Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Vertica BYOL, Red Hat

Micro Focus | 10.1.1-6

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 1
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

103 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ivan P.

One of the best analytical DBs I've used

  • December 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, reliability, well-written documentstion
What do you dislike?
I can't recall anything I disliked, therefore I'll say none
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
KPI calculations, preparing data for dashboards and business reviews
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's fast, it's good, it well-documented. Use it.


    Retail

Data Engineering using Vertica for 5 years

  • December 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a great solution for massive data warehouse application building.
What do you dislike?
It is very costly and was not cool with multiple users accessing it at once.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our data warehouse was based on Vertica. Its parallel processing and thus query execution is quite good.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it for computation and processing but do not expose to it transactional users


    Prabhjot K.

Great Db experience

  • December 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
column orientation: Data is stored in form of columns rather than rows.
What do you dislike?
Deletion is tough in Vertica esp in large tables.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast query Performance


    Computer Software

Interesting and powerful database

  • December 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity while using, stability. EON mode is something very useful especially when talking big data.
What do you dislike?
Query sometimes lock tables and then it is necessary to use console to end queries. But this also can be a query tool problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working with data warehouse tools and Vertica is working much faster than our previous database. So I can say it is DWH frendly tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very fast and reliable. Try it and you wont regret it.


    Akshay B.

processing speeds much better than traditional databases ans also easy to setup as well as query

  • December 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As we work on servers which receive huge amount of requests per day, integration with vertica for logging all the requests is very efficient as per my perspective. Vertica hds never disappointed ne till now.
What do you dislike?
Databases with big catalog size may takes longer to start, also sometimes you have keep on pressing yes for a prompt while starting big databases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Processing speed was a major problem which vertica does in seconds,also integrating tradition databases with streaming application s was a pain, which vertica resolved by providing inbuilt schedular.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your company needs good processing speeds for huge amount of traffic data to be stored Vertica is always a Good to go over the traditional databases. It is easy to setup as well as vertica has a deep documentation how to do it, easy to query, integrate with other applications and use as well


    Computer Software

Analysis tool for SQL engine

  • December 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's analytics of data as well as Parallel processing SQL engine
What do you dislike?
Nothing for dislike every part is amazing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Fast access as well as Parallel processing SQL base Engine.fast processing


    Jeetendra M.

Excellent MPP system for Analytics

  • December 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy installation. Robust architecture to store and process terabytes of data very quickly
What do you dislike?
When it comes to GUI based system management it isn't efficient. Also currency is an issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were working on analytical reporting based on very large number of records, which could not be done using other databases. But with Vertica we could get the results pretty fast for business to make timely decisions. Storing and retrieving data is super efficient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider it for Data mart type of applications where you need to do specific analytics based out of Teradata bytes of data.


    Insurance

Vertica with external table on aws s3

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica projection improved the microstrategy reporting by a huge margin.

Vertica with aws s3 helped us to leverage
the elasticity and power of cloud along with the traditional powerful rdbms capabilities.
What do you dislike?
Projections some time creates problem while deployments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Developing a traditional datamart using data stored on aws s3


    Ujjwal Kumar G.

Wonderful experience with the scalable data warehouse

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Elasticity, Use of S3 as the storage, simple to use interface for monitoring and management.
What do you dislike?
Lack of in-built load balancing for vertical cluster.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Querying large amount of data quickly and effectively by multiple users simultaneously.


    Neetu Y.

Robust tool for Data Analytics

  • December 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Vertica is user friendly to use to fetch data from DB and query run is fast. Also, it is nice tool to handle and fetch large data. It is very useful tool for retail and ecommerce industry which has data in billions.
What do you dislike?
Not any dislike about but in my experience in analytics, vertica is best tool i used to get data using SQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Vertica is very useful to get data using SQL for business which we can use to get reports and insights for top management to take good decision.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
best tool i used to fetch data in billions.