Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Barracuda Email Security Gateway - BYOL

Barracuda Networks, Inc. | 8.1.0.003-20190507

Linux/Unix, Other 3.4.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

65 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jack D.

Barracuda EMS

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Clean interface and management console. System is accurate in scanning email, false positives are quickly corrected by support.
What do you dislike?
Users need more control over some features - for example allowing relaying through on-premise servers requires support to activate feature for you.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Allows us to manage multiple client email systems from one console - adds control over off-site backups as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take advantage of implementation team - their expertise is invaluable when rolling out the product.


    Rahim b.

A simple solution for your secure email

  • September 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very simple to use. This appliance blocks about 90% of malicious emails out of the box.
What do you dislike?
It can't detect any regexp or wildcard character very well. If we configure with some wildcard character to be searched and discarded it failed to do sometime.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The default mail scanner of the postfix is pretty bad. It has zero visibility over the advanced phishing emails. This is where barracuda ESG comes in. It's very effective compared to the legacy postfix or Zimbra mail scanner.


    Jeremy H.

Great product, robust features and easy setup

  • September 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature rich with easy web based interface
What do you dislike?
Almost too simplified, need support for advanced scripting and she’ll access
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Malware / content scanning definitions can cause issues with content delivery latency


    muhammad k.

Frendly interface, intelligent threat-filtering solution

  • September 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a plug and play device. We were really surprised to see how easy it was to deploy. This appliance works out of the box, After just few clicks, we got it running. Do not get that fooled you. Reading these you might think that the device may not work well. But it was brilliant! Most of the threats were scanned with the pre-configured settings.
What do you dislike?
It has no options to block the promotional messages; which is not a big deal, but it sometimes gets annoying. I would be great if we could have much more control over user preference. It's just too simple to manage. The machine learning part is also underdeveloped. One have to train the system with 200 valid mails and 200 unwanted message and need to keep training the system over the time. Which some times feels tiring.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have reduced the incoming spams by 80-85% which really helped us to focus on some other important things.


    Oil & Energy

I replaced a per-user email filtering service with a highly-available Barracuda solution

  • September 01, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Once an organization reaches a certain number of mailboxes, using a Barracuda spam filtering appliance is more cost-effective than paying a third party spam filtering service.
What do you dislike?
Configuring two appliances for high availability is more difficult than it needs to be.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When running an on-premises email environment (Exchange in my case), you have to have a solution in place to quarantine potentially dangerous emails. and allow users to view the quarantine and release emails that are legitimate. For a small business it makes sense to pay a third party service at a per-user, per-month rate, but that becomes cost-prohibitive at scale. I moved a small oil-and-gas services company from third party spam filtering to a dual-Barracuda on-premises solution and recognized about $25,000 in annual cost savings.


    Rokebul I.

A game changer!

  • August 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Barracuda really helped us to reduce the number of spams to almost 90%. The GUI is very easy to manage. It felt like it is a plug and play device. Highly recommended.
What do you dislike?
Spoofing mails are not very easily detectable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Spam mails are thing of a past now. The most satisfying part is, if barracuda is not sure about any mail, it sends the mail to quarantined mail box. Where I have the full privilege to mark the mail as a safe one and deliver it to the intended recipient.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a plug and play device and very easy installation. Highly recommended.


    Mithila P.

Great solution for on-prem and cloud

  • August 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy single console management and email spooling feature
What do you dislike?
ATP is only availble through cloud account
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Blocking all spam emails and unwanted email marketting campains. Email spooling feature is very helpfull in case of having downtimes for mail server. It will keep all the recieved emails untill the mail server comes online.


    Computer & Network Security

Barracuda was very beneficial for our company when using it.

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The software was pretty accurate when filtering spam emails.
What do you dislike?
Not much I disliked about the software, it was very user friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Weren’t really solving any problems with the software but made sure our clients were safe.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely make sure you take any courses on the admin tool. Though easy, it’s still beneficial to learn the admin portal.


    Information Technology and Services

Good Spam filter

  • August 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easily handle
Useable reports
good spam filtering
What do you dislike?
Not intuitive webui
crashed WebUI moretimes after firmware upgrade
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Filtering lots of spam. Reduces the spam e-mail for end-users.


    Manivannan K.

Don't worry about the spammers.

  • August 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My company hired me as a Network Work and Security Engineer. Our most of communication tool was email. phishing mail was the biggest headache for me. One of our team leaders has been decided to go with Barracuda email security gateway. After one week, my work had been reduced in half. and we did not worry about configuration it was so smooth and quickly affected.
What do you dislike?
when you received more than 100 miles, at the same time it will take time to white list
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our email system is constantly exposed to threats and the risk of cybersecurity attacks such as viruses, malware and spam. These attacks have a huge impact on our business operations and our data. The Barracuda Email Security Gateway effectively protects your emails from incoming malware, spam, phishing and denial attacks.