Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

115 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Siri Vias Khalsa

Works great

  • October 09, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Its debian, works great.

Notes:
Log in as admin.
You have to "purchase" and accept the terms of the image before you can deploy it.


    Global Business Services

Debian is our choice since 1999

  • October 03, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Debian is prime choice for IT professionals, and we are using it since 1999. Packaging system provides quick installation of thousands of software programs. Updates are such that one need not re-install the system for years or never.


    Keerati Inochanon

Great and Stable AMI

  • September 23, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Exactly what you could expect from Debian. For those who have issues with logging in, please make sure you're using the 'admin' user as opposed to the 'root' user.


    Peter Meter "Peter"

First choice for webservers

  • September 17, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I’ve been using Debian for several years now and I’m completely satisfied. Stability, security and support are great. All software I want to use is available through aptitude or can be installed without any problems.


    Carlos Saltos

Debian rocks !! (Y) :)

  • August 21, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This instance is amazing !! ... I recommend it very much. Ah !! ... and by the way, IMPORTANT: the user you must use to connect is admin, not the regular ec2-user as with other instances ... I've read several comments about connection errors, just use admin instead of ec2-user and you will be fine and please, RTFM when you have an error !! ;) :)


    Rafael Viotti

Excelent AMI

  • August 20, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Excelent AMI by Debian.

Those giving it a low rating because of SSH connection issues should read the Debian docs.

“ In line with the security of most Linux distributions on Amazon Web Services, remote root SSH is disabled (as is password authentication). You will need to connect to instances from this AMI as the user admin using your SSH key, and then sudo -i to gain root access. ”

https://wiki.debian.org/Cloud/AmazonEC2Image/Wheezy

The machine comes with the root SSH account disabled. Use the admin account.

ssh -i keypair.pem admin@5#.2##.1##.##

Instead of

ssh -i keypair.pem root@5#.2##.1##.##


    Matthew Malkin

Does what it says on the tin

  • August 18, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The debian gnu/linux machine image is exactly what you'd expect. When used you get a lovely working copy of debian running and ready to use. What more could you want?


    Elias Vieira Miranda

Debian Students

  • August 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

necessary, very , good, technological, surprising, free, solver, fine, creative, innovator, necessary, very , good, technological
surprising, free, solver, fine, creative, innovator


    Samuel Wanyonyi

Best Server Os

  • August 15, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Very stable, light weight and easy to manage.
Works perfectly as a general server OS with its easy to use apt-get package manager for installing other software.
With its stability I can focus on my application development without worrying about server issues.
I would recommend this to anyone anytime.

Thanks Debian team for this image.


    R. Frush

Edited:Current release seems to be broken!

  • August 14, 2013
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Hopefully this update will help someone in the future:

Feedback from Debian:

Debian has set the default user to be "admin" rather than "root". This is called out in the Usage Instructions, but those instructions are sometimes not seen in the normal path of 1-Click launching the product.


ORIGINAL REVIEW:

I've tried twice now, and both instances wont connect with the key-pair

(example command tried)
ssh -i keypair.pem root@5#.2##.1##.##

Giving up and switching back to Ubuntu instance. Please Debian, fix this.