Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

LANSA Scalable License Win2012

LANSA Inc | V14 SP2 EPC142060-5

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 Microsoft Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

81 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Benzy W.

Excelent Development Tool and Portability

  • February 19, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Simple to code and that the code is reusable from AS/400 green screen to GUI interface to the Web and mobile devices. I like that many of the tools to perform B2B or integration with other systems which can be coded directly via Visual Lansa code. Lansa has developed most of the functions as "open" to add future functionality without requiring re-write or recompiling of the application code. Visual Lansa can directly work with VBA, Web API's (SOAP, http get/post etc...) and even the rare capability to work with Lotus Notes databases. This is not all the things it can interface with but the systems we have used in our organization.

The support team is top-notch. They have the answers for 99% of everything (including Windows and iSeries problems). The 1% they can't figure out they are quick to send to the development team to get into the crux of the problem.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some of the documentation could use further explanation and examples to cover a wider array of how keywords, parameters, or functions work. I find what I'm looking for is not in a documented form 25% of the time. I have to google or ask around how to perform or use some coding techniques.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are converting old RPG code and platform to a GUI system that can communicate with other B2B enterprises. We use Lansa Integrator to transmit credit card transactions with PayPal's API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With the variety of additional tools from Lansa, Visual Lansa is a great foundation to build upon so other platforms like GUI, Frameworks, Web sites with mobile applications easily integrate into the existing logic and data structures. Plus there are other tools and products to help with B2B connectivity, all based on the Visual Lansa framework.


    Wholesale

Lansa focuses on the technology we focus on the business.

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The repository for us is the key. We keep our buiness rules in the meta data and can leverage those rules to rapidly develop.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not sure there is anything I dislike. I feel like we can bring in young developers that know other languages and get then up to speed quickly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web B2B solutions that help our customers stay competitive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Lansa does a good job insulating the developer from newer technology by handling the complexity and allowing the customer to code based on business need.


    Marlon V.

Programador de Visual Lansa

  • February 15, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Que es un Lenguaje Visual y es orientado a objetos
What do you dislike about the product?
Hasta los momentos, nada solo que quisiera recibir tutoriales y otras ayudas respecto a Visual Lansa
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
El dia a dia del core bancario de la institución donde trabajo, es facil para programar y tiene mucha ayuda.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simplemente probar el producto y comprobaran que es excelente lenguaje de programación Visual.


    Sagar N.

Great Development platform for iSeries based applications

  • January 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The concept of one single programming Language (RDML/x)for a wide range of development needs
Developing iSeries based applications is not complex any more with Visual LANSA
Timely Support from LANSA for any issues/challenges/How to stuff
Diversity of products from LANSA to service customers on various lines of Business
Concept of Single and Active repository
What do you dislike about the product?
Data List limitation (9999) on RDML based applications
Dependency on Windows Virtual Machine if we are on lower version of LANSA and OS is Win 7 or higher
Upgrade could be a tedious process when we are on a lower version and did not upgrade for a long time

What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web Service Integration using LANSA's products is made very powerful and efficient. We would have replied on other technologies if LANSA did not offer this. We have consumed many Webservices from various Service Provides and everything went very smooth
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Along with Visual LANSA consider the other Integration product of LANSA such as Integrator that helps in interfacing with other applications


    Ahmadou N.

Fullstack Engineer

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Front and backend development.
Built-in functions and forms ready to kick start any project.
The ability to write a re-usable part that could span on multiple projects.
Not vulnerable to hacking because of bogus compiled html displayed to the users which hide the true nature of the coding.
.
What do you dislike about the product?
IDE crashes.
Lwebjobs bottleneck on IBM.
Difficulty to automate the deployment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
e-Commerce development, Ability to rewrite the 5250 screens to a user-friendly UI platform.
Powerful tool to consuming any web services.
Pairs well with restful API.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I strongly recommend VL to everyone


    Claude E.

Visual Lansa has been great

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Coming from the green screen development side the IDE has been a lifesaver with all the bells and whistles. I'm still learning everything it can do for me.
What do you dislike about the product?
Hostmonitor, checking in/out of components
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
easy to use.


    Rob D.

Visual Lansa an excellent choice for low code development.

  • December 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Lansa will allow you to develop web applications with a single skillset. You can create web and mobile applications from one code base. You can deploy Lansa applications on-premise or to the cloud. Lansa has a framework that makes it easy to create full-blown applications with very little code. Anyone that uses an I series will benefit from Lansa's wholly integrated environment. Lansa is the most straightforward and complete web development toolset that I have found.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish Lansa integrated with other testing tools. It would be nice if the software had a built-in unit testing environment. You can build your unit test environment using Lansa without much difficulty.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
With Lansa we wrote a sophisticated mobile ordering application for our stores in a few months. By implementing our store ordering application, we have saved labor and increased the accuracy of our orders.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would Highly recommend Visual Lansa


    Zelda B.

Manager Business System Supports

  • December 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The many ease of use tools available to cover a wide range of area
What do you dislike about the product?
The training on AS2 could be improved, it would be nice to know the inner workings of the tool
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Serving up applications easily in web based ERP's and stand alone web sites


    Edward B.

LANSA for Application Development

  • April 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We use Visual Lansa and the accompanying LongRange product to provide enterprise solutions to our internal users, mobile sales force, and customers through a web portal. The Visual Lansa IDE allows us to rapidly produce low-code solutions served from our IBM System i and delivered to personal computers, laptops, tablets, and smart phones across the world.
What do you dislike about the product?
Finding effective solutions for source code management and version control is cumbersome. There are few viable third-party solutions and none that I consider cost-effective. Effective integration (and tightly knit) with GitHub and/or TFS and with platforms like JIRA would make Visual Lansa a more productive development platform for a cross-functional development team.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use the Lansa Suite of Products to leverage the power and stability of our IBM mid-range server and deliver high quality applications to users on a wide-ranging computer environment spanning multiple continents and with a myriad of user devices. Our greatest ROI, thus far, has been an online/offline mobile application that we have been able to put in the hands of our sales force and give them access to data never before available when servicing our agricultural client base.


    Computer Software

Lansa V14.2

  • April 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
One stop development tool. No additional skill set necessary like jquery, css etc.
What do you dislike about the product?
VL Web has a little bit of a learning curve for those of us who have been developing web applications using WAMs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Multi platform/system data access and support. Shorter implementation cycles.