Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

89 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    George B.

Debian the most stable operating system based on Linux

  • May 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Debian is undoubtedly the philosophy of the operating system in which safety and stability prevail over all this is why developers often choose outdated versions of some applications that are considered safer and without bug known, this is why Debian is used especially in servers.

Another important aspect to choose Debian are its repositories in which we can find thousands of totally free software applications that prevent us from having to search for the software on the internet putting at risk the security of our equipment, this software available in the repositories is reviewed by a team specialized of people who collaborate with Debian.
What do you dislike?
The most important problem that most operating systems based on Linux have is that they can not use certain applications since they are only available in Windows operating systems, so in order to use it we must resort to application emulators and the configuration of these is not especially simple for ordinary users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We chose Debian because we consider it important to work with stable and secure computers because we store sensitive information in our computers, we also looked for an operating system that would allow us to work continuously without problems of bugs in applications that would waste our time, in Debian we found the solution thanks to its application repository.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a stable operating system, free and without bugs to work Debian is undoubtedly the operating system that you must choose, it is also known to be a very safe operating system. I also recommend that before using it you can make sure that the applications you use are available in the repository.


    Louis H.

Debian, a great operating system for work

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In my experience working with Debian the best thing has been its stability, while in Windows I suffer constantly problems with software that is sometimes incompatible and gives failures even reboots, in Debian I have seen the opposite.

What I like the most about Debian is how to install the applications, which do not need to be searched online, since they are installed from a repository using the command console or using the Marketplace graphically, where we can find thousands of software applications that have been tested by the community and by the Debian team to ensure that the software is free of malicious code and also works properly. I also liked that Debian is very customizable and through changes in the theme, fonts and icons we are able to obtain an operating system totally different from the one presented to us by default.
What do you dislike?
The only negative aspect that I have found in Debian is the initial learning curve that is required to make a professional use of the operating system, personally I think it takes time to be able to use this operating system professionally.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our company we use Debian mainly because we use software that only works under Linux efficiently, in Windows it is very unstable so we decided to use Debian. In my experience with Debian I have been able to verify its used not only for this software but in many other areas such as security and privacy, very important aspects in a work environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Debian is an operating system that I recommend mainly if you are looking for a secure environment and that is updated on a regular basis so that we have access to the latest versions of the software without risking the security of our computer and the network in which it is located.


    Education Management

Best Linux experience and performance

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
· A lot of Linux distributions are based on Debian (Ubuntu e.g.) so it exist a great bunch of packets perfectly suited for this distro.
· Good performance both in graphical and terminal enviroments (Lighter than Ubuntu, for example).
· Very easy to install.
What do you dislike?
· Maybe more difficult to start with than Ubuntu, because it dowsn't have "Store". Nevertheless, it is only a small effort to put all on the go.
· GUI is a bit "old fashioned" compared to Ubuntu, but easy to change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been using Debian as my standard testing Linux distribution for TCP/IP protocol stack behaviour and DNS, DHCP, LDAP, etc. server configuration. I realized this distro is perfectly suited for terminal usage, because all this tasks were done easily only on terminal.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If this is your first experience with Linux, maybe you should try Ubuntu first, it's easier to start with it. Well, of course you need to know if you want a Debian-based distro or a Red Hat one, but I suppose you have it chosen if you are reading this. Nowadays, from my point of view Debian is better than all of derived distros, so you won't chose badly.


    Consumer Goods

Perfect Open Source Linux Distro

  • April 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The package management system (apt) & community support is top notch
What do you dislike?
so many various Debian/ubuntu distro's but no paid support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
free open source web server using Debian & apache
Recommendations to others considering the product:
solid community support, great package selection


    Gustavo Adolfo M.

stable production environments

  • February 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
security and stability for the implementation of web applications, easy administration and great support from the community
What do you dislike?

the variation of some facilities when they have new versions of the application
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-balanceo de cargas para nuestra plataforma web (haproxy)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
stable and robust for web production environments


    Pepe G.

El servidor multipropósito máximo estable

  • October 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Esto no se puede lograr en Windows. Para servidores, laptop privada, servidor de correo, etc., la conversión del sistema operativo se realiza continuamente dentro de la ruta adecuada. Y gracias a la red, podemos encontrar asistencia en cualquier lugar e incluso en francés, muchas tablas y clientes, además de imágenes educativas en movimiento, le permiten un mayor control de Debian
What do you dislike?
Actualmente, no tengo ningún problema con el sistema operativo de la máquina que ejecuta Debian. Siempre tengo problemas con los puertos Ethernet, no entiendo por qué Esto lo hace especialmente obvio, dentro del kernel y en el entorno de los dispositivos informáticos. Quiere un conocimiento previo en Linux para poder utilizar la máquina en ejecución en la consola Debian que ahora no tiene. ya tiene algunos paquetes famosos, para ellos se cambian esos programas famosos, para imitar las funcionalidades de estos definidos anteriormente, que incluyen word, excel, se reemplaza por paquetes de cuadros sueltos entre programas de software específicos. Actualmente, no tengo reparos con el sistema operativo de la máquina de Debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Es un método de bajo costo tener muchos servidores su disposición Actualmente en nuestra empresa, se utiliza en el entorno del servidor, con las aplicaciones que se incluyen los servidores SFTP, para la gestión de documentos esenciales, l. A. Estabilidad y l. A. Fluidez. Hemos tomado en consideración el uso de Arch Linux, sí, debido a algunos problemas que surgen con los conflictos con los paquetes, las dependencias, etc. al actualizar, es un horror, pero aún así es demasiado difícil de transportar todo. mucho para archivar El tiempo de espera para actualizaciones o lanzamientos de variaciones estables podría ser muy largo. Actualmente utilizamos debian, para nuestros servidores virtuales que se activan en una variedad extraordinaria de ofertas, como servidores sftp, servidores de Internet y reglas anti-DDOS con IPTABLES.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Por favor, esfuércese por el entorno de dispositivos informáticos MATE. Puede implementar Debian en casi todas las plataformas en la nube y la mentalidad es lo suficientemente conservadora como para asegurarle la estabilidad que necesita para una empresa. Para intentarlo son millas for emprenderlo. Puede instalar Debian en casi todas las plataformas de nube y la mentalidad es lo suficientemente conservadora como para garantizarle la estabilidad que desea para una empresa comercial.


    Macarena G.

El servidor extra sólido y robusto.

  • October 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
El aspecto de primer orden de aproximadamente Debian es la forma en que aprovecha los activos. Cuando desea utilizar de manera óptima el hardware de la computadora, Debian es una de las alternativas de alta calidad. Puede configurarlo para que use los recursos de la mejor manera y por completo. Ya sea un desarrollo de software excepcional para IDEs más pesados ​​o para virtualización, tiene una capacidad de configuración excesiva que le permite prestar atención al dispositivo para la tarea que necesita realizar, por eso es una de mis principales alternativas al seleccionar un funcionamiento excepcionalmente funcional. máquina. Además, trabajo en un empleador en el que entregamos programas de software en los servidores de Debian y SuperMicro. Incluso he tenido problemas con los conductores, pero en la comunidad los soluciono en poco tiempo. Si el suyo es para mantener efectivo, puede tener este sistema en ejecución como opción cantidad 3, el primero es Linux Mint y el segundo Ubuntu. He estado utilizando el dispositivo de ejecución durante años y ahora no he tenido ningún problema primario. He tenido problemas con los conductores, pero de todos modos los soluciono en un tiempo rápido. Si lo tuyo es para ahorrar dinero, podrías haber Este sistema operativo como opción de rango 3, el primero es Linux Mint y el segundo Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
El cambio también puede parecer duro. Solo los puntos de atención son el desgaste en la interoperabilidad con el programa de software propietario, generalmente aquellos a través de la configuración de la comunidad de Microsoft Windows no estándar de Microsoft, como ejemplo, los códecs de informes propietarios de Adobe, Oracle y Autodesk. El suplente puede parecer duro. El tiempo que necesita para mirar el software como ejemplo, VLC para reemplazar · La instalación es difícil para un consumidor sin la comprensión en Linux
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Actualmente, nuestro empleador utiliza debian en el entorno del servidor, con aplicaciones excepcionales junto con los servidores SFTP, para la gestión de documentos esenciales, la estabilidad y la fluidez que ofrece Debian en combinación con las fuentes de hardware de nuestra infraestructura de TI, es realmente correcto Combinación enorme para la resolución de problemas en nuestra empresa. Esto termina en una ventaja en productividad y un beneficio tremendo en el sistema económico. Es mucho más barato que Linux para el mercado de diferentes sistemas operativos. Hemos tomado en consideración el uso de Arch Linux seguro, debido a algunos problemas que surgen con los conflictos con los paquetes, las dependencias y demás al actualizar, es un horror, pero es demasiado difícil. transportar la totalidad a Arch Para un usuario nuevo será muy difícil, ya que ahora no proporciona instrucciones con Windows, lo que lleva un tiempo acostumbrarse a un sistema operativo Linux.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Preste un interés único a las necesidades de interoperabilidad en caso de que dependa de un programa de software propietario. Una de las fantásticas distribuciones de Linux, sugiero bastante su uso en entornos de servidores y portátiles. Una de las mejores distribuciones de Linux. Propongo fantásticamente su uso dentro del entorno de servidores y computadoras de escritorio. Puede pintar bajo debian sin esfuerzo en una máquina virtual en caso de que pinte como desarrollador y automatice muchos componentes con ansible y vagrant para la configuración de mejora del entorno una de las mayores distribuciones de Linux que apruebo específicamente su uso en el entorno de servidores y computadoras portátiles I respalda extraordinariamente este sistema operativo porque tiene paquetes muy sólidos y su comunidad de ayuda es muy fuerte, siempre están atentos y dispuestos a ayudar.


    Rochmad Saputra

Ultime Power !!!, but cant upgrade to 2018 instance series(m5,t3,etc)

  • October 05, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

using this debain from 2017, im using t2.2xlarge, but cant upgrade to t3.2xlarge,
and cant upgrade too from m4.2xlarge to m5.2xlarge :(


    J

not up-to-date for latest instance types

  • September 15, 2018
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

been using this for years, and upgraded it to stretch without an issue. now i want to upgrade from t2 to t3 and it says it isn't compatible. :(


    Sergio F.

The great mother of the Linux distros

  • August 10, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Well, I use Debian MATE as my personal workstation at work and at home. Also, I work at a company where we ship software along with Debian and SuperMicro servers. The maintainers of Debian are doing a really good job to keep up with maintaining compatibility with old packages.
This was the first Linux I installed, but it was too big for me. Now I realize it's very easy, but maybe painful to new users.
What do you dislike?
The time you have to wait for software (for example, VLC) to update. You install them outside the package manager that can break dependencies. It's the way the distro is meant to, but it feels very far away from the new packages and updates.
I always have had problems too with ethernet ports, I don't know why. I use TP-Link cards usually and I always have to spend a lot of time fixing these types of errors.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are shipping software for the autoconfiguration of CPEs (GPON home routers, basically). My team is writing software in Python, Bash, and Javascript. The benefits are the stability. We have considered using Arch Linux (yes, due to some problems that arise with conflicts with packages, dependencies etc when upgrading, it is a horror) but it's still too much hard to move everything to Arch. Now along with Ansible, we will make Debian even better, and we are happy with it. We are still using Debian 8 but we're targeting version 9.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please, try MATE desktop environment!