Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Debian OS

  • April 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
customisation as per user requirements, better for development.
What do you dislike?
dependencies issue takes time to fix and need to search community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
better for software development, open source software easy to install. easily contribute to the community.


    Rahul V.

Best OS (operating system) for security persons

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
their user-friendly terminal I love Linux so much as I am from the security field I personally love this OS and I surely recommend it to my friends and colleagues.
What do you dislike?
nothing seriously maybe we can say their GUI (graphical user interface) is a bit low they can improve that that's it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In security field, we need so many tools to work with .we cant install those ones by one it takes a lot of time and effort but in this OS it was inbuilt thus it solves so much of my time and effort.


    Computer Networking

Free and open source !

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source operating system and is also user friendly
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike about this operating system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used it for academic purpose


    Mouhammad Y.

Debian Review

  • April 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of installing apps using external repos
What do you dislike?
not having a very easy interface to interact with close to one that comes from windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
test enviroment


    Patrice M.

Low ressources opérations

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to manage, almost no downtime. Low ressource consuption
What do you dislike?
Need to be an it professional to use it correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open source with no required licensing


    Joseph M.

Linux to the rescue

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I appreciate how lightweight and how admin friendly it is. Although most Linux systems do give users a ton of access, admins can easily control content packages that are going to be installed to the system. Of course, people are usually more familiar with Windows and Mac OS, but Debian feels at home.
What do you dislike?
Personally, I wouldn't say I liked how some of the menus felt a bit cluttered, especially when trying to access specific files from the toolbar below. It's a nitpick, but otherwise, I don't have any main gripes with Debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Windows randomly updating and taking up so much space for updates was really frustrating. It made sense to ditch Windows and go to a lightweight Linux build which Debian is. It's even user-friendly, so it's easy to teach new people how to use it correctly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Come in with some previous Linux experience for a smoother transition, but if you're unable to, it's completely fine. You will learn Debian as you go, and it's not that hard to use. This version is most similar to Windows / MacOs in terms of GUI.


    Elmer S.

Debian SO for IT Specialist

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In addition to its security and stability, I use it because I love computer security tools.
What do you dislike?
Some incompatibility problems with multimedia programs, some software l ike Adobe or games it dose not work like I Like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compilation when programming is much faster and use computer security software to check network vulnerabilities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should to have some technical knoledge for the installation.


    Security and Investigations

Debian - A classic safe bet

  • April 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a robust, reliable and opensource operating system. Undoubtedly a safe choice.
What do you dislike?
The main problem I see is that many commercial solutions are usually based on Red Hat, so the administrator must adapt to the use of Debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As it is opensource, it may be used with total freedom in labs environments or for you own developments, without pay for license or suscription. In addition, there is a large community behind it that gives you security despite being "free".
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simply it works and I'm sure when I deploy a virtua machine with this operating system


    Sam W.

Debian is my favourite operating system for desktop and server

  • March 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Debian is the ultimate operating system. Debian is strictly free software, but with the option to include non-free sources. Debian is maintained by an international community of expert volunteers. Debian offers a choice of stable, testing, or cutting-edge releases. Debian has an excellent packaging and upgrade system. Debian emphasises security and stability. Debian is suitable for both desktop and mission-critical servers.
What do you dislike?
It's somewhat difficult to get started with modifying and installed package, as source code is not installed by default.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Debian as my main desktop operating system, and on my servers. I develop software and play video games on Debian. I run Debian in Virtualbox on Windows systems.


    Education Management

Debian is a very stable linux destro

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and security debian is considered on of the most stable distro thanks to there maintainers
What do you dislike?
Delay in packages update considering there repos
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running web services like websites