Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LANSA Scalable License Win2012

LANSA Inc | V14 SP2 EPC142060-5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

69 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Business analyst review

  • August 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Powerful , efficient language which is easy to modify as well as mantain
What do you dislike?
Will need to check in/out during modification per programmer, some times it’s difficult to have muti tasks completed at one time
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Improved the out bound processing productivity


    Donald S.

Visual Lansa IDE

  • August 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Visual Lansa allows one single development tool to be used for multiple applications from a WEB application to a Green screen or windows using the same syntax. With multiple developers sometimes on the same application it has a locking feature that allows us not to step on each other as well.
What do you dislike?
The initial install of the IDE piece cold be more intuitive but something that also does not have to be done often.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have used Visual Lansa for our Yard Management system to provide a web interface to the Yard.
Lansa has always shielded developers from having to know all the technologies behind generating Web to Windows to green screen apps. This allows us to keep the same staff across all our needs


    Warehousing

Visual Lansa

  • August 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease to code programs fast, I am able to generate code to bring customers in quick and easy. We are doing several customer intergration and find that Lansa is a fast way to do this.
What do you dislike?
Having issues some times with IDE freezing or problems reconnecting after network issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Customer intergrations from EDI and XML we utilize Lansas AS2 for communications and support is very helpful when needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a fast effiecent way of emplementing code


    Warehousing

Lansa developed WMS software supporting a nationwide WMS system for a 3rd Party Logistics firm.

  • August 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy and quick deployments of software enhancements to our WMS system on a tried and true platform.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike, starting out as an RPG programmer, definitely benefits utilizing Lansa to code as much of the coding needed in RPG is already done for you.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Lansa has been integral in developing our WMS Application over the last 15 years. With it's embedded tools, like integrator making it much easier to integrate with our customers.


    Michael S.

Using Visual LANSA to build eCommerce Web applications

  • August 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Visual LANSA IDE is very intuitive and what you would expect in a modern development environment. I find the LANSA RDML language to be rich and easy to use. The English like syntax and the various tutorials and reference manuals enables developers to come up to speed quickly. LANSA has a proven track record of re-investing in the product so that it keeps up with the latest technology.
What do you dislike?
WYSIWYG Editor could be improved. A "lite" version of the product for consultants would be nice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use it to build web applications for eCommerce using their WAM technology (Web Application Modules). Our eCommerce application allows our customers to search for products, place and track orders, integrate with an ERP application, etc. The tool enables me to quickly build high performance web applications. It facilitates getting an application up and running quickly while at the same time it does not restrict me from incorporating the latest techniques available on the web.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask LANSA to do a mini-proof of concept project to verify the product is right for your needs.


    Ahmadou N.

Fullstack Engineer

  • August 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Front and backend development.
Built-in functions and forms ready to kick start any project.
The ability to write a re-usable part that could span on multiple projects.
Not vulnerable to hacking because of bogus compiled html displayed to the users which hide the true nature of the coding.
.
What do you dislike?
IDE crashes.
Lwebjobs bottleneck on IBM.
Difficulty to automate the deployment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
e-Commerce development, Ability to rewrite the 5250 screens to a user-friendly UI platform.
Powerful tool to consuming any web services.
Pairs well with restful API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I strongly recommend VL to everyone


    Andy B.

One toolset for deploying multi-platform, multilingual applications for windows, web and mobile!

  • August 29, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Visual LANSA has a very important concept called a repository at it's core. It allows the developer to keep track of all the development objects that are used as part of the application. The repository encourages reuse of objects, and rules and relationships can be defined over these objects. It also allows for the smooth promotion and tracking of these objects from Development through to QA and Production environments. I also like that fact that this one simple to learn language can allow a developer to deploy to windows, web and mobile. I have seen many developers over the years develop between all three.
What do you dislike?
A couple of things that I dislike. 1) There needs to be a better process of deploying Windows dll's to Citrix servers. 2) The Version Control System features would better suit my needs if it also worked as part of a slave IDE install.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Timesheet entry and workflow, Contract creation, PO creation, Customer Facing Web sites, B2B and B2C sites, Mobile salesforce support.


    Alan C.

Premier software development and maintenance tool

  • August 29, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Visual Lansa has a number of bests: extremely easy to develop and maintain applications, robust source editor provides quick access to all types of objects and cross-reference their usage, data repository to encapsulate and enforce business rules ensuring data integrity, same source code runs on different platforms and operating systems.
What do you dislike?
Currently have some minor issues with third party change management system. This may be due to our being at Lansa version 12 and not at the current version or third party vendor or both.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Lansa is used to extend a very large ERP system, new applications are exclusively done in Lansa - e.g. iPad order entry, invoicing, customer retention. Major benefit is the ability to port applications from mid-range to Windows with no code changes (remember how badly Cobol failed when changing vendor or operating system?)!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although Visual Lansa should meet 85% of your business requirements, consider using their companion products: Integrator for data translation and transmission, as well as Composer. Lansa self-help tutorials are excellent but their training (on-site or in-house) will pay off if your company is new to Lansa.


    Computer Software

Lansa V14.2

  • August 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One stop development tool. No additional skill set necessary like jquery, css etc.
What do you dislike?
VL Web has a little bit of a learning curve for those of us who have been developing web applications using WAMs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multi platform/system data access and support. Shorter implementation cycles.


    Publishing

Visual Lansa At Viatech

  • August 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lansa allow us to have a single repository for all definitions for our applications. This allows us to be very efficient with our team. As new releases become available, the new functionality grows with what is current in the industry. There are add-on products that enhance the product, like Integrator. This product allows you to preform functions that normal would that a programmer a lone time to create and use.
What do you dislike?
At this time there are no dislikes to the use of the system. Sometimes that is a miss-understanding of the use of a function.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Currently, we are revamping our current Inventory systems with Lansa and Long Range to increase or inventory control. A new Shop Floor Order processing has been put into place to track orders throughout the plant floor..
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Once the understanding of the system and its capabilities are realize, the use and programming are with the investment.