Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to work and very less recourse is required.

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Can manage the serer with less resources. A service can be hosted within less resources as the Debian OS not require much resources.
What do you dislike?
Less package upgrade guides available for new versions of Debian
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
License compliance is managed by using Debian. Server resources are properly used due to the less resource requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a great OS and you can perform the administration easiy


    leanghy c.

I was working on Linux for 4 years and mostly we provide the solutions for my client using debain.

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Because Debian is free and fully customize. And we hope Debian we long time support for us.
What do you dislike?
Because Debian is community support. we hope the future Debian will have enterprise support like redhat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sometime apt package is not good enough but Debian also come with systemd. So i also can write bash script and use systemd to manage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Debian is Free everyone can and full customize


    Wahyu B.

Friends with debian

  • January 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
stable application even though it lags behind other distributions
What do you dislike?
I need wine and woeusb, but difficult to installation or nothing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use application on debian everday, like firefox, libreoffice, email client, etc.

and until now, I never got a computer virus, malware etc.


    Alana D.

The most stable linux distro

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works and it won't break unless you break it, I have a Debian 4 machine running in a very old laptop that I use for tests and it still works relatively well without needing to upgrade and I never plan to upgrade it until the hardware fails with age but at the same time I have some machines running Debian 9 and 10 and they work like a charm either in physical or virtual hardware.

As far as I'm aware Debian is the most stable distro in the Linux World
What do you dislike?
That stability comes as expected with a tradeoff and that is that sometimes the newest and fanciest toys are not available until around 6 months or even 2 years later unless you install them from an external repository.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For starters, my main home PC is a Debian Desktop with Raid 1 for all my important data, even if or when it fails all my important data is protected. I also use it a lot on Virtual Deployments and I always have a live usb with me in case any machine fails in any form
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For stability there is just no better OS, unless you need a new hot feature in a rolling distro it's the best linux out there


    Denis

Сant upgrade to 2018 instance series(m5, m5n)

  • February 25, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Using this debain from 2017, cant upgrade too from m4.2xlarge to m5.2xlarge :(
Please fix it. Thanks.
It works., good product.


    Telecommunications

Best of for simplicity and low resource usage

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed of operations and light Graphical environment make it the best os to install on old legacy pc
What do you dislike?
Some Ubuntu repos are not present and need to be added manually
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploy reliable pbx server


    The epic Admin

It just works!

  • September 22, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Keeps on working :) never had a problem and I for sure recommend this OS as the foundation fo any project.


    Online Media

Operating System for Humans

  • September 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature Debian has (in addition to its amazing package manager) is its community. All Debian developers are volunteers that manage to keep a great repository of free software applications that come together to form an amazing experience. And its users support each other in making an awesome ecosystem to be in for whatever needs you have. That is only one of the reasons why several other distributions are based off of it.
What do you dislike?
In order to take full advantage of your OS you need to understand several idiosyncrasies that stem from the way Debian does some things. And when you are trying to get your head around a new OS, those things are not something you want to spend your time on... even if they would save you time on the long-term.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debian has been running on all machines I use and administer for years now. They are great for severs (if you use the latest stable release) an widely accepted in the software world as one of the major players. It would be difficult to find something that does not explain how to run on Debian (or something like Docker... that you can run on Debian very easily)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are tired of package dependency hell, Debian - with its apt package manager - is the solution you have been looking for. And if you are scared of Debian, then you may want to try a derivative distribution like Ubuntu (or one of its derivatives) and as you try to simplify that setup move back to Debian afterwards.


    Dan W.

Good, stable operating system

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As this is the base that Ubuntu was built from, there is a lot of software that is targeting Debian/Ubuntu. Most software that is available for Ubuntu is also available for Debian.
What do you dislike?
This is not for everyone. Linux on the desktop is great for a technical person, but not yet suitable for a non-technical user.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Desktop environment. Some of our servers run Debian, both in staging & in production. Docker is also a technology we use and this works very well with Debian. We use Debian to support our continuous integration and continuous deployment set-ups for many of our customers.


    ranjit m.

Debian a Linux OS

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most interesting thing about Debian is more stable and secured your system from malware. even it detects external devices whether they affected by virus or not. so file crashing is avoided. as in Windows affected devices may affect internal files also. Recovery doesn't take too much time once it get interrupted. due to stability and more secured function user for server handling. Not a big deal to use it. Thousand of applications are run without any bug.
What do you dislike?
graphical interface is not like Windows so its use by only official workers who are a part of something, Its not that much interesting for those who are running OS for gaming and who works with desktop packages. finding of Devloper packages gives error sometimes while using terminal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a official task are has to be more secured which may get affected in Windows so to avoid this we are using Debian in some of our Desktop machine. working on it. with lots of applications. as a secured storage saving files on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it for machine with lower specification want a security from malware withuo