable, you can not fix it by attaching that disk to another server.


    Bedatec

Excellent - had Eccet running in the cloud in no time

  • November 29, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

While it is no wonder, as this is the standard deployment scenario, I still was amazed that I had Eccet up and running "in the cloud" just three days after I had started to look at Amazon Web Services at all.

Much of that attributes to have my standard deployment base OS available. The installation went so smooth that I am hard-pressed to find two little nags:
- It took me a moment to get used to the Ubuntu-style sudo-to-be-root configuration.
- The hostname isn't set to something that would resolve externally, but given the possibilities of assigning this very flexibly in the AWS, it might just not be possible always.

The latter was the only thing I needed to "fix" by setting it to the public instance DNS name, as my application uses the hostname to register instances with the broker service.

Overall rating: Excellent!


    Eneias

Very good

  • November 26, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It is a well configured version of Debian 7, that I have installed php 5 mysql to run my applications. It work very fast.


    Bruno Sauer

Solid as a rock

  • October 17, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is the mother of various Linux distros and much appreciated by software professionals. I've been using live-build for a couple of weeks now and it is a thing of beauty. Thank you Debian.