Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LANSA Scalable License Win2012

LANSA Inc | V14 SP2 EPC142060-5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    S M Irfan Hussain, P.

Visual LANSA, an easy solution for your business

  • October 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A very easy and rapid platform to develop business applications. Very little development efforts are required to build the solution. You can flexibily manage the deployment.
What do you dislike?
The User Interface can be improved, as multiple clicks are required on many occasions to complete a single configuration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For any business you require an application to manage your information, and Visual LNSA is best to develop such application with minimum efforts


    Insurance

Interactivity with our IBMi has been a game changer

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have seen the benefits of how we interact with our IBMi backend. We have been able to fulfill our business' requirements a lot faster as well.

Our business users were used to working with the IBM green screen which was cumbersome and antiquated. Since taking on the task of re-writing our system using Visual Lansa we've been able to provide a Windows style application that is a lot more user friendly and intuitive.

We also like that we can interact with various Microsoft products such as Word and Outlook which has made our customer acquisition and servicing process a lot smoother and seamless.

We also take advantage of the .NET component integration.
What do you dislike?
We have been struggling to integrate proper error handling. At this point we have had to integrate our own code to write to logging tables so we can pinpoint where an issue may be.

We have also been struggling with merge issues when multiple developers are working in the same framework. We've had issues in the past where code gets overwritten. When this happened, a lot of time was required to figure out how to restore the code and merge it properly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A specfic problem that we are solving is document generation using existing templates that our business has.

Our business has 100's of existing templates in Excel, Word, and updatable PDFs. We had .NET code that would generate personalized documents for customers using these templates.

Using Visual Lansa's .NET component integration, we were able to use the existing .NET code and iteract with it in our Lansa programs so we didn't have to reinvent the wheel. This saved us a lot of time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a way to have tight integration with an AS/400 backend along with implementing business rules, Visual Lansa is the way to go.


    Cheyney R.

Centralize Data/Web Enable System i

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like the flexible integrated developer environment, which was very easy to learn and use, along with the simple language to get things done. I can do everything I need to within the single IDE. Because of the ease of use I was able to start programming and contributing to our team's first project fairly quickly. With our second project we took advantage of the built-in Google Material Design controls in creating a mobile application.
What do you dislike?
The installation and the configuration of the developer client seem to be overly complicated. But, once set up, it's smooth sailing until the next upgrade requires license keys to for installation. I think the installation process can be improved. Fortunately, the installation hasn't been required that often so it's not that big of a deal. Also, some better calendaring options would be nice. We, with the help of LANSA support, had to do some really complicated programming to pull off a scheduling application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Visual Lansa to centralize not just data but also some processes to the Series i. So far we've replaced two end-of-support legacy applications that required special clients and are in the processes of designing a third. Each of those systems required a significant amount of resources to run, including their own servers. By using LANSA we will not only centralize the data, but also reduce the number of servers required to run our business processes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
LANSA is an easy to learn solution for building Windows, Web, and Mobile applications that helped us centralize data and web-enabled business pocesses on the Series i to achieve our goals. The LANSA support team has continued to offer help and guidance in achieving those goals.


    Hashim R.

We are using Visual LANSA for a while at our company managing customer orders.

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
VL is easy to develop and user-friendly software, also easy to make changes.
What do you dislike?
I have no dislike to mention, but I am waiting to see more examples of VL functions. I mean a variety of samples.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mostly we have VL for receiving our customer orders and send them invoices. By moving to VL on the WEB, we significantly resolved many customer issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Visual LANSA is easy to code and user-friendly. You can create more in less time. Most of the coding errors are upfront (not at compile time), making the programmer's life easier.


    JESUS F.

Easy to work with and very powerful tool

  • January 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that it allowed us to create or modify solutions in a fraction of the time that it would take with other platforms.
What do you dislike?
Nothing actually i think its a great tool
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We created a platform that allows our clients to administrate their entire human resources department


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

It’s easy to design for mobiles but you don’t have all control of components

  • December 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The simplicity of how you can move elements
What do you dislike?
The form of how Lansa organize files, the repository have problems syncing between computer and sever
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A program to take orders with handheld
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be patient on installation and prepare to change your set If you are working with POO.
You need some time to understand the code


    Machinery

All the info, none of the UI

  • September 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The amount of information that’s readily available.
What do you dislike?
The user interface is challenging to understand at first.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tracking shipments, managing accounts


    Computer Software

Best development tool I know

  • July 16, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
All complicated and technology based programming work can be done with a few commands. LANSA prevents from getting lost in unforeseeable skill requirements and makes it possible to program most modern applications without having to be a specialist in all those underlying technologies.
What do you dislike?
I have to write 40 characters although there is nothing I could complain about at the moment :-)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
LANSA is used for all projects that are not or only with great effort realizable in RPG - that means projects that make it necessary to combine different IT worlds, e.g.: sending emails directly from IBMi to customers, web service interfaces to connect ERP with PC based stock management software or with external webshops;


    Jay K.

One Toolset for all developers

  • September 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As a manager I don't have to worry about having a mobile developer, web developer, pc developer, RPG developer, etc. I can train all my developers on LANSA and they can develop the applications on the appropriate platform needed for our company.
What do you dislike?
I would like for the company to bring back the LANSA user conferences. This was a great networking opportunity and place to see new or updates to tools they offer. It was also a great opportunity to speak directly to LPC.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use LANSA Tools and ERP Codestart to manage our entire operations at Kawasaki. We are currently working on rolling out a new Warehouse Management System written in LANSA using LANSA Framework and LongRange tools. This allows our workforce in the warehouse to be mobile and utilize hardware they are familiar with ( Android Zebra TC70 ).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
LANSA is a toolset that can run on any platform. You can train your staff on one toolset and they can develop web, mobile, GUI, and green screen applications.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Business analyst review

  • August 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful , efficient language which is easy to modify as well as mantain
What do you dislike?
Will need to check in/out during modification per programmer, some times it’s difficult to have muti tasks completed at one time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Improved the out bound processing productivity