Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LANSA Scalable License Win2012

LANSA Inc | V14 SP2 EPC142060-5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

69 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    P R.

For modernising iSeries systems, it's great

  • July 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Lansa IDE is surprisingly rich: right-click and copy element name is probably my most used function.
What do you dislike?
Too many varied software pieces; the installation of workstation is difficult for a non-Lansa user; too much reliance on iSeries knowledge for most development.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Retaining as400 business logic while modernising the old green on black screens and adding better more intuitive application functions.


    Jon S.

Changed my whole perception of the development cycle

  • June 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Time to deployment and reduced investment in having to always learning new skills to keep up. Historically, as interesting as it is for developers to learn new tech and find ways to engage the user and make things easier, this learning curve is time consuming and costly. It also does not insure consistency from developer to developer or adherence to standards. Lansa literally removes all of that. The developer is extracted from that layer and only has to focus on a single development environment that continues to improve and present simple ways to accomplish the latest technologies. It even insures adherence to standards through its common repository and wizards to create many of the most common processes. To take this whole picture to the next level, all of the code is portable, not only from system to system, but between OSs! If your company is using an iSeries and decides that it is time to move to another platform; you can move with it. No new learning curves. No re-development. Pick it up and move it over. I can’t emphasize enough how valuable these traits are in environments that do not have the luxury of time and money to continually retrain.
What do you dislike?
Hang on tight with the training. Its important and well worth it in the end. But it is easy to get bored with. I find documentation to be sufficient if you have the basis of the training. Once you are through that and understand the concepts and the language, its gold.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Lansa for all new development ranging from iSeries “green screens” to Windows native to cross-browser web development to Mobile. It has turned staffs of mixed talent to single cohesive teams.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get over the initial hump. It seems like it’s a quick learn, but there is so much to Lansa, from the repository, to the UI, and the capabilities of the language, that it does take a little commitment to get through the training and get up to speed. However, I promise that whether you are a contractor on the clock for a client, or an inhouse developer that has to answer for your hours, or an IT manager that simply wants to improve the productivity of your team, the end result will pay for itself many times over.


    Ivan R.

Lansa speeds up our development process

  • June 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I've been using Lansa for about 6 years now, since version 11. At that time we used it to modernize legacy systems running in RPG into web browser application. What we like about Lansa is we were able to retool all our RPG programmers to Lansa very quickly, and coding is easy compared to other programming language (Java, C++, .Net). We stayed with Lansa since then, and now with version 14, we are using the tool to developed web based applications. With changing trends like Responsive Web Design, we don't need to hire new consultants or send our guys to training, Lansa always keep up with the trend and we implement them in the project very easily.
What do you dislike?
Like any other development tools, you don't always get what you want. When Lansa releases new version sometimes you are waiting for something but they give you other thing. I guess, one area I want Lansa to improve is the debugging tool. Its a bit sluggish and needs to get better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Lansa for a wide range of application development. From modernizing legacy systems, to developing web application and mobile apps. Lansa is not complicated, you dont need to learn a lot of different technology specially for web, to be able to develop a fully functional and up to date application. In a way, it saves us cost from hiring more resource and saves money for speeding up our development process.


    Baojun Y.

15 years of development and maintenance in 3 organizations.

  • May 11, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
even there are many IT staff in my company, but only 4 people in my team which is supporting several other departments. We like VL because it provide quick solution to our business user needs, and also the development cycle is clear and fast, another good thing is VL application can be built on multiple databases.
What do you dislike?
for the past 13 years, U have no dislikes so far. neither my coworkers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
one of our biggest problem is urgent request from our business group, and the requirement changes during application development.


    Benzy W.

Excelent Development Tool and Portability

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to code and that the code is reusable from AS/400 green screen to GUI interface to the Web and mobile devices. I like that many of the tools to perform B2B or integration with other systems which can be coded directly via Visual Lansa code. Lansa has developed most of the functions as "open" to add future functionality without requiring re-write or recompiling of the application code. Visual Lansa can directly work with VBA, Web API's (SOAP, http get/post etc...) and even the rare capability to work with Lotus Notes databases. This is not all the things it can interface with but the systems we have used in our organization.

The support team is top-notch. They have the answers for 99% of everything (including Windows and iSeries problems). The 1% they can't figure out they are quick to send to the development team to get into the crux of the problem.
What do you dislike?
Some of the documentation could use further explanation and examples to cover a wider array of how keywords, parameters, or functions work. I find what I'm looking for is not in a documented form 25% of the time. I have to google or ask around how to perform or use some coding techniques.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are converting old RPG code and platform to a GUI system that can communicate with other B2B enterprises. We use Lansa Integrator to transmit credit card transactions with PayPal's API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With the variety of additional tools from Lansa, Visual Lansa is a great foundation to build upon so other platforms like GUI, Frameworks, Web sites with mobile applications easily integrate into the existing logic and data structures. Plus there are other tools and products to help with B2B connectivity, all based on the Visual Lansa framework.


    Jeffrey D.

We giver our users EXACTLY what they want

  • April 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Software engineers are extremely productive in a short amount time. Object-oriented architecture, high level programming language, centralized business repository. VL hides complexity and allows us to deploy our custom applications to our users rapidly.
What do you dislike?
I wish we had a larger base. Time to get the word out!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We literally solve business problems on a weekly basis. However we get there, it all comes down to the bottom line. We have developed all of our applications in VL with the exception of Human Resources and Payroll.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommend.


    Elena S.

Lansa defined my professional career and I love my job

  • March 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Lansa provides all necessary tools to build business applications,web based and client server, small and big systems. Lansa Support always has your back, they are prompt and will patiently work with you helping to resolve any issues, answer any questions. I like that Lansa offers new technologies, goes with time and never stops challenging you.
What do you dislike?
There is not much I dislike. I didn't like WAM web technology, but it is now replaced with VLWEB. Other than that I can't think of anything I dislike.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are local government entity. Our users are Law Enforcement, Judicial services, Parks and Recreations, Tax Office, etc. We developed several large systems with Lansa such as Jail System, Family Court, Time Cards, Budget, Records. Lansa works well with Crystal Reports, with .net programs. In addition to VL, we use Lansa Integrator, used Lansa Dashboard.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Visit other sites before making a decision


    Wholesale

Lansa focuses on the technology we focus on the business.

  • February 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The repository for us is the key. We keep our buiness rules in the meta data and can leverage those rules to rapidly develop.
What do you dislike?
Not sure there is anything I dislike. I feel like we can bring in young developers that know other languages and get then up to speed quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web B2B solutions that help our customers stay competitive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Lansa does a good job insulating the developer from newer technology by handling the complexity and allowing the customer to code based on business need.


    Marlon V.

Programador de Visual Lansa

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Que es un Lenguaje Visual y es orientado a objetos
What do you dislike?
Hasta los momentos, nada solo que quisiera recibir tutoriales y otras ayudas respecto a Visual Lansa
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
El dia a dia del core bancario de la institución donde trabajo, es facil para programar y tiene mucha ayuda.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simplemente probar el producto y comprobaran que es excelente lenguaje de programación Visual.


    Peter J.

Finally - What I have been looking for

  • February 05, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am currently new to the Visual Lansa product but so far my experiences have been very positive.
We have a smaller IT department here so the demands on our time can be intense and therefore the time to develop and get projects into production is always a concern.
I have taken courses on multiple web development languages and found that I had to have experience in far too many languages to develop anything of real substance.

By using Visual Lansa, I only need to learn one language and one development environment that satisfies
all of my user community requirements and platforms. The time to learn and get up to speed is greatly enhanced compared to other products. The rapid development makes prototyping interactive programs with users much more efficient and impact-full as users can actually see the outcome of the requested changes within minutes or at least within the same day.
What do you dislike?
As I mentioned, I am still new to Visual Lansa so I have no dislikes at this point.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
One of our biggest challenges we face is the time it takes to move a project from inception to production.
The use of Lansa has so far greatly impacted the improvement of that time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely worth the time and effort to investigate and try the product.