Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

140 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Andres H.

It is a great Linux distro

  • May 18, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Debian is a great Linux distro, and since Ubuntu is based on it, you will find many things for those operating systems. It is fast and reliable, with built-in developers tools available.
What do you dislike about the product?
Since Debian is not the most used, it is not so popular and the community is not as big as the Ubuntu's community. I think the UI in Ubuntu is better and more modern, despite they are similar.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Debian inside Windows Subsystem for Linux to run Docker inside it and has a better performance than running Docker natively in Windows. It helps me to run my local development environment.


    Yusuf R.

A Stable, Reliable, and Secure Operating System

  • May 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Debian is a free and open source operating system that's is highly respected in the software development community.
Dabian have Advanced packageing tool APT is a power full package management system.
What do you dislike about the product?
debian rigorous testing process and stable release cycle some software package may be older or not as upto date as those found on other operating system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Createing own python, node, php , Apache nodered server or mqtt server,
Or also resolved my data storage problem I have multiple small iot device so all data store on my debian server


    Atul T.

A Best GUI and powerful linux for everyone

  • May 07, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
To my mind its an alternative to windows. As it have vast number of packeges for every work such as administration, editing, software development, debugging packeges and so on.
What do you dislike about the product?
Its nothing yet i have discovered which i dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use everyday for my work of day to day life such as editing, software testing, tools testing and screencasting of my videos.


    Avani B.

Debian is stable & Lightweight OS

  • May 03, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Lightweight OS
- Stability
- Easily install any software
- Free & Open Source
- OS is very Smoothly & Fast
- Easily installation
What do you dislike about the product?
- Frequently version update
- GUI mode is not good
- Lack of Official documention
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using debian OS for developing purpose. I have configure many software like react, asterisk, PHP etc and it's very easy to use.


    Research

A Solid free operating system

  • April 26, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's stable, and I used it for Python development when my laptop became too slow to run Windows.
What do you dislike about the product?
It took longer to install and some of the options were confusing. Especially for the dual boot.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I didn't want to pay for an operating System. Debian was free.


    Gaurav P.

Debian - One of the best Open Source OS Available

  • April 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Fact that it is very trustable , stable and reliable makes it a heavy competitor.Also , Software Packages it has are vast and hugely useful.
What do you dislike about the product?
Challenged with respect to installation , Guidelines.SOmetimes Software updates can be delayed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing Stable and Secure OS , Vast Library of Packages and software repository,Gives sufficient flexibility to the end users.


    Tahseen R.

Debian Linux Pros and Cons

  • April 19, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Tenure is one of Debian's key benefits. It is one of the most renowned and established Linux distributions freely available to the general public and was released more than 20 years ago. Both developers and users can benefit more specifically from this reality.
Because it supports a wide range of architecture, it may be used with both old and modern processors and computer systems. For instance, outdated personal computers that cannot run the most recent Windows versions can be upgraded to Debian.
Additionally, Debian distributes free software. More than 57200 software items are available for free download.
What do you dislike about the product?
According to several detractors, one of Debian's most significant drawbacks is that it is conservative and slow to implement new features already present in other Linux variants and commercial operating systems.
Debian's problem is that it actively excludes non-free software from its official system while retaining a repository of non-free software housed on its primary servers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Utilising a free operating system can give businesses financial and competitive advantages. Government agencies, nonprofit organisations, and commercial or for-profit companies worldwide, including banks and software firms, have utilised it.
This Linux Distribution is also excellent for hosting servers due to its software selection and accessibility to the open-source community.


    Cosmetics

Good for being Linux distro but Ubuntu is doing better

  • April 18, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is an old and friendly Linux distro for development.
What do you dislike about the product?
GUI interface and installation on desktop...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me to do automation that is not possible on windows.


    Anand C.

Product Review for Debian

  • April 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Debian OS is easy to go operation system with open-source tools loaded
What do you dislike about the product?
More open source tools can be added to make the OS more user-friendly and easy to go tool
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The major problem solved by this OS is its free to use and open source nature which makes this OS more reachable and hence better delivery od solutions with optimum output


    Carmen B.

Stable OS

  • March 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stability, easy to use, suitable even for production environments
What do you dislike about the product?
There's nothing I disliked about Debian.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Stability for production environments, without paying for licences, updates for packages.