Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 8 (Jessie)

Debian | 8.7

Linux/Unix, Debian 8.6+1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

90 AWS reviews

External reviews

34 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    linux_aws

AMI Instance Authentication Issues

  • September 01, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

If this AMI is used to create an instance, that would change something and use it to create a new AMI, then the authentication on the latest instance created will be possible only using the initial SSH authentication keys that has been used initially, even if you add a different key when creating the final instance. Anyone has an idea why?


    jk04

Could not use snapshot to launch new instance

  • March 29, 2016
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I use Debian everywhere but am not sure if I will use it again on aws. Today, I created a new image from a snapshot but could not launch a new instance from the image. Here is the error message:

Launch Failed
The instance configuration for this AWS Marketplace product is not supported. Please see http://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp?sku=3f8t6t8fp5m9xx18yzwriozxi for more information about supported instance types, regions, and operating systems.

Creating security groups Successful
Authorizing inbound rules Successful
Initiating launches Failure

This means if you terminate your instance intentionally or by accident, you won't be able to create it from your snapshots.


    CyrexCore2k "CyrexCore2k"

Nothing wrong with this image (Check your routing table)

  • December 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Like others I experienced some issues connecting to instances spun up from this image. The reason people are having trouble is this image runs on a VPC which is a little bit trickier to configure than EC2. In addition to the Elastic IP and Security Group you need a VPC, Subnet, Routing Table, Gateway. None of the configuration is terribly complex if you're familiar with the concepts but there's just a lot of ways it can be done incorrectly. In my case I forgot to add my gateway to the routing table so none of the instance's traffic was making it back to me. Once I added the gateway to the routing table everything worked great. :)


    Shawn Welch

Only 8GB

  • December 15, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Totally sucks. Every Debian Jessie AMI in marketplace and community will ONLY partition itself with 8GB despite setting the EBS size.


    Tom "tom1384"

Great!

  • November 16, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is a fantastic Debian image. Users complaining that the admin user doesn't work are probably not authenticating with their AWS key. It is key-based authentication with "admin" as the user. I just built another instance today using this image, and it worked just fine. Thanks Debian!


    Andrew

AMI broken

  • November 04, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

These AMI's are broken, and don't allow login with the 'admin' user as documented. There is no support available for this, so good luck logging in!


    Stephon Chen

could not be connected after boot

  • October 31, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I could not connect the instance after instance launched.
the same security group setting in Amazon AMI works.
Besides, nothing to test further.


    Oak Labs

Fast, easy, sane Debian deployment to EC2

  • October 28, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So glad the Debian project maintains this AMI. Working great for our provisioning of new machines as we build out our infrastructure.


    A.B.

Locked in

  • October 10, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Despite being OSS "free" software, something is misconfigured or Amazon is lacking an option to "un-lock-down" the instance.

With instances created with this AMI, you will not be able to mount the root volumes onto other Instances, which is crucial in times of recovery and emergency.

Do not use.


    jab

so far so good

  • October 02, 2015
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So far this has been a high-quality Debian 8 image. The only issue with it I've seen so far is the following error while setting it up:

/usr/sbin/grub-probe: warning: the device.map entry `hd0,msdos1' is invalid. Ignoring it. Please correct or delete your device.map.

And Googling around didn't immediately turn up what to do about it.

Otherwise would have been a perfect experience out-of-the-box.